We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern hotel with excellent facilities and great loaction” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Modern hotel with excellent facilities and great loaction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hotel looks refreshingly bright and modern. The rooms are equipped with safe deposit boxes and refrigerators. The complimentary cookies was a surprise.There are three restaurants with breakfast being served at the City Cafe. Staff are well trained and helpful. Service from checking in and out, and at the restaurants was fast. The main attraction is the central location. Piccadilly station ( with connection to Manchester airport and London) is less than a five minutes walk. The hotel is adjacent to the the central shopping and entertainment district of Manchester. Everything is within walking distance. Saw a play at the Royal Exchange Theatre. Arndale Shopping Centre( one of Britains largest city center shopping malls) is a ten minute walk.If you want a modern hotel with excellent facilities and a central location in Manchester, then the Double Tree should be your first choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madhavkudva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear madhavkudva,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a fantastic review on your stay on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear you experienced such great service from the team at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly. We agree the location is great for all of Manchesters main attractions and thrilled you would name us as first choice (glad you enjoyed the cookies too)!

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,994
    1,328
    403
    115
    40
See reviews for
353
1,517
314
1,015
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed for 1 night this week whilst attending business meetings in Manchester. The service from the moment I arrived to the moment I checked out was flawless. The staff were super-efficient, friendly and helpful. The hotel was spotless. The room was immaculate, had all the usual amenities attended to and good free wifi. The location was ideal as right outside Manchester Piccadilly station. Only downside was the room overlooked a building site, but since I wasn't there for the view, it really wasn't an issue for me. I stay in many hotels across the UK for business and this definitely sits as one of the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Nicole P,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a fantastic 5* review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear such great compliments regarding the service from the team as well as the high standards of the bedrooms. Anna, our Executive Head Housekeeper, will be thrilled to communicate this to her team.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Requested early check in for 11 am. Arrived at 11 am check in was quick. Then they said can you come back to reception later as they could not give me a room key, because the machine was not working. Ok not a big deal. Took my car around to the underground parking, the key they gave me to open the electronic security shutter didn't work, someone from reception came out and shouted through the shutter to a colleague to open the gate from the inside , which they did. Ok no big deal. In the parking lot a member of staff was waiting for us so that they could escort us up to our room and let us in, as we had no room key. The room we had booked was for a double bed and a pull out by for my daughter. The nice lady from the hotel open the door to our room and there is only a double bed in the room, I mentioned it should have a pull out bed as well to the nice lady and she said she would get it sorted, which she did. Ok no big deal. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a drink in the bar, you don't want to de-hydrate during the warm weather, we also ate breakfast at the hotel very nice and plentiful and not a bad price when you consider the tea, coffee and juice refills and also the various items for breakfast. The room as with the rest of the hotel had a nice relax clean feel to it. In the room had an iMac to watch TV on or use as a computer, nice touch. The hotel is in a good location for visiting the city centre on foot. The one thing that is a big deal is the air con. It was a complete waste of time. The room was hot, waiting for the lift in the corridor was hot and uncomfortable. When can places realise its very important to have air con that works in keeping the place nice and cool. Overall would I go back yes but not during warm weather.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mellor2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Mellor2012,

Thank you for sharing your recent review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear that the start of your stay with us was a less than smooth one. It is great to hear the team were able to meet you at the car park are escort you personally to the room.

I am grateful for your feedback regarding the air conditioning and am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay fully when you were with us due to the discomfort caused by this. We would have been happy to recify this for you had we have known of the issue during your stay.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for one night having booked to see a show. Location is excellent and within walking distance of most attractions. Room lovely,fresh and clean. We had breakfast which was also very good. The complimentary cookies are to die for! Most of the staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. I would have rated this a 5 but for just one staff member who was less than enthusiastic about her job!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pookie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear pookie19,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the loctaion was perfect for all the main attractions you wanted to visit.

I have shared your comments with the breakfast, housekeeping and front desk teams who were delighted you found the team helpful and, yes, the cookies are to die for!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon - we will have cookies waiting for you!

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffitld
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I spent a weekend at the Doubletree in Manchester in early July whilst visiting friends in Manchester. I have to say my expectations were exceeded in every way. Perfect city central location - ideal for us coming in on the train. We had a great night out in Manchester with expert guidance from the staff and returned to the hotel late in the evening for more cocktails and drinks in the hotel bar. This would be my first choice for central Manchester hotels and I am already looking at booking my next stay. It was my birthday weekend, the staff were aware of this and did everything they could to make it special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pureoutdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Pureoutdoor,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear your stay with us exceeded your expectations with great service from the team and a little birthday treat from us too!

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My first ever stay in Manchester City Centre, and I obviously chose well !

The location, rooms & service are excellent and in my opinion cannot be faulted. I happened to have used the Concierge service on a number of occasions during our stay, and the service delivered by numerous of its staff was flawless.

My obvious choice for our next trip

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartmenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear stuartmenez,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear your first trip to Manchester and DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly made such an impression on you! I am especially thrilled to hear the great service delivered by the Guest Service Team in assisting you during your stay. I will be sure to share your comments with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next in the city!

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARCELONA, Spain
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have spend one night at the Hotel. Doing check-in just after mid-day. Location is quite good. You can walk around the most touristic places in Manchester in 10-15 minutes. So far, Fitness room is fine but I missed a swimming pool. I always find it very relaxing go swimming after some "cardio" exercises. In general, Service and Food (booth at Restaurant and for Breakfast) are reasonably good. Next time I come to Manchester most probably I will repeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Jorge G,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of your stay on TripAdvisor.

It is great to here you found the location ideal for getting around the city and seeing all Manchester has to offer! Thank you also for your comments regarding the Restaurant and Breakfast Service.

When you are next in the city and staying with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, we would be happy to recommend local swimming facilities - in particular the fantastic Aquatic Centre just a short walk from the city centre.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#15 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing