We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Hilton I am used to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #17 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Friendly staff but small room and wifi in the room and restaurant is dreadful. I did mention it at reception and whilst pleasant I got the impression this was the norm. I am a HH member and whilst the room is very warm and not on the HH floor it's not quite what I'd expected from a hilton. It seems a little up on a travel lodge but as I say not the a Hilton brand I normally say in hence the average rating. Only 1 more night left not sure I'd rush back! Sorry Hilton Doubletree!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank DawesFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear DawesFamily,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

I apologies for the difficulties you had with the Wi-Fi in both your room and public areas. We do check the connections regularly and reboot the routers when needed. I am sorry that in this case we were unable to reassure you that this is not something which we are unable to rectify.

In regards to HH members, we will try our best to allocate you a room on one of our HH floors but this is always subject to availability during your stay.

I have emailed you directly so if there is anything else I can assist with, please do not hesitate to contact me further.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,062 - 2,068 of 4,253 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms with a great location. Excellent breakfast which is paid at check in is extremely great value. Love the computers in the rooms. I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends & family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Anthony G,

Thank your for sharing your recent review with us on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear you had such a positive experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly and that you were able to take advantage of our breakfast offer at check in.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great service from the staff- felt valued. The room was great and perfect for my stay- clean and comfortable. The room service was efficient and quality of food was good. An overall good experience and as a Hilton member , I enjoyed the additional benefits during my stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Francis M,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear as a loyal HH member you were able to enjoy the additional benefits during your stay. I have passed on your comment regarding the standards of the rooms to Anna, our Execuitive Head Housekeeper and to Ricardo, our Restaurant and Bars Manager regarding your room seervice experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel was a three minute walk from Manchester Picadilly and a 5 minute walk from the city centre, yet on a really quiet, safe street. The bedrooms are spotlessly clean and really comfortable. However the doors allow noise in from the corridor, which can be a problem at night. Beautiful breakfast. Staff VERY helpful. You will like it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Sile O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Sile O,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear you found the location of the hotel ideal for your recent stay with us and the staff very helpful in dealing with your requests. We apologise for the noise disturbance and hope this did not affect your overall experience with us.

I have passed on your comments to Anna, our Executive Head HouseKeeper regarding the cleanliness of your room. Anna and the team work very hard to ensure such high standards.

We look forward to welcoming you again when you next visit Manchester.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great hotel in an ideal location for Manchester Piccadilly train station. Very helpful staff, happy to book taxis for us. Warm cookies on arrival is always a nice touch! Room was very clean and quiet even though there was construction work going on across the street.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Eilidh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Eilidh M,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear you found the location of the hotel perfect for your stay with us and that the team were helpful in accommodating your requests.

We are also pleased you enjoyed our DoubleTree Cookies!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We are still full of deligt for a wonderfully pleasurable stay at the Hotel at the end of May. From the point of Booking in to departure we enjoyed excellent service. When the receptionist enquired if we had any plans for our afternoon we told her that we were in Manchester to join with family and friends for our Golden Wedding celebration lunch. Her delight was sincere on wishing us Congratulations which in turn delighted us. On our return in the evening we went into the bar for a light supper which was splendid, served by a most friendly and attentive waitress. On retiring to our room a wonderful day was made more so. On entering we were delightfully surprised to find two glasses of Champagne, a Greeting Card and Balloon awaiting us from the staff, so very thoughtful. All this and an excellent room and breakfast the following morning was most appreciated by us. to simply say Thank You seems slight so we would like to add a heartfelt Well Done for making our stay so heart warming

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Janice S,

Thank you for for sharing such a fantastic review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I have shared your comments with the team who were thrilled they were able to make such a special occassion even more memorable for you! The team at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly take great pride in going the extra mile for guests.

We look forward to welcoming you both again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was my 3rd stay at this hotel and it was once again of a high standard. I stayed in a twin room on the second floor with my 9 year old daughter as we were in Manchester to see One Direction at Etihad stadium. If staying here for an event at Etihad be aware that it is a good 30 minute walk to the station from the hotel.

The hotel is just across the road from Manchester Piccadilly train station, less than a 3 minute walk once out of the station. Reception is quick and efficient and the staff are very welcoming, you even get a warm cookie each on arrival.....yum! The rooms are clean and decorated to a high standard, each has a iMac which doubles up as your TV. There is a fridge in the room and the free wifi is good, I had no problems connecting to it. The bathroom was spotless and well stocked with Crabtree & Evelyn Citron toiletries. The bed was comfortable and I had a reasonable sleep (I don't sleep well when I'm away from home).

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as it was £10 each, which seemed a bit pricey. Instead we went to a Wetherspoons (around a 5 minute walk towards the city centre) and had breakfast there for less than £9 for us both.

As I had already pre-paid the room I used the express check out which was very easy. Basically you drop your room keys into a box near reception.

This is a good hotel and I would recommend it to my friends and family. If you can get a high room at the front of the hotel then the views are pretty good.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, the views are much better 😃
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estelle1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackAppleton, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for such a great review.

We all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again soon!

Best wishes,

Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#36 of 120 in Manchester
2,594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 120 in Manchester
4,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £69 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing