We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at City Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Hi,
We just stayed in the City Inn Manchester over the Valentines Weekend. I liked the free wifi, the Mac in the room which doubled as a tv and the breakfast was very good and included in the rate we got so we felt it was good value for money also. The hotel itself is around the corner from Piccadilly station and only a short walk to the city centre. There are also plenty of restaurants and bars nearby, we ate in Velvet the first night which was very nice.

Would definitely go back to this hotel.

Podge

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Podge_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,815 - 3,821 of 4,327 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2010

I found the hotel excellent - there was nothing that i found dissapointing, all staff were very friendly and accomodating. I requested a high room which I got no problem. The view was good of the city centre and the breakfast in the morning was one of the best i have had in a hotel. We went for breakfast about 9 o clock and it was fairly quite but started getting busy just after we left. Asked if we could leave our bags with reception after check out so we could go shopping and that again was no problem, would recommend this too anybody!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazthemanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

LOVED this hotel...After staying in the Marriott for two nights, we came back to Manchester and stayed here. Right next to the train station and a few minutes walk from the City Centre. Although rooms are small, they are immaculate with large imacs that have tv and internet on them. Beds are too firm, but heating/cooling system in the room is great, which is unusual in Britain. 24 hour room service was excellent and on time, and the lobby lounge serves great food and drinks in a cool atmosphere. Service everywhere outstanding.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LvtoPack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

This could have been a more negative review - we were actually allocated the wrong room! Nevertheless, the room was clean, modern, comfortable and pretty much what you would expect from a city centre 4* hotel. However, the next morning when the front desk realised their error, they went above and beyond in order to rectify the situation. Our communication with staff since then in order to book a stay in the Glasgow hotel has been faultless. In fact, I would go as far as to say it's the best customer service I have ever encountered! Well done City Inn - the hotel is good but the service is impeccable. (Agnesa in particular).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Great hotel can totally understand why its number one in Manchester!

We stayed for a weekend and got a really good rate, similar rates where given for the Premier Travel Inn and you would not compare the two.

iMac in room was a great asset when we were trying to find a restaurant to book on Saturday night. Breakfast was great service was quite slow on the Saturday morning but we were prepared for this and were happy to take some time and relax whilst waiting, breakfast on Sunday was very prompt, from order to table in less than 5 mins.

Location of hotel is very good all the main places to visit, shops are within walking distance and for those a bit further the tram stop is right beside the hotel in Piccadilly station.

I've stayed in few hotels in Manhcester and this one far surpasses any I've been in before, would thoroughly recommend and it will be the first I will try to book on my next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

My second visit. My husband took me for my birthday.
The staff are very attentive. The rooms are excellent.
Love the apple mac....
Breakfast.. my goodness. Just perfect.
The waiting on staff are just lovely.
This hotel deserves its reputation.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna-Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Myself and my partner stayed at the City Inn for 2 nights over a Saturday and Sunday.

We drove to the hotel and it was very easy to find the NCP car park-its just behind the hotel and is £10.20 for 24hrs with hotel discount.

The hotel reception is very modern and clean and check in was really quick with
friendly reception staff.

The room was bigger than expected,nice big bed and very modern.
Loved the White Company products in the bathroom! Again clean and modern with
great power shower.

Best part of the room had to be the imac computer which doubled as the in room
tv! Sky TV and free internet was a great touch.

Had a cocktail in the hotel lounge before heading out to the bars and the service was
great with the prices similar to bars and clubs.

Had breakfast both days-full english was lovely and the staff were really nice,effeicent
and chatty.

Location was great- around a 10-15 min walk to the Arndale shopping centre and 15-20min
drive to the Trafford Centre.

Next time i am in Manchester this is where i will stay and if in any other city i will look for
a City Inn first!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_A_B_W21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,299 reviews
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#47 of 121 in Manchester
4,637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#39 of 121 in Manchester
2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £77 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing