We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convienience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Convienience”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Arriving after a long flight and train journey, the location is such a delight to your body. The welcome cookie is a nice addition. The bar is a nice place to stay in and relax, the quality of food is very high. Would recommend to first-timers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Michael G,

Thank you your recent review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear you had a confortable and enjoyable stay with us after a long journey.

Glad to hear to enjoyed the DoubleTree cookie too!

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,124
    1,402
    424
    117
    43
See reviews for
375
1,592
337
1,085
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have stayed here twice now. It is a good hotel, particularly for business travels, and the staff are friendly and efficient. Wifi is complimentary, infinitely better that the Hilton at Gatwick where there was a charge of £15 for 24 hours (which I didn't pay!).

My room was a good size and well equipped with a decent hair dryer. The complimentary toiletries are good, with both shampoo and conditioner, rather than the horrible 'conditioning shampoos' you get elsewhere.

There are a number of restaurants both in the hotel and nearby, and it is ideally placed for Manchester Piccadilly Station. I recommend the cocktail happy hour in the bar!!

Not exactly a home from home, but a comfortable where I got a reasonable night's sleep. I had only been able to book a twin on line, but asked for a double which I got with no trouble. A good breakfast is served with healthy choices.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Naomi501,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and found the hotel amenities and its location conveinent and comfortable.

Its great you were able to take advantage of 2-4-1 cocktails in our Piccadilly Lounge and that your request for a double room was taken care of by the team on the Front Desk.

We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong kong
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is my first time to Manchester and first stay in this hotel as well. Hotel is located near piccadilly station. so it is very easy to take a train from airport to hotel, and within 5 mins walking you can reach this hotel. As i am early flight so arrive at hotel about 10am they helped us to keep a luggage and let us have room before 12 am, it is very appreciated and surprised to check in with hot chocolate cookie as well. Besides near a station, it is very easy short walking to the piccadilly garden,Andale shopping centre and china town, of course easy to take a bus to Lowry and Tradfford centre, I didnt have a breakfast in hotel so i went to train station to have so you can choose what you want without worry. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful so dont need to worry to ask for their help. As i was a night flight they also helped us to keep a luggage after checked out therefore we can spent some hours to walk around instead of waiting in airport. Thank you so much of their staff, Overall I am very happy to choose this hotel and recommended to you all. Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zartme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Zartme,

Thank you for your sharing your recent review on TripAdvisor.

It was great to hear you had a fantastic stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly and the Front Office and Guest Services Team were able to accommodate an early check in and store your luggage for the day.

We agree the location of the hotel is great for visiting all the fantastic attractions in Manchester City Centre and team are always happy to assist in recommending some great places to visit.

We hope you choose to stay with again in the near future,

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hilton Double Tree Manchester is as you would expect a clean and business friendly Hotel however their restaurant has left me with a very bad taste in my mouth and unfortunately their response to what can only be described as a very worrying situation in their restaurant has left me with no choice but to look at alternatives to the Hilton brand in the future.

To set the scene it was 8pm Easter Sunday and we were celebrating a Birthday, my partner and I decided that we would go to the hotel restaurant and order a nice bottle of Tempranillo and 2 Ribeye Steaks for dinner. Yes it was strange that there was only one other table occupied but we assumed it was because it was late on Easter Sunday (now we know differently – hindsight is a great thing)
At £21.95 per steak we assumed we would be looking forward to a well prepared meal. After a 45minute wait (for 2 medium-well steaks!) we were presented with our order from our waiter.

To be fair the waiter was fantastic, what was not fantastic was that which was presented on our plates as ‘Ribeye Steaks’. It was immediately obvious to me that we were looking at 2 overcooked PORK CHOPS. Not believing my eyes I did take a knife to it to reveal indeed white pork meat and not a medium well steak! Not only that but the ‘Hand Cooked’ chips that were served alongside simply looked like they were purchased from the nearest chip shop and re-cooked in warm oil, they were a greasy and surprisingly soggy accompaniment. I was extremely shocked at the standards from the Hilton and how such a thing could ever happen i.e. pork disguised as steaks!

Having alerted the waiter to the issue the plates were removed. The explanation received was brilliant. “ We have had a supplier issue and the supplier provided the wrong meat” Now I’m no Gordon Ramsey but I’m pretty sure that even I know the difference between a Steak and a Pork Chop when I put it on the griddle! What kind of Chef doesn’t know the difference? A Hilton Double Tree Chef apparently. I found the excuse for what was an appalling food experience an insult. The food was taken off the bill and we still had to pay for the wine! (I had reception remove it from our bill on checking out after giving it some thought!)

Our Easter/Birthday celebration meal turned out to be a Chicken Sandwich from the Spar across the street, at least I hope it was Chicken, you don’t know who you can trust now if you can’t trust a Brand like the Hilton!

If you do stay folks, do whatever you can to avoid the restaurant, and if all else fails, the Spar offer a good selection of Sandwiches!
Ps The Palace Hotel on Whitworth Street, nearby looked amazing inside, Next time in Manchester I will give that a try, I can’t comment on the food however.

Room Tip: rooms are very Business Like, if your on a Holiday it might not be ideal. It was spotless though. j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear danny k,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with Tripadvisor. The feedback provided is invaluable in ensuring we can closely monitor and adapt the service we offer in Piccadilly Lounge.

It is my understanding the Restaurant & Bars Manager has been in direct contact with you and offered a full explanation.

Of course if we can assist with anything further, I invite you to contact me directly, Jack.Appleton@hilton.com.

We all genuinely look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best wishes,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Situated 100 yards from Manchester Piccadilly station, this was an ideal choice for a late night concert and an early train the following morning. Room 619 overlooks a quiet road and is well appointed with a comfortable queen bed and iMac which comes complete with keyboard and Apple TV! The bathroom is a good size, but those looking for a long soak may be disappointed as there is only a shower - great water pressure. Enjoyed a quick meal in the lounge before our concert - fresh fish with chunky chips and minted peas together with a glass of red is on offer for £12.95 - good value. Breakfast was a sumptuous affair with a wide range of fresh hot and cold dishes - all well presented and in ample quantity. Being local to Manchester, it is unusual for us to stay in town, but on this occasion, the Doubletree felt like a real treat !

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank plauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Plauris,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you taking the time out to express how your stay was with us. We are pleased the location of the hotel and the wide choice at breakfast added to the enjoyment of your stay.

We will look forward to welcoming you again at the Double Tree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Whenever in Manchester I always try and stay at the DoubleTree. Once again I was not disappointed this time round. The hotel is located perfectly in the centre of Manchester and no matter where you are going in the city you will find it an easy base to work from. We were greeted upon arrival by Nicolo who was simply brilliant - his customer service skills were excellent and real professional. The room was immaculate upon arrival and as usual I dont have a single bad thing to say about the place or even anything they could improve on. The little touches like the warm chocolate cookies on arrival are brilliant. Keep up the good work and see you next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akp247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear akp247,

Thank for taking the time to share such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor.

As a loyal guest, it is great to hear that the team at DoubleTree Manchester Piccadilly have once again exceeding expectations, in particular Nicolo on the Front Desk. I have shared your comments with both Nicolo and the team who were thrilled you had such a great stay!

I have also shared your positive comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms - our Executive Headhousekeeper Anna and her team work extremely hard to ensure such high standards.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit - we have a cookie waiting here for you!

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Booked a twin room, got our cookies upon arrival. We were allowed to check in at 12:30, we were very impressed with this. Room had iMac computer with radio and tv channels as well. Very close to Arndale centre. We were about thirty seconds away from Canal Street. Absolutely loved this hotel, would fully recommend and will ALWAYS use this hotel from now on when visiting Manchester. Staff were great, very helpful in finding us e quickest routes for places. Bathroom was very clean, good shower, lots of lighting. Room was very clean. Would HIGHLY recommend!!!

Room Tip: Twin room was great and enough room for us both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SS6484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear SS8464,

Thank you for shqaring your experience on Trip Advisor.

It was great to hear you had a fantastic stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly and the Front Office Team were able to accommodate an early check in.

It was also great to hear comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms which we have shared with the Housekeeping Team.

We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit to Manchester!

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 118 in Manchester
5,006 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,807 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#41 of 118 in Manchester
4,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing