We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with very nice staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #45 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with very nice staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed here recently with my sister. It was a last minute booking so we only really briefly used the room and room service but it was lovely food and a really nice, clean and spacious room. There was parking at the back of the hotel which was very handy and it's only a short walk into the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariewarrington007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Kay-Marie,

Many thanks for your kind words and review it is appreciated. So pleased that the team looked after you and that you really enjoyed Manchester and your time with us.

I can see by your other reviews that you get about quite a bit so all the very best on your travels and it goes without saying that we'd be delighted to see you back here soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,172
    1,780
    878
    362
    220
See reviews for
505
2,404
221
1,218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

It was for a business meeting, the hotel location was very convenient, 2 minutes walk from Manchester Piccadilly train station and 5 minutes walk to the other hotel where the meeting was held.rooms are of good size,quite and comfortable. very clean and staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Olton,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed in a city view room for a business trip to Manchester. The room was nicely appointed and very large with huge windows with a nice view over the area. Also, there was both a shower and a tub in the bathroom, - much appreciated. Internet access is included as long as you bring a network cable. The room could have been cleaner, but it was not a big problem. The breakfast area was a bit small for the size of the hotel, as we had to queue up for a table every day. The breakfast selection was not large, but you could eat a warm English breakfast each day. The hotel is in walking distance from both the city centre and the University area, and very near the Piccadilly station. The area surrounding the hotel is, however, not very nice. As a woman I would regrettably not feel safe walking to the hotel alone after dark. But all in all, a very nice hotel for business travellers.

Room Tip: I recommend the city view rooms. Rooms are quieter on higher floors, but traffic noise was not a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for your feedback. I will speak with our housekeeping team to ensure we deliver immaculate bedrooms as that is what we are renowned for.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I don´t normally write reviews but felt I had to on this occasion. Wow! what an fantastic hotel, professional, friendly staff throughout and nothing was too much trouble for them. From the moment I checked in, me and my girlfriend were so well looked after. Drinks in the bar were great and the free nibbles they give could have kept us there all night... almost did!
Dinner int he restaurant was great and seriously some of the best steaks we´ve ever had. My girlfriend had a spa treatment and although it was difficult to get a slot as they were so busy she came back glowing and couldn´t stop talking about how good it was. Thank you to everyone at the Macdonald Manchester for making our stay so memorable, we´ll definitely be back soon

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfan186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Travelfan,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us which I'm really pleased about as it is an exception for you. It sounds like all of our depts did a great job in delivering for you and that generally you enjoyed a memorable stay.

Kind regards and of course we look forward to your return.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Just a 2 min walk from Piccadilly which was handy as for there late. Short walk into town too for dinner and the hotel bar is very good - easy atmosphere, well stocked.
Room was great, broken shower but other than that it was better than most exec hotel rooms.
Breakfast was slow and a bit unfriendly but got better once I complained about slow service.
Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWolfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Mr Wolfy,

I've sent a spearate email to confirm the details of your stay so that we can repair the shower (i would say its almost certainly repaired by now however) and also understand why our breakfast service was slow as we want every guests experience to be excellent. Apologies for encountering both shortfalls. However so pleased that they didn't marr your stay too much.

Many thanks and as usual we appreciate your feedback so that we can ever improve.

Thanks for your continued loyaly and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

My partner and I have stayed here three times in the past two years and will be returning at the end of may next month. Fantastic hotel, two minute walk from Piccadilly station and ten minutes from the city centre. My favourite hotel in Manchester lovely big rooms and fantastic views

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Rebecca,

Short but sweet, thank you! Thanks also for your continued loyalty to our hotel and of course we look forward to your return.

See you soon.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Having booked The Macdonald manchester Hotel & Spa because it was the nearest to the Apollo theare in Manchester we were pleasantly surprised to find this first class city hotel. The rooms were massive and very clean, the bathroom comprised of a double shower and a bath. We both slept extremely well considering this hotel is on a busy main road. The breakfast, in our opinion, was first class and the staff very friendly and helpful. I would definately recommend this to friends.

Room Tip: This hotel is ideal for the Apollo theatre. It is a ten minute walk on a well lite main road or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzykew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Suzy,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for your very kind comments. As the nearest hotel to The Apollo we do tend to get our fair share of guests staying here bound for all that is going on there. Really pleased that we added to a great night out for you and thank you for highlighting that you aim to be back here soon and that you thought our breakfast was super; about which I concur and would recommend to anyone staying in the City.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#33 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#9 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing