We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times and for the money have started to find it disappointing.
The staff at reception are always welcoming and friendly, and the rooms are spacious, I just don't believe that it is worth the price tag. The rooms look like that of a park inn etc with a Mac computer.
Unless you are given a good room view often the lovely huge windows aren't that great, looking out into an abandoned mill.
I would recommend this hotel if you get a good deal on it, otherwise there are others in Manchester which give you far more for your money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank at8975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear at8975,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly on TripAdvisor.

Firstly, it is lovely to hear great comments regarding the friendliness of the team at the hotel and the size of the rooms.

Secondly, we are disapponited to hear that you felt the experience did not meet your expectations in terms of value for money. We do have some great offers via the website and we encourgae you to look out for these should you wish to return.

We hope you are able to consider staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,051
    1,357
    414
    115
    42
See reviews for
360
1,551
323
1,043
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

if you're looking for ease from Piccadilly stn but also easy walking distance to many areas of the city then this is the place; quiet enough hotel (considering location), all very calm & consistent inside,. I've stayed here 4 times, all great. rooms with a/c that truly does work, good beds & a fridge (which I love). Not a cheap option but value I'd say

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank stella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear stella s,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

As a loyal guest to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly it is great to hear you had another fantastic stay with us. We agree, our location is perfect for all the key attractions and amenities Manchester has to offer.

Thank you also for sharing your comments regarding the in-room amenities and the ambience of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for a few weeks while working in Manchester. It's a great location, right across from the Piccadilly Train Station. The room was clean but small. The staff was nice but after a few weeks there I felt like they didn't recognize me which was a little weird. Usually when I stay at a place for weeks the staff becomes more friendly and seems to remember me…not here though. The breakfast is good and plentiful with good choices. The restaurant is good and the bar has some nice choices for dinner as well. Would stay here again but probably not for a long term assignment.

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the canal are quiet.. but the view of the old building being knocked down wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Diane M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear your positive comments regarding the location of the hotel, the breakfast buffet and City Cafe Restaurant.

I am sorry to hear that you felt the team were not as attentive as you had expected - the team are fully committed to delivering a high standard of customer service and I know they will be disappointed to hear your comments.

We would relish the opportunity to show you a great DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly welcome should you return to the property in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had this been my first experience of the Double Tree brand then it may very well have been the last.

Check in far too slow , even for Hilton Honors guests. There were a couple of well meaning managers in the lobby explaining the hotel is busy hence the slow check in. Frustrating in the extreme when not all reception posts were manned.

One of the three lifts out of commission so having endured the queue and the trainee receptionists tardy efforts more waiting time to access the bedroom. Room fine however.

Sky bar closed " for private party" areas of lounge bar closed for private party, more trainee service in lounge , one cannot live on warm cookies alone!

Breakfast - no queues at 8.30 on Sunday morning and I bet the bacon and sausage and eggs were really good when placed on the buffet an hour or so prior to my arrival.

I could go on - all in all the whole place lacked sharpness which is disappointing given the fact management knew the hotel was going to be busy and could easily have planned better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshireluddite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear yorkshireluddite,

Thank you your recent comments regarding your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We were sorry to note from your review that there were some aspects of your visit that were less than satisfactory and wish to offer my sincere apologies. We currently have a number of trainee staff on the front office and we can only ask for your patience during their training.

The Sky Lounge on the 11th floor is only available for private hire functions as it forms part of the Meeting and Event space, it is not a public bar.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Went for the night for my partners birthday and mentioned this when booking. When we got to our room they had put us on a higher floor and also left a happy birthday message with drinks vouchers for the bar. Thought it was a really nice touch, have stayed here a few times now and will continue to do so, great location parking nearby and comfy beds, happy customer!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ged925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Ged925,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear such fantastic comments about your recent stay. The team at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly love to recognise guests special occassions and we delighted you enjoyed the surprise.

As a loyal guest, we look forward to welcoming you both again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Chose the Doubletree hotel as it was close to nightlife and the train station, also we took advantage of the summer deal ( well worth it).

The rooms were lovely, not very big but good for a one night stay.
Beds were extremely comfortable, and the room was very clean.

Staff were very friendly, very good room service!!!

The only problem we came across was the let down of no notification be forehand of the terrace bar being restricted due to a private party :( . Would not of been a big problem but queued for the only lift to it to get all the way up and then be told we couldn't go in!!! 12 flights of stairs down :(

I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone, more so for the gorgeous free cookie on arrival!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear andreeny,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear you found the location of the hotel perfect for all you had planned this weekend and the staff were friendly and accommodating.

The SkyLounge terrace at the hotel is a private function room as opposed to a public bar. However, we do have a great ground floor terrace just off the City Café restaurant which is great for people watching and enjoying the summer weather!

We hope you are able to visit again soon.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed for one night on 12/07/14 for my daughter's 18th birthday, we had 3 deluxe rooms and they put a banner on my daughter's room and a cake and free drink voucher.
All staff were amazing and so friendly, we all loved the rooms with iMac tv and computer, beautiful bath robes and complimentary bathroom items- were gorgeous smelling.
We had a free cocktail in the bar then went into town.
Upon my return the bed is the most comfortable, amazing one I have ever slept on didn't want to leave ,if I win lottery I am going to stay for a month.
May not be cheapest but we'll worth every penny.

Room Tip: We overlooked the train station side but no noise in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Kim W,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly on TripAdvisor.

The team were thrilled to hear your comments regarding you stay with us for your daughters 18th Birthday at the weekend - we're glad she loved the cake and the little extra touches! The team love to WOW guests and appreciate the importance in creating memories.

If you do win the lottery we would be delighted to welcome you and your family back - fingers crossed!

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing