We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL HOTEL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

What a wonderful hotel! Excellent location. excellent rooms and a superb breakfast. Was really impressed with the staff who could not do enough for you. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taughy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,991
    1,327
    400
    115
    40
See reviews for
352
1,516
312
1,013
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
staffs
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

We booked this hotel for a 1 night stay, mainly due to its locations and reviews I had read.Booked a few weeks in advance and got a terrific rate, £69 inc breakfast, none refunadable, but that didnt matter.Literally a 3 minute walk from Picadilly station.the service was fantastic, we walked into the lobby to be greeted by a very smart polite gentleman, who assisted us to the check-in desk, and the exceptional service continued, the receptionist told us everything about our stay we needed to know, very polite and with a smile...and we were able to have our room early. The rooms were very nice, clean modern, with many extras, bathrobes, wardrobes with automatic lighting, temperature control, well stocked fridge , IMac computer with dvd, cd library,internet, well stocked tea and coffee.the bed was comfy and the shower was fantastic.
Breakfast on a saturday served till 1130, but gets busy apparently 1030 onwards so we went in at 10, no queues, exceptional menu, everything you can imagine from continental-english-french toast and summer fruits-waffle-eggs benedict, the list was endless, waitress service and the best cooked breakfast I have had, once again the service and manners from the dining room staff was excellent.The bar in the evening was very nice too, with a very nice atmosphere, and quite busy. We had a beer on our way out and a nice hot chocolate when we came in, and at midnight it was still very popular.Check out was as professional and efficient as checking in, just a shame we couldnt stay another night.
I really cannot fault this hotel, its clean, modern, well located, excellent staff, the service was exceptional, and I have to say its the best hotel i have stayed in and look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaywhay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
327 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

A lovely hotel in a great location in central manchester convenient for all amenities especially picadilly station. Stylish lobby and reception area, good check in with friendly staff. Pleasant rooms - very quiet, nicely decorated and well equipped - full minibar, good entertainment system (although looked like it might be tricky to use) iron and ironing board always good to find this in the room, nice robes and toiletries. Shower but no bath.
Problems related to dinner - we booked for 8.30pm by 9pm still waiting in the bar for a table even though lots of tables were free - wer were told that there was a backlog in the kitchen due to a function upstairs and that they could seat us at 9.30pm which meant that we probably would not eat till nearer 10pm - not great when you have booked for 8.30pm. We did not complain but asked for a recommendation of somewhere else we could go instead - manager overheard and dealt really well with our problem. He went over to the malmaison brasserie and bought us back a menu and said that if we did not want to go there he would get us a taxi at the hotels expense to anywhere else we wanted to go. He also gave us dinner and drinks complimentary the following evening. A poor show that we could not get dinner at the hotel (they were sending other people elsewhere as well) - and a loss of revenue for them! - but at least they did sort it out.
Long queues (20 mins) to get access to restaurant for breakfast but 2nd day they did suggest that people come earlier or later and did warn people. Breakfast was excellent and very quick once seated.
They forgot my wake up call second day.
overall - stylish, modern, comfortable good place to say - some significant issues but the attention to sort them out means I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

My husband and I and friends stayed in the City Inn last weekend and we couldn't fault it. Staff are helpful, efficient and friendly, rooms are comfortable, clean with a good bathroom. Bar and diningroom excellent and the breakfast varied and delicious. 5 minutes from Piccadilly Station and a 5 minute walk from the City centre.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discerning60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

Stayed here just for one night when we went to the Apollo.

Excellent location, right opposite Piccadilly rail, 10 minutes walk from the Arndale (or there's a free bus from the rail station) and the NCP where we parked was just a couple of minutes away.

Check-in was quick, with staff pointing all the hotel features out, rooms were nice and comfortable - great to have free internet.

The Piccadilly Lounge had great cocktails served by friendly staff - have to confess they were so good we had more than we intended. As others have mentioned breakfast was superb too - continental, full English, a la Carte items - or a mixture of all 3 if you wished.

Would I stay here again? Without giving it a second thought - I just need to find a reason to stop in manchester overnight again.....I'm looking.....

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nijh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

There's something absolutely delightful about staying in a City Inn, and having enjoyed the Westminster (London) City Inn very much, I was looking forward to staying in Manchester. And although I was only there for one night, it was delightful. I'm not sure if I can put it down to the staff who have finally restored my faith in thinking we can offer great customer service in the UK when we want to, or the size and quality of the rooms in which you would be pleased to spend all day and never leave the hotel. Or maybe it's the bar with an excellent cocktail menu (doing very well marketing itself as a lifestyle destination), and the reasonable prices - offering service, quality and value in one package.

Whatever it is, I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and will definitely be back. Thank you City Inn... You rightly deserve your success.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j1mb0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horwich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

Had a wonderful time in Manchester and staying at the Citi Inn made it! The staff were professional and courteous. We had our evening meal there before the show and it was excellent in the restaurant lovely menu and wine exceptional value for 2/3 courses. Our room was spacious comfortable and contemporary with little touches like white dressing gowns the white company products wi fi mini bar - room service was brilliant asked for ice and 5 mins later was brought up a large bucket for our champayne. The breakfast was just yummie again staff very attentive would definitely stay again and am planning another celebration/theatre break very soon. Loved it Viv and family

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank novchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,107 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing