We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for your dollar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2009

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. During the check-in, the counter lady attending to us was great, told us about all the services available in the hotel, e.g. free wireless, complimentary DVDs for viewing, gym, etc. She offered to reserve breakfast for our stay, as well as for dinner that night. Pleasant service attitude!

Upon entering our room, we were pleasantly surprised with the decor and the en-suite facilities. 3 stars?? you gotta to be kidding, it has to be higher! iMac entertainment system (which easily converts from a TV into a desktop PC - keyboard/mouse included), well stocked bar, contemporary themed decor. Praises for the revolutionary entertainment system, only downside is the inability to switch the TV on via the remote control. you need to walk up to the TV to switch it on (just like the power button on the PC).

Went down to browse through the DVD titles, i must say it is a decent list, with at least, conservatively, 25 titles to loan. Not to mention Cd albums too! Went for dinner at cafe and, boy!, was the food good or was it good? No brainer for me. Had a 2 course meal and I enjoyed the appetizer most - prawn salad. A definite must try that is topped off with a king prawn.

We were thoroughly impressed with the hotel and i wouldn't mind forgoing time touring Manchester city to stay and indulge in the services and keep ourselves occupied with the DVDs!

Don't ever go to this hotel just for a sleepover, you are shortchanging yourself. Spend a day IN the hotel and indulge!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigTAfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,863 - 3,869 of 4,201 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2009

Trendy hotel in a good location at a really great price, could not ask for more.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTWand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

having previously stopped at this particular city inn a year ago i was interested to see if the quality was still of a high standard, i need not have worried, it was as perfect as i remembered, everything is just fab, the rooms, the staff, the food, i dont think you could find anything wrong with this hotel and if you did any problem would be sorted immediately as nothing seems too much trouble, i have read a previous reveiw of someone who preferred the macdonald hotel, well i stayed there in january and wouldnt recommend it to anyone, yes the rooms are bigger, but very dark and unless you have superman vision you cant see the television while in bed!! also commenting on the breakfast, the macdonalds was probably the most disgusting thing i have ever eaten, the quality of the ingredients was awful,you may be able to eat as much cooked breakfast as you like, but you really wouldnt want to!! however the city inn delivers high quality foods,you really wont be disappointed, also car park is 2 minute walk away literally, you will have a fantastic time and i will definately be returning again later this year

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baggiebirdMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Gorgeous hotel and great value. Brilliant location with train tram and shops on the doorstep. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathysligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Just got home from an overnight stay at the City Inn and I am still shaking my head in disbelief at what great value this hotel is. Right next to an NCP car park, lovely foyer, great staff who couldn't do enough to help us, a neutral coloured, easy on the eye room, not massive, but absolutely large enough for a night or two, peaceful - didn't hear one noise all night, on a Friday night in a city ! Great shower, lovely selection for breakfast - I ate light but my husband had scrambled eggs and Loch Fyne smoked salmon, so clean , so light and so CHEAP !! we are so used to be ripped off in this country that I kept wondering what the catch was. There isn't one. if these guys keep on developing the City Inns in other cities then I just hope they can keep the prices as low everywhere. We will stay again, and will seek them out elsewhere. What I liked is that they don't pretend to be anything else other than a modern, contemporary hotel serving customers who just want to relax and eat unpretentious food at a fair price.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I stayed in this hotel over the Easter weekend. I normally stay in the McDonald Hotel but the City Inn had a good deal so I decided to give it a try.

There were plenty of good points; the staff were very polite, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the free internet access in the room a bonus, there was an excellent range of tv channels available, and the mini bar was fully stocked - a few things weren't to my personal liking.

1. The rooms were very small - much smaller that the equivilant room sizes in the similarly priced McDonald Hotel.

2. Because the IMac is a PC and TV in one, the TV screen size was pretty small - other new 4* hotels have larger flatscreen tvs on the wall.

3. The cooked breakfast was not buffet style. Instead you had to give the waiter your order and I found the portion sizes meager.

All in all I would stay again for the price I paid - but not the usual £130 + per room as I think that's a little dear for what's on offer.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalitisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Following my recent stay, the staff are fantastic nothing was too much for them. The room was very comfortable, white crisp linen, fluffy towel, free internet and a well stocked bar. I have stayed in numerous City Inns in the UK and have never been disappointed.
Well done too City Inn Manachester

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BasilBlanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#35 of 120 in Manchester
2,552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 120 in Manchester
4,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £73 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing