We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well kept rooms, modern facility, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #18 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times for business. It is about 2 blocks from Piccadilly Garden train stop and walking distance to shopping and restaurants/pubs. The staff is very helpful and professional, the rooms are up to date and clean. The rooms have a refrigerator which is nice to stock with beverages and snacks for a longer stay. This time I stayed in a Queen Executive City View and it was a corner room with a nice corner window.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Julie,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

As a loyal customer of DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly it great to hear you enjoy staying with us.

I agree the location of the hotel is ideal for both Piccadilly Train Station and the local shops and bars. Its great to hear such positive comments regarding the standard of service of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,090 - 2,096 of 4,226 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Really good value for money place. It has changed names a few times in recent years; CityInn, Mint and now Hilton. But the quality is consistent: good serve, decent rooms, good breakfast, super location. Our teenagers are always happy here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oransome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear oransome,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

As a returning guest, it's great to hear that we are still exceeding your expectations in the service we provide at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for one night 12/05/2014 to celebrate my 21st birthday and anniversairy with my boyfriend. Was greeted at check in by very friendly (iona?) She was fabulous and made us feel very welcome. She asked me what we were doing to celebrate my birthday and recommended us some bars to go to. She also gave us our warm cookies and a voucher for some free welcome drinks which I thought was lovely. We went up to our room and there were balloons, and a card waiting which was a lovely touch and made me feel very special. The room was clean and everything as it should be. Bathroom was lovely too. My boyfriend wanted more pillows so I rang down to reception and it wasn't a problem, someone came up with more pillows straight away. Bed was comfortable, my only complaint is that the aircon was a bit noisy and I found it difficult to ignore when going to sleep. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Clare,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear you had such a fantastic birthday stay with us. As a team we enjoy celebrating guests birthday as much as they do!

We have shared your comments with Ilona who was thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay here.

We have also commuicated the issues regarding the air-con to our Maintenance Team and we apologise for any discomfort this caused.

We look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel had some minor flaws that tempted me to lower rating to 4 stars. However these seemed to be mostly because it was fully booked most of the days we were there and accordingly somewhat stressed; they also may be of little consequence to most travelers (Diamond upgrade was minimal, no concierge lounge etc.) so I chose to give 5 stars based upon the great location, the great staff and very comfortable bed. We arrived at about 9 AM and they were able to get us a nice room in about 40 minutes. Maybe we would have had a better room if we waited.
Communicating before arrival, other than by phone (not practical from US), was difficult with even the Hilton international guest services staff not being able to get them to respond by e-mail. However, on a social media site, I eventually tripped over an e-mail that worked & finally did get in touch; they were very responsive then. I’ve let them know about this & they promised to put an e-mail address in an easy to find spot on their website. Please check this and, if it is not there, deduct some stars from this review. The buffet breakfast was quite good, but fell short (nothing special like pancakes, waffles, chocolate croissants etc.) of the breakfast buffets we had at two other English hotels that same trip and way short of breakfast buffets we have had a French & German Starwood hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingdoc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear travelingdoc42,

Thank you for sharing your recent review with us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear your stay with us was a pleasant one. I apologise for the difficulty you had in contacting the hotel directly prior to your stay with us. We are currently in the process of looking in to this matter.

I am pleased the Front Desk Team were able to arrange an early check in for you after a long journey and you found the bed comfortable for your stay also.

I have also taken note of your suggestions for improving the breakfast items that we offer and we are most grateful for your thoughts, which have been shared with the Kitchen Team.

We hope you are able to return to Manchester in the future and we look forward to welcoming you once again.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Its important that when I arrive from Piccadilly station I can walk to hotel in 5 minutes which is why I stay there - I asked for quiet room away from trams but that did not happen was given wine instead to make up for it and it worked - service in ground floor was friendly but the staff were amateurish and prices high for cooking quality - but the "deals" good value

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Richard,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

As a regular guest of the hotel, we are please to hear you chose to stay with us once again. I apologise for not being able to allocate you a quiet room on this occasion but also pleased to hear the team were able to turn this around for you.

I have passed your comments regarding service in the dining areas - and agree that the offers in both City Cafe and Piccadilly Lounge are great value.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend break. Check in was quick and efficient. Rooms are lovely, light and airy, with everything you need ie hairdryer, toiletries, iron.
We enjoyed cocktails in the bar, a bit pricy but they are everywhere I guess. Breakfast was lovely. Hot, and a good selection. Would like to see more for veggies ie quorn maybe? It's very expensive for egg and beans.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sulllivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Sullivan,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one with the hotel provding all the necessary in-room amenities.

Your thoughts regarding the vegetarian selection that we offer at breakfast are most welcome. The relevant Departmental Heads have been made aware of your suggestions. The hotel is happy to accommodate breakfast requirements if made in advance of your stay.

If you are lucky to stay with us Sunday to Thursday, we do have 2-4-1 cocktails available 5pm,-7pm in the Piccadilly Lounge.

We look forward to welcoming you on a return visit in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

i was there last week on a business trip, so not my choice, or pocket. The hotel is new and shiney, and i felt right at home when i realised the flooring on the ground floor was what i had throughout my house. Check in was quick and efficient, as was check out. Room was very comfortable, but the view of a derelict building over a stagnant canal wasn't. location was great and couldnt be faulted. Good hotel, but it was expensive if i was paying for it

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear John C,

Thank you for your recent review of DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly.

We are pleased to hear your first experience with us was a pleasant one and that you found the location suitable for your stay.

We hope you return to us on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 120 in Manchester
4,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £77 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing