We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Jurys Inn Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$169
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (6,335)
Filter reviews
6,335 results
Traveller rating
2,469
2,072
1,037
465
292
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,469
2,072
1,037
465
292
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthermal suitepiccadilly stationcar parklovely hotelcity centremini barlovely roomexecutive roomreception staffstayed here for one nightcomfy bedsaturday nightbathapolloslippersconcert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,765 - 5,770 of 6,335 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Stayed one night for Take That Concert. Yes we know Manchester was very busy, BUT when we first arrived at the hotel at 20min to 1 we were turned away and told to come back at 2pm. So we did but on return at 2pm we were in a queue outside in the rain and it took us 1hr to reach the reception desk. I can not believe that all the rooms were not ready until 2pm could they not have staggered the check in's which would have made more sence. Anyway when we got to our room which was lovely we had to rush as the hotel notice board in the reception stated that the concert was starting an hour early that evening. We rushed to find food and walked to the stadium only to find that the hotel had got the times wrong !!!!
On our return to the hotel after a 45 min walk we ordered a drink from the bar and a bacon roll the roll cost £5.50 rip off....
We were soon in bed and slept well. However the next morning more queue's outside the breakfast room another half hour wait to get a table then no clean glasses, find your own cutelry and hope to get some coffee.
This hotel surely must know how to operate at busy times but if not should get their act together before letting out so many rooms that they can't cope.
Has put us off trying other Macdonald Hotels ....

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

large, quiet room, loads of hot water - fine!
but breakfast - £17.50? we weren't that hungry...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imnotretiredme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

A really lovely hotel and about 5 minutes to walk in to the centre of Manchester.
Reception, room, breakfast all excellent.
One drawback.....The hotels car parking facility was a locked compound but the £12.00 overnight stay was expensive.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are really large and have everything you need in them.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macdonald_FOH_Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Dear TravelmanCastleford

Thank you for the positive comments I am pleased you enjoyed our executive rooms.

Kind Regards

Ewan Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Our party of two attended the Macdonald Spa as a day package via Travelzoo and were very happy with our wonderfully relaxing day. After initially struggling to find the secure (gated) carpark on Berry St., at the rear of the hotel (due to Manchester's one-way system), the rest of the day was an absolute pleasure. Obtain an exit code from staff when you leave the spa and parking is then free. The spa entrance is separate to the hotel reception with an intercom system and swipe cards are issued once inside. After being issued with your robes and ginormous flipflops (we took our own) you need £1 coin for the lockers. Changing room was compact with only 2 toilets & 2 showers & 2 hairdryers at the mirrors (did have straighteners though). We had to wait a short while for a free locker, but staff did offer to put our items in a secure room if there wasn't one left.The gym is small but has all the usual cardio & weights, ab-roller, gym balls etc. The thermal suite (it does not have a pool) is small but does have steam room, infra-red sauna, hot sauna & a cold room with ice fountain. The walk-in shower has massage jets, aroma setting, drench with relaxing lights & cold for the brave! The best feature was the heated bed section - tiled beds in a curved design in a gloriously confortable warm heat - awesome! There are only 2 though. Back upstairs for lunch of veggie sweet chilli noodles and fresh juices - yum. There is also a chill-out room next to the dining area which is darkened with comfortable beds & snuggly blankets plus some other types of seating with lamps for reading and a selection of complimentary unlimited teas/water. The staff were super-friendly and the treatments were sheer bliss - gorgeous Decleor oils/balm for body massage and facial. We had a lovely day - a big thank you Macdonald from the Shriane family!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShrianeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macdonald_FOH_Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Dear ShrianeFamily

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your Spa day at the Macdonald Manchester Hotel. The facilities we have are of a very high standard and I am glad you found the staff to be welcoming and friendly.

Kind Regards

Ewan Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

What a great place to stay. We were in Manchester fro the Xmas markets and had a great time. Breakfasts were good and rooms were comfortable. Would recommend it to anyone going to Manchester.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andymacf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macdonald_FOH_Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Dear Andymacf

Thank you for the comments, I hope to welcome you back for the Christmas markets 2011.

Kind Regards

Ewan Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews