We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #49 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Hoghton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We booked the MacDonald for Monday 4th June, we had stayed there before and I was able to get a good price, £63 instead of the rack rate of £185. We arrived early and were able to check straight in as they weren't busy. The room was nice, only comments are that the bed valence had a few suspect stains, and there was no soap in the bathroom, which I thought was a bit strange, apart from that a comfortable stay. The bathrooms are probably the best aspect of the room, with a separate and bath. We were at the front of the hotel, which is directly above the road and was a little noisy. If you are looking for a quiet night I would ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel, it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,328
    1,938
    961
    419
    255
See reviews for
596
2,550
244
1,381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here twice this year and both times I have been really impressed. The hotel is in a great location (just next to Picadilly station) and has a secure car park. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the breakfast is amazing - so much choice! The rooms are really spacious, modern and the beds are so comfortable. Loved the panoramic view. The bathroom was impressive with a large shower and a really big mirror which was ideal for when we were getting ready. There were also GHDs in our room which was nice! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Manchester.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llxpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Good location close to the main railway station and within walking distance from city center and many attractions. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are large and comfortable. A solid breakfast can be ordered with the room. Good quality.
A few oddities nonetheless lessen the quality of the stay. First, the lobby is very small and gets cramped around check in and check out time. The lifts are situated behind a pair of double doors, in another cramped hall way. While the bathrooms are large and includes both a bathtub and a shower, it comes with soap only. A body lotion of some sort would have been nice at a hotel aspiring to be a “spa” hotel. The gym is also reasonably well equipped, with TV’s on the cardiovascular machines. But the TV’s did not function properly and were mostly only annoying. Small things that should easily have been checked and fixed at a hotel with this type of ambitions.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gruerlokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield united.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This hotel is located smack next door to piccadilly staition (not the best area in city centre but o.k) ten minutes walk to main shops,
Ideal to visit northern quater and canal street. (short walk)
Hotel staff freindly and polite,great breakfast,black pudding to die for.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: choose a high floor to reduce noise from train staition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haguey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed for one night. Pleasant reception staff. Very impressed with classic room, was expecting something not as nice for £100. Problem with iPod dock not working was fixed within 5 mins by a very pleasant employee. Thermal suite was great... would have liked a jacuzzi, but with the size of the bath in my room it didn't really matter! Very clean bathroom, very big also. Surprised at size of room and windows, lots of natural light which I thought was great.

2 minute walk from train station (if you find the correct exit! ) Very accessible for taxis etc.

Hotels.com came up cheapest for my date of stay.
Couldn't recommend more highly for price

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a few days while in town for a conference, the hotel room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was stylish and clean. Hotel staff were friendly. The spa is worth a. visit, I had a very relaxing facial. Breakfast was delicious. All together a very good stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveholidays88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The location - right next to Manchester Piccadilly train station - couldn't be better. Although my room faced the station, there was no train noise during the night. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are exceptional. I'd also commend the staff in the downstairs bar /Scots grill who were very happy to give customers directions and suggestions for their stay in town.

The food is rather pricey for what it is, though it was well cooked. I had battered fish and chips at £14.95 which was fine. My pint of lager was an extra £4.70. How that compares with other Manchester venues I can't say, but it would be top end of the scale at home.

The Bose ipod dock in the room was very good, and the iron and ironing board were functional and well stowed in the wardrobe. Two particular pluses - each room has its own thermostat, and the lighting is good enough to read anywhere in the room, a definite contrast with some places I've stayed lately.

Breakfast was fine, but the shape of the room makes it difficult to move around and make your choice when it is busy.

On the downside, the lifts are really slow to come, and the toilets are not well signposted in the public areas. I couldn't find one on the ground floor. The reception staff are very variable - mine (Juan Carlos) was very friendly, but the girl alongside him was quite brusque. There also seem to be a lot of people behind the counter doing nothing despite a sizeable queue. If this is because they don't have many computers that's understandable, but they could at least acknowledge the fact that you're there.

The conference staff were efficient and eager to help and the catering was excellent.

Overall I'd stay here again, but perhaps ask for a room low enough to take the stairs if I wanted.

Room Tip: I've stayed front and back. Neither has a wonderful view, but equally neither suffers from traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrinklyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,999 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,804 reviews
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#6 of 118 in Manchester
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing