We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed at the Double Tree for a two nights to see our daughter who is at Manchester University. The location was chosen as it is a short walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station and the building was modern. The service of the reception staff from the moment we arrived to the moment we left was of the highest standard. The room was good, clean and functional. Breakfast was good on the two days we took it. We used the Blue bar for drinks and a late night snack. Once again we were impressed with the standard of service and the great attitude of the staff. The only issue was that the hot water was a little temperamental in our bathroom but nothing too serious. A great base.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagle95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Eagle 95,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that the standard of service on all departments exceeded your expectations and your stay overall was a very pleasant one.

We hope you to see you return to the DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly when you next visit your daughter in Manchester.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,249 - 2,255 of 4,333 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed last weekend for a night at the Doubletree & found it to be an excellent hotel in a great location, just steps from the Piccadilly train station & short walking distance from universities, shopping, dining, pubs, etc. I arrived on an overnight flight from the US & they even had a room ready for me to check into upon arrival at 8:15 AM, a pleasant surprise. The room was quiet & comfortable, the TV was a bit odd (an iMac with access to about a dozen channels) but there was a lounger chair & nice area to work from.

The fitness center was modern & nice & the food from the restaurant for breakfast was a well appointed spread with a full English breakfast available & eggs made to order.

I'm sure for a more luxurious experience, the Malmaison across the street would be a better choice but for the time I had & what I needed, the Doubletree more than fit the bill. I will definitely choose it on my next stay in Manchester,.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have much in the way of a view but the higher floor with room numbers above 08 off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heathwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear HeathWillis,

Thank you for sharing such a fantastic review with Tripadvisor.

I am please to hear the Reception Team were able to accommodate your early arrival and that you managed to utilise all aspects of the Hotel to the fullest and was able to see the benefits Double Tree By Hilton has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

A warm cookie on arrival... HOW DID I NOT KNOW ABOUT THIS PLACE?!

Fantastic central location - next to the main train station and Metro Link to get around, each room comes with an iMac system that doubles as a computer/TV, faultlessly clean and excellent customer service. Thank you Double Tree!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecilia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Cecilia T,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a great review onTripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear you have discovered the delicious DoubleTree cookie!

Im extremely happy you found our facillities beneficial for a comfortable stay with us. We do try our best to meet customers expectations and you are a reflection of that.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had a great 1 night stay here,check in was quick and simple a Cooke and a drink voucher on arrival was a nice touch,the room was a nice size .We found all the staff very helpful a nice bar to relax in. The breakfast the next morning was excellent plenty of choice and plenty of room no queue .One good tip if looking to park a car when you come to the hotel you will come up the A6 station on the right you have to follow the road round to the left when you go to the left there is a big multi story on the right park in there walk out of the same entrance you drive in turn to the left and follow the road round to the hotel.When you check out hand your parking ticket in they scan it and you get a car park discount 24 hours cost us £4.20 very good hotel I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: High up to be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pudsey1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Pudsey1965,

Thank you for your recent view on TripAdvisor.

It is great to receive such great comments regarding the hotel facilities as well as the service delievered by the team.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here recently on a one night business trip to Manchester. The hotel is located right next to the train station, which connects to the airport, which made it very handy to get from the airport to the hotel. Didn’t even need a taxi, just walk out of the train station and a short walk to the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance within a lot of restaurants and things to see such as the Cathedral and the Old Wellington Inn.

Check-in was a bit slow, with only one person at the front desk. However, we checked in very early (around 9 am) and they were able to get us in to the rooms. Breakfast was 10 pounds, and required a deposit when you checked in (whether you ate there or not, it got charged to your account). I can’t comment on the breakfast because I didn’t wake up in time to try it.

The hotel lobby is trendy and well kept, as is the bar and breakfast areas. The rooms are tiny by American standards but are very well designed in a minimal mid-century way. The bathroom was bright, clean, and spacious for its size. The bed was comfortable. The hair dryer was in a very strange place—in the wardrobe bottom drawer. The room also had a Mac computer in room for use as tv and internet browsing. The view out of the window was pretty good, with my room being able to see the top of the ferris wheel at night.

It seemed like a safe neighborhood and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldeimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Ideimos,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and found the hotel amenities and its location conveinent for local attractions and restaurants.

We are dispponited that the room size was smaller than expected. We do have various room types available offering both larger beds and room space as well as additional amenities such as the complementary soft mini bar and snacks.

We look forward to welcoming you when you return to Manchester.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Great hotel with very helpful staff and located less than 2 min from the station! Here for a work trip, worth booking in advance otherwise room prices shoot up rapidly! Really good breakfast, and you can't go wrong with a warm cookie on arrival! :) Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Smita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Smita P,

Thank you for your recent positive review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear you received our delicious DoubleTree cookie on arrival and that the location of the hotel and helpfulness of the Team at DoubleTree Manchester Piccadilly contributed to a great stay.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I am a regular hilton guest, I'm
An honors member and am a regular guest to the Deansgate Hilton. I randomly decided to stay here for a last minute Sunday night stay a few weeks back and everything was spot on.

The room I booked was a deluxe room, upon check in I was given a cookie which completely baffles me but is such a lovely touch!

My room has the biggest and best shower I have had for a long time! A huge bed, mac tv with internet included, free mini bar with soft drinks and upgraded toiletries.

For the upgrade difference alone of around £15 this was well worth it, you get quite ally of soft drinks in the fridge as well as snacks. I was given two free drinks at the bar as well.

The room was very quiet, the view was great.

Breakfast was a very quiet and chilled out occasion, it's a small selection of food but just right!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The service is amazing the standard is above and beyond.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twitter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Twitter1,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

As a loyal HH member and a frequent traveller to Manchester, we are pleased to hear your experience here exceeded your expectations and you have discovered the DoubleTree welcome cookie!

Im extremely happy you found our upgraded room and its amenitiies comfortable and great value for money.

We hope you choose DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly on your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,878 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#39 of 121 in Manchester
2,653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#47 of 121 in Manchester
4,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £80 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing