We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff and lovely rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff and lovely rooms”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

My partner had planned this trip as a surprise birthday get away, he did well!

Firstly we got the train up, as we got out of Piccadilly station spit was right there!

It is in walking distance with the high street and the Arndale shopping centre too!

We arrived at 12pm which was early but they took our cases and and they took them up to the room when it was ready.

We had a little wonder round the shops. 3pm came and check in was lovely and quick. The reception staff are lovely and very helpful.

We got to,our spacious room and our bags were already there. The room had a iMac which works as a TV and a PC. There was a fridge, iron and ironing board, a hair dryer, wardrobe and a dressing table with a mirror and a floor length mirror too.
The bathroom was gorgeous!

The rooms were spacious and very clean.

We ventured off to the hotel bar the drinks were pricey but you wouldn't expect anything else. The bar man gave us some good recommendations too :) great local knowledge.

Then we went off Into the city centre

The beds were extremely comfy. A lovely feather duvet and a comfy mattress.

The room has good air con and heating unit too!

The only thing I can moan abut is as we were just getting ready to go to sleep we had a knock on the door and it was room service. Confused we let the waiter in. We hadn't ordered any food though. He apologised and went on his was. Then about 10 minutes later the phone rang once then stopped. It was very confusing!

Overall the hotel is great! The staff are knowledgeable and lovely and it is in a perfect location! Gutted we only stayed for one night!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Sarah R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear your surprise birthday did not disappoint! We appreciate the feedback regarding many aspects to your stay such as the location, the knowledge and friendliness of the team and the amenities available to you in your room.

We apologise for the confusion regarding room service - I will be sure to pass your comments to the department manager.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,051
    1,357
    414
    115
    42
See reviews for
360
1,551
323
1,043
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed one night. Parking was easy in the public carpark. Staff friendly and room good. I left a small raincoat in the room which they very kindly posted back to me. We were there for my son's graduation and walked back from the university area so a good location for that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Peter A,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear you found the location of the hotel ideal for your visit to the city for your sons graduation. Thank you also for the comments regarding the friendliness of the team and the quick response regarding your lost property items.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Reception was friendly and efficient. We had a special room for the physically handicapped. The bathroom was the best equipped for the handicapped that we had ever come across in our travels. Bravo.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 463Donald463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear 463Donald463,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear your stay with us was comfortable and your room was equipped to a high standard for your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Two minute walk from the station, (leave by platform 1, cross the road and over the bridge and you are there). Check in was fast and we loved the cookie. Our room on the 7th floor was all we needed for our stay. The room was comfortable and we were away from any noise. Very comfortable beds and lovely bed linen. All members of staff we met were polite and helpful. The dining room was full when we arrived on Sunday morning but we were served quickly and efficiently with coffee and orange juice. Breakfast for us was more than enough but there could have perhaps been a wider range of cold meats and cheese. I would recomend this hotel to anyone visiting Manchester and woul stay here again if I as visiting the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Robert B,

Thank you sharing such a fantastic review of the hotel on Trip Advisor.

It is a delight to hear so many positive aspects to your stay such as the speed and efficency of service as well as the friendly manner of the team, the offering at breakfast, the location and not forgetting our famous DoubleTree Chocolate Cookie!

It is wonderful to hear you would choose to stay with us again and your next visit to Manchester.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

stayed on saturday night, booked in a king room and got upgraded due to Hilton Gold Card member to king executive package which gave free soft drinks mini bar, voucher for 2 free drinks at bar, complimentary breakfast and a few other little treats. Room was very nice with good views over manchester. Clean and bright with decent bathroom. Bed was very comfy too.
Breakfast had good selection of usual cold and hot foods, omelettes to order otherwise all self serve buffet style.
All in all everything from the cheerful welcome thru the good room to the filling breakfast we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. recommended for good value and rooms, good location (near to railway station) and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Richard1261,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a fantastic review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

As a loyal HH member it is great to hear you recieved your HH benefits on check in. We are delighted to hear so many positive aspects to your stay with us such as the breakfast, location and value for money.

Thank you for your compliments regarding the team at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly. The team strive to WOW our guests on a daily basis and take great pride in delivering a first class experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during our recent 2 plus week holiday around the UK.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist. Our room was made available 1 hour earlier than expected so that was a plus.

The room was very clean, well equipped and spacious. The location was great with many venues for shopping, eating, etc. nearby.

The gym was well equipped. The on site restaurant was a nice touch and very convenient.

Several little touches made it that much better, i.e. free bottled water in the room and even chocolate chip cookies upon check in.

Would definitely recommend this hotel for a city visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buznbro15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear buznbro15,

Thank you for sharing such a great review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear we were able to accommodate an early arrival for you and the Front Office Team delivered great customer service.

Also, we are delighted to hear so many positive aspects to your stay such as the little extra amenities in your room such as the bottled water and who wouldn't love one of our famous DoubleTree Chocolate Cookies too!

It is great you were able to take advantage of the onsite fitness room and restaurant also.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel a few times now, each time it has been fantastic, friendly and excellent service. We recently stayed for a birthday weekend and Doubletree Hilton made it extra special with added extras of birthday cakes and mini bar. The whole stay was fantastic and we would highly recommend. The location of the hotel is brilliant, 2 minute walk from picadilly train station and also 1 minute walk from canal street which is a added bonus for us. We hope we can visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannegib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Suzannegib,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

As a loyal guest to DoubleTree by HIlton Manchester Piccadilly, it is great to hear you enjoy returning to the property and the team continue to deliver great customer service! We love that you enjoyed the little extras for your special stay too.

We look forward to welcoming you both again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing