We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #18 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Just over the road from Manchester Piccadilly..close to meeting venues..cool iMAcs in the rooms.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
Thank DennisM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,487 - 3,493 of 4,230 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2011

The mint hotel is a nice and somewhat intimate hotel despite its medium size. The room decor is nice and the hotel in general is rather modern.
Check-out at 12pm is very unusual in Manchester, most are 11.
I particularly liked the bathroom and the imac system in the room. Some posters have complained about this, but I have not had a pc in the room in which to freely browse the internet in other hotels so that was a nice touch. Free wi-fi as advertised by other hotels is useless to many leisure travellers who wouldn't bring a laptop etc.
All in all, a very comfortable hotel and a good location across from piccadilly, even though most nightlife and shopping are a ten minute walk.
Lovely bar in the hotel open till around 3am that saturday night.
Cant say anything about the restaurant as we didnt eat in the hotel even though I had breakfast included on the booking, slept in instead!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G-unit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

This hotel is now called the City Inn Hotel. The location is close to the train station and is overall quite close (walking distance) to the main pedestrian streets in central Manchester.

Reception is modern and quite fast. There is a car park in the hotel and if full there is another park around the block which is decently priced.

The rooms are not huge but they are adequate and modern. The TV has unusual features as it is an Apple computer monitor but it works well and the selection of channels is generous (the 3 Sky Sport channels are on offer).The toilette is also adequate and appropriate. Not luxurious but very functional.

There is a good restaurant in the hotel which may be helpful if you hosting people as it was the case.

I would recommend this hotel without reservation bearing in mind the above. It is fine, well located, and would provide you with what you need whether for leisure or business. When we were there the hotel was actually packed with Labour delegates attending the Labour Party national conference.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Stayed at this hotel for the weekend with my partner in Feb 2011 after reading a number of great reviews.

Hotel was not easy to find as sat nav did not pick up postcode. When we arrrived we were dealt with promptly. We were able to park in the hotel car park which was good. I was asked for my credit card and said that it was for extras that we might want during our stay - found this weird and not sure if I have been charged for anything when we left.

Breakfast was included in the price we paid - we were told by one of the waiteress that we were not able to order kedgeree & a three egg omelette so we had to change the order to kedgeree & two poached eggs - whats the difference between these items?

Found the tv ok but kept crashing when changing channels. Dvds on hire at reception was good. Gym was also very good - all necessary equipment available. Near train station & town centre which was ideal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jingles38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

After a night in a average place I decided to treat myself with the Mint Hotel.
Everything is super.
They have energy saving lamps all over.
The funny thing is that instead of a TV you get a iMac (useless but trendy).
The Lounge is cool.
Free wifi all over.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangiaeviaggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night over the weekend with 3 friends.
I was very pleased with the hotel. The check in was quick and staff very friendly (Zizi checked us in)
Rooms were spacious and very clean, bathroom a little small but again very clean and just what I expected. Heating worked well, beds were comfortable. Used the room service; cheese toastie and fries which were great (steep but again you're on a break in a nice hotel what else do you expect!)
A nice bonus to have free wi-fi and an Apple Mac in the room - nice touch!
We didn't use the hotel restaurant or bar but both looked very nice.

We parked in the NCP overnight for £15, just to the side of the hotel, down the ramp and then a lift up to where we saw the hotel immediately! I'm not the most confident of drivers into a city but this was great. Parking a little dear but hey for 1 night I didn't mind!

I'm not sure how far it is to walk into the centre as we took a taxi - approx £4 so not bad.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cymraes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We had a very good experience staying at this Hotel, under slightly unusual circumstances. We intended to stay for just one night for a weekend away to Manchester, however were struck ill during our stay and ended up spending an extra night.

The Hotel staff were extremely accommodating and the room facilities were excellent. Highlights were:
- The Mac/Media System - efficient use of technology (all channels including sky sports)
- complimentary DVD hire
- The Bathroom, lovely shower/bathroom with "White Company products"
- Very quiet, especially given its location
- Location - Walking distance to shops and next to Manchester Piccadilly station

The best part about the hotel though was how attentive, accommodating and friendly the staff were. It was beyond expectations.

We would stay again any time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turtle8403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,580 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 120 in Manchester
4,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £75 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing