We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh, but friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #18 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Novello, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Posh, but friendly”
Reviewed 12 February 2011

After a night in a average place I decided to treat myself with the Mint Hotel.
Everything is super.
They have energy saving lamps all over.
The funny thing is that instead of a TV you get a iMac (useless but trendy).
The Lounge is cool.
Free wifi all over.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangiaeviaggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,079
    1,371
    414
    115
    42
See reviews for
363
1,565
326
1,063
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night over the weekend with 3 friends.
I was very pleased with the hotel. The check in was quick and staff very friendly (Zizi checked us in)
Rooms were spacious and very clean, bathroom a little small but again very clean and just what I expected. Heating worked well, beds were comfortable. Used the room service; cheese toastie and fries which were great (steep but again you're on a break in a nice hotel what else do you expect!)
A nice bonus to have free wi-fi and an Apple Mac in the room - nice touch!
We didn't use the hotel restaurant or bar but both looked very nice.

We parked in the NCP overnight for £15, just to the side of the hotel, down the ramp and then a lift up to where we saw the hotel immediately! I'm not the most confident of drivers into a city but this was great. Parking a little dear but hey for 1 night I didn't mind!

I'm not sure how far it is to walk into the centre as we took a taxi - approx £4 so not bad.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymraes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We had a very good experience staying at this Hotel, under slightly unusual circumstances. We intended to stay for just one night for a weekend away to Manchester, however were struck ill during our stay and ended up spending an extra night.

The Hotel staff were extremely accommodating and the room facilities were excellent. Highlights were:
- The Mac/Media System - efficient use of technology (all channels including sky sports)
- complimentary DVD hire
- The Bathroom, lovely shower/bathroom with "White Company products"
- Very quiet, especially given its location
- Location - Walking distance to shops and next to Manchester Piccadilly station

The best part about the hotel though was how attentive, accommodating and friendly the staff were. It was beyond expectations.

We would stay again any time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turtle8403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heywood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2011

I stayed here with some friends in Januaryas we were reccomended by a work colleague.
Decor wise the hotel is lovely and clean but the staff made us feel like we were too much trouble.
On check in i asked a few questions regarding food service and the lady on the desk was unsure of most things i asked. I was also made to feel that because both myself and my friends were aged between 18-23 that we were being looked at differently than the slightly older guests checking in.
Food wise, we only had breakfast which was quite nice, although a little pricey.
The rooms were nice and clean and the housekeeping staff were very friendly.
It aslo seems to be a regular occurance in alot of hotels for the night staff to act as bouncers!!! Was treated like a criminal after a night out!!
I probably wouldnt stay at this particular hotel again but would considering staying at one in another location.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleangel_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Mint for a weekend. I had some email exchange with the reception. Since I was coming from the Netherlands and my boyfriend arrived from the UK
We got a free upgrade from the girl behind reception. There was a big group of guys from Scandinavia in the hotel coming over for a party, she made sure that we weren't on the same floor as them.
Rooms were comfy, shower was perfect. The room also had a mini bar with good stock. Tempting not to have a quick snack.
The Apple computer can be used as a tv, computer and radio which I think is a good thing for a hotel.
Location to visit the city is perfect! Close to the main train station. Check in/out was quick. We didn't have breakfast or dinner in the hotel.
My only disappointment; the double bed was actually two singles put together. So after the first night you notice the gap in the middle.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Booboo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayenne, French Guiana
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

When I checked in at this hotel they pre-charged my credit card for GBP100 extra, only for the use of the minibar, without telling me about it. After the pre-charge, the money on my card was locked for many days. I think they are the only hotel in the world that does this, as normally hotels only pre-charge the cost of the room, specifying the exact amount of the pre-charge or charge to customers. Evidently they do not trust their customers here. For the rest the hotel offers free Internet connectivity with Apple computers, but there are no easy-access printers for customers. You must ask the reception to handle the print-outs and that takes forever. Rooms are pretty small, cold and some do not have openable windows.

Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank fabmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

EXCELLENT SERVICE.
Car Park was full by 4pm even though check-in time is not until 3pm - but directed to alternative car park very very close by.
Stains and marks in room (carpet & chair) not acceptable in a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 31EST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
585 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 116 in Manchester
4,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing