We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great location and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel has a great location for seeing central manchester 2 mins from Piccadilly station and 5 mins walk to Deansgate, Arndale, Manchester Eye and loads of restaurants. There are tram stops near by to take you further afield. The station is minutes away so I would advise that you travel by train rather than car especially if arriving on a Friday as traffic was awful (although there is a car park if needed) It has a lovely hotel bar area and an excellent breakfast my kids loved it. All staff were friendly and helpful when one of my children was ill. Efficient checkout and very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazza p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Cazzap,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear the team were able to assist you when you child was ill - the team at DT Manchester Piccadilly are always on hand to help and were appreciative of your comments.

We agree the location of the hotel is great for Manchester Piccadilly train station and all Manchester has to offer!

We hope you and your family choose to visit again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,994
    1,327
    401
    115
    40
See reviews for
352
1,517
313
1,015
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed here recently with a friend as were watching a concert at the Apollo (15 minute walk from the hotel) Firstly, it's in a great location across from Piccadilly station. We were slightly earlier than the stated check in time but our room was ready (yes the warm cookies at check in are a nice touch!) Our room (twin) was on the third floor & though not extremely spacious it was clean, bright & modern. Nice to have a fridge in the room to chill our wine plus wine glasses too! Not an amazing view but that's not what we stayed for!
After the concert we fancied a drink in the bar which we were told was table service so we found a seat & waited... & waited! After 15-20 minutes we abandoned the idea.
We found the hotel very quiet during the night & didn't hear any noise from the main road either, combined with comfy beds we slept well.
As mentioned in other reviews, there are only 2 tea bags provided in the room but not a huge problem to us.
Breakfast was included in our stay which was buffet style unless you wanted a different style of eggs to scrambled which we were told would take 15 minutes. Lots of choice & all to our liking!
Seems we timed it well though as we were leaving the restaurant (10am ish) there was a long queue forming for a table.
We found the staff friendly & would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Julie B,

Thank you for sharing your experience of DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear that you had such a great stay with us and that the Front Office Team were able to accommodate an early check in and welcomed you with our famous DoubleTree Cookie!

We have taken on board the comments regarding the tea facilities as well as the service in the bar and we apologise for any convenience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you here again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khafji, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Now that is the most amazing experience, I will never go to any other hotel after that. During my stay in the hotel, I noticed the well chosen location, right in the center of Piccadilly gardens, City center is 10 minutes walk, bus station and under ground is nearby as well. Frankly speaking I prefer it over Deans-gate Hilton,, I feel double tree location is very strategic and simple, not crowded like deansgate Hilton. I would definitely book again whenever I go there another time. The staff are excellent compared to Deansgate, they are very cooperative and so smiley. The breakfast is delicious, although it is the same every day, but still delicious, the taxes arrives quickly to the double tree whenever I request them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank 399sauda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear 399sauda,

Thank you for sharing such a fantastic review of DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly!

The team were thrilled to hear such great feedback regarding the hotels location, facilities and service you experienced during your stay.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again on your next visit to Manchester!

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect location (2min walk away from Piccadilly station) good sized rooms, full of nice touches eg cookie, mac computer, fridge and toiletries. Very helpful receptionists, holding bags until check in was no issue. Would defiantly stay here again when we return in November

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank albt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Albt10,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear you had such a pleasant stay with us and you enjoyed the additional amenities such as our famous DoubleTree Cookies!

We look forward to welcoming again later in the year.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We could not recommend this hotel more highly - it was very clean - room was comfortable and clean with effective air conditioning! Excellent food and the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. Location was good and would certainly visit again next time I am in Manchester or region.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Sandra M,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It's great to hear such a positive review of the hotel and the team at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly. I have shared this with the team who were pleased to hear you had such a great stay!

We look forward to welcoming you here again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

It's an ideal location. Literally outside the train station, you cannot ask for more. It's great that you get a warm cookie at check in. The rooms are not massive, though as a business traveller I was fine. You get a mac in your room to use which is a nice touch for an upscale hotel.

however the restaurant is pretty bad - but I guess it's saved by the fact that the location is so great that you can walk to a ton of great restaurants not just in the train station but around Picadilly itself.

Not far away from the business area of Manchester (bury new road). It's also close to deansgate and arnedale which are 2 places you will probably want to visit in Manchester.

There are small things that don't make this feel like a part of Hilton Group. Small issues on the bill, poor service from the restaurant, small rooms, slow elevators - so I guess it's not really value for money. Nevertheless, for business it's ok - but I could probably get a much better hotel at the same price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiniTharani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear DiniTharani,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to hear the loctaion of the hotel and its amenitites we comfortable and convenient for your stay.

In regards to your restaurant experience, I have emailed you direct with contact details for the Management Team who will be happy to have your feedback.

We hope you decide to stay with us again in the future on your next visit to Manchester

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I booked four rooms for a Saturday night for 7 guys on a stag party in April. I chose this hotel because of its excellent location by the train station and the rate seemed reasonable.

The rooms and facilities were fine. When we first checked in, we were told that we could not be given twin rooms, despite my calling three times prior to that weekend to request twin rooms. The promise I was given meant nothing at check in.

To be fair, by the time the late arrivals checked in, we were given twin rooms after repeated requests were made.

The main problem came the week after we have checked out. All four rooms were charged twice. Every single credit card given were charged twice and if not for a bit of vigilance, this would have gone unnoticed.

Each one of us then had to contact the hotel to chase for a refund. There were neither proper explanations or apologies to what we considered to be fraudulent billing! We got our refunds but I will think twice about staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CYuenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear CYuenUK,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear that there were issues during your recent stay with us as regards to your billing. I have sent you a DM so we can help resolve this for you.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing