We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$130
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$122
US$112
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$184
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$94
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$76
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$127
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$55
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,373)
Filter reviews
4,373 results
Traveller rating
2,252
1,496
453
123
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,252
1,496
453
123
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treewarm cookiescity cafetrain stationon arrivalfree wificanal streetmanchester piccadillyexcellent hotelmodern hotelmini barbusiness triphotel barbreakfast was excellentcentral locationsaturday nightchecking in
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,259 - 2,264 of 4,373 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Booked a twin room, got our cookies upon arrival. We were allowed to check in at 12:30, we were very impressed with this. Room had iMac computer with radio and tv channels as well. Very close to Arndale centre. We were about thirty seconds away from Canal Street. Absolutely loved this hotel, would fully recommend and will ALWAYS use this hotel from now on when visiting Manchester. Staff were great, very helpful in finding us e quickest routes for places. Bathroom was very clean, good shower, lots of lighting. Room was very clean. Would HIGHLY recommend!!!

Room Tip: Twin room was great and enough room for us both.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SS6484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear SS8464,

Thank you for shqaring your experience on Trip Advisor.

It was great to hear you had a fantastic stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly and the Front Office Team were able to accommodate an early check in.

It was also great to hear comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms which we have shared with the Housekeeping Team.

We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit to Manchester!

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel staff is most helpful at this location. We stayed one night, spent the second night in Liverpool and returned on the third day. Not only did they stored our luggage for us overnight, they also made sure that our luggage was in our room when we returned (along with our plug in adapter!!) .. now that's top notch 5 star customer service. The hotel is also very conveniently situated within 5 minute walk from the Manchester train station. All the sites in Manchester are within walking distance. We never needed to hop on any public transportations during our stay. We walked everywhere.

I am giving them 4 stars only because:

For whatever reason, their bathroom door has an automatic door closer. So the door cannot stay open. The lighting in the bathroom is extremely bright. So you can imagine when you use the facility in the midst of the night, either you are gropping in the dark or you are totally blinded by the light. How about a simple solution of a night light in each bathroom?

The hotel has long hallway and it's thickly carpeted. I​t was virgually impossible to wheel our ​luggages ​(we have Samsonite four wheel suitcases) ​along the long corridor to get to our room. ​ Whoever designs the ​hallway needs to pay attention to this.

Overall a great stay. Will definiety be back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guinevere and R... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear GLyster,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly.

We were pleased to hear that the Guest Services Team were accommodating with your requests and exceeded your expectations in customer service. We strive to take every step to ensure we listen and react to guests requests to deliver an expectional experience.

We have passed on your comments regarding the shower and bathroom lighting to the Property Manager is currently looking at this issue.

We have recently recarpeted a number of rooms and corridors as part of our committment to maintaining a high standard of all areas of the hotel. We apologies for the difficulty this may have caused you during your stay.

We look foward to welcoming you on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Yet another perfect stay at this hotel , excellent welcome on arrival. My room was very clean in fact the bathroom look like it had never been used spotless ! iMac computer/ tv and free wifi is a great free extra.

We stayed for an extra night, staff did this without any trouble and gave us the same room. No need to check out and re check in etc. pleased to see the price I paid direct to the hotel was the same as comparison websites.

Right by the main train station , 30 second walk into the gay village, short 10 min walk to the main shops etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Essexadvice,

Thank you for your recent view on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you once again had a great stay with us. I have passed on your comments to the team, in particular the Front Office staff and the Housekeeping team for their excellent hospitality and service during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Firstly I would like to say a huge thank you to Tony & the rest of the team for all their hard work in making my evening perfect!

I hired the SkyLounge out for the evening exclusively for my special event. I would highly recommend dining at the SkyLounge.
Me and my partner had a three course meal with drinks. The food was very tasty & would defiantly recommend trying it.

The SkyLounge itself is a beautiful room with a breath taking view of the city. Especially when you are having drinks out on the terrace bar area.
In addition the waitress who looked after us for the whole evening also made it a pleasant dining experience.

We will defiantly be retuning again without a doubt & would highly recommend experiencing the SkyLounge!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preston09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Preston09,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

The team were thrilled to hear the glowing review of the hotel and your experience of the Sky Lounge. We have passed on the comments to Tony and the Meeting and Events team who helped organise your special evening.

We agree the views of Manchester from the Sky Lounge are amazing and the additon of the heated terrace really makes this a unique place to hold any special event.

We look forward to welcoming you both in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Would recommend to anyone. Very close to Picadilly station, shopping and nightlife. Very very comfortable and well proportioned room. Loved the floor to ceiling window and the room facilities. Very comfortable bed. The staff were more than happy to attend to all our needs and can honestly say the best customer service from start to finish. Ate in the restaurant and had the lamb shank and it literally fell off the bone! Very reasonable price and was possibly the best lamb we have ever tasted. The quality of this hotel cannot be beaten in our eyes and would strongly suggest this hotel to anyone. P.S please please can we have the recipe and cooking style of that lamb???

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trilbysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Trilbysj,

Thank you for your sharing your recent experience on TripAdvisor.

The team at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly were thrilled to hear such a glowing review of the hotel, its staff and in particular your experience in our restaurant City Cafe. I have shared your comments with Head Chef and his team and they were pleased to hear you enjoyed the Lamb Shank from the new a la carte menu. It is one of their favourites too!

I will DM you the recipe for the lamb shank for you to cook at home!

We look forward to you both returning again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews