We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the eggs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #18 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival the hotel looked lovely and although busy the service was really good and polite, also the warm cookie given at check in was a nice surprise. The room was spacious and had all the facilities required, plugs by mirrors on the desk/ dressing table so able to do hair in comfort (you'd be surprised at how many hotels fall down on this). Service in the bar was also prompt and pleasant and a lovely setting. At breakfast the only eggs available were scrambled, when I had collected my self serve cooked breakfast I asked if I could have a poached egg. The reply was yes, but it would take 15 minutes!! It would have been appreciated if this was advised upon seating, so did out a slight dampened on the breakfast. At least ill know for next time as would still definitely stay again

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Lisa D,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us recently. It is great to hear such compliments regarding the service delivered to you by the team especially in the Piccadilly Lounge.

I apologise for the confusion at breakfast regarding the eggs to order. I have shared your comments with Ricardo, Restaurant and Bars Manager, who will see that the team are retrained on this immediately.

We do hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,909 - 1,915 of 4,230 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Most of the staff were very helpful. I have an allergy to feather duvet and pillows. I called reception explained my dilemma and 5mins later it was all changed, apoligised for any inconvenience caused to me. Hows that for service! Would I stay there again? Ofcourse I would. What ever you are doing keep it up.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank M. Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear M. Jane R,

Thank you for sharing your recent review of your stay with on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear the team were able to deal with your request quickly and efficiently to Make it Right for you.

We are thrilled to here that you will return to us on your next stay - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here for unfortunately only one night ( manchester vs chelsea )
Close by Old Trafford and shops are near by!
Always love the fresh cookies you get when checking in, friendly staff.
Nice and simple rooms as I'm used to in all doubletree hotels. Free wifi and the gym was good!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear anna r,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us on TripAdvisor.

As a regular cusotmer of the DoubleTree by Hilton brand, it is great to hear Manchester Piccadilly did not disappoint! We agree the location of the hotel is great for travelling to and from the football as well as the main city centre shopping district.

Glad you you enjoyed your welcome DoubleTree Cookie on arrival - they are a great treat to have after a long journey here!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Amazing facilities for the price and fantastic location. Wouldn't hesitate about booking again. Love the little touches like a cookie when you check in and the fluffy robes, brilliant shower with lovely toiletries and iMac. Great for a weekend in the city.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Roberta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Roberta H,

Thank you for sharing a review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly. It is also great to hear you loved our famous DoubleTree Chocolate Cookies!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights during a wedding. Nice spacious rooms with everything you need. Toiletries, hairdryer, and a fridge for your own use. Free water bottles every day.
Upon arrival you are greeted with a delicous cookie:). FRee wifi in the room.
The hotel is a few minutes walk to the shopping streets and just across the railway station.
You can take the train from the airport and walk 2 minutes from the train station to the hotel :)
Would definetly stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noreen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear noreen_11,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us a review of your stay on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable with us! It is great to hear you found the location of the hotel ideal for you commute from the station and for getting around the city and the additional amenities added to the comfort and enjoyment of your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Cold, soggy fish and chips. Must have all been microwaved and left on the side. Really disgusting, and cost £20. Avoid the room service at all costs. Other than that, reasonable hotel. Wifi didn't work but someone bought me a cable. Good they have a Mac TV and they give you a cookie when you check in.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jacob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Jacob H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear you enojyed our famous DoubleTree Chocolate Cookie on check in and you found the i-Mac TV a welcomed addition to the room.

I am sorry to hear you had issues with your room service. We are commited to delivering great quality food from the kitchen and had we have been aware we would have been happy to Make it Right for you.

We hope you are able to return to us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed with my partner a few weeks ago and felt that this hotel slightly missed the mark!!

Firstly parking is awful, bit of a trek, but you do get a discount for staying at the hotel.

The receptionist was, well, "confused.com". She said breakfast wasn't included in our booking which we agreed, but then because I queried the price for one night she decided that it was included, but at the end of the conversation checked with her manager who confirmed it wasn't!! We did however have breakfast the next morning at an extra cost, but had to queue for half an hour and was told that we could only have our eggs scrambled and if we wanted them any other way we would have to wait 20 minutes extra - I don't think so.

The room and bathroom were a good size, clean and comfortable.

Anyway, down to the bar for a pre-dinner drink - we weren't eating at the hotel. The waiting came to us and we ordered two gin and tonics. I asked for Diet Tonic to be told that they don't have this so I reluctantly agreed to a full fat tonic. My partner wanted another G&T before we left for our dinner but couldn't attract the eye of the waiter (he was far too busy oggling the numerous noisy hen party groups) so my partner went to the bar himself and waited over 15 minutes for a drink and lo and behold what should he see behind the bar but Diet Tonic.

On arrival back at the hotel we decided to have a cocktail - no complaints here - nice cocktails at reasonable prices - and the bar had a more select clientele by this time.

We probably would return to this hotel as it's well placed but will make sure that we get a better price than we did which includes breakfast - it was far too expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunandmoon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear sunandmoon10,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us a review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

Firstly, thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room and the service in bar later in the evening. We are please you found these aspects of your stay enjoyable.

Secondly, I am disappointed to hear your comments regarding your arrival with us and your experience in the bar earlier. The car park we recommend, Piccadilly Argent, is within the same complex as the hotel so I apologise if you found this further than you had anticipated.

In regards to check in, I apologise if there was confusion regarding whether breakfast was included or not. We do have a number of staff who are currently in training but i have raised this with Mike, our Front of House Manager, who will ensure the staff are retained on this. I have also noted the comments regarding service in the Piccadilly Lounge and passed on your thoughts to Ricardo, our Restaurant and Bars Manager.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide to our guests so that we can make improvements, and we do appreciate the time and effort that you have taken to communicate this information to us.

Once again, we are sorry that we fell short of your expectations on this occasion.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 120 in Manchester
4,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £75 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing