We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT worth the wait”
Review of Sackville Lounge - CLOSED

Sackville Lounge
Cuisines: British, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NOT worth the wait”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Initially I was hopeful as I entered the sophisticated looking bar just a stones throw from the tacky village.
Greeted warmly by the the girl behind the bar she made us feel welcome as she chatted to us and made our drinks she then lead down to the least atmospheric restaurant in the world there's cosy then there's dark and dingy kind of reminded me of a chapel of rest!
the young man who took our order was very friendly and polite asking how we would like our steaks cooked and if we would like any anything else. We was waiting for around half hour for our steaks which was cooked wrong and abit shy on the extras, my friends have dined here before and said how excellent the steaks were and home made onion rings this however wasn't the case this evening and I was disappointed having came here on recommendation.

Helpful?
2 Thank Foodiemaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    31
    15
    7
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“excellent value”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Had a voucher for steak meal and cocktail. Really enjoyed it, great value, staff were friendly too. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vhill58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Could've been quicker”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Went as 2 couples on a saturday night and had to re-arrange from 6.30 to 5pm as they had a function on but we didn't mind, cocktails were very nice & well presented, bar staff were pleasant. Opted for chicken gougons starter were the best, then had to wait too long for our main but it was worth the wait as the steaks were gorgeous. Overall quite happy and will call again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottyG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday carvery”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Went here yesterday 10/08/2014 and had the Sunday two course carvery. Went on a KGBDeals voucher. Both of us ate two courses with a glass of wine each. The starter of duck and liver pate was delicious and my partners chicken goujons were very nice. The carvery itself was extremely tasty and plenty of it with a choice of beef, turkey and ham and all the trimmings. We will definitely visit again. Surroundings were perfectly acceptable and Mark the waiter could not have been nicer. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hughklogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you like bad food and smells then try here”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you fancy roughing it up then try here, brave the poorly signed trip to the toilets whist enjoying the smell of stale urine as you try to find it through the 4 back doors to get there. This would be the nicest thing in here shockingly, the beer is flat and to your horror you can see into the kitchen from the street, it's filthy! The Sunday roasts are just lying on the side in cling film (not in a fridge) PROBABLY ONE OF THE MANY REASONS MANCHESTER CITY COUNCIL HAVE GIVEN IT 1 OUT OF 5 FOR FOOD HYGENE!!! If you fancy getting a week off work then this is probably your best bet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sackville Lounge also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing