We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Nice Hotel, Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #45 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Newcastle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Hotel, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We arrived arrived at 12 noon in Manchester on the Friday and as check in was from 3, we were planning on leaving our cases in the hotel and go shopping, our room was ready and they allowed us to check in early. We had a problem connecting my laptop to the free broadband so staff give us complementary WIFI for the duration of our stay and also allowed us to checkout on hour late on the Monday.

Our room was on the 7th floor and was a city view room, although a view of the main road, train tracks and not the the city view we were expecting but to be honest we really were not bothered, Room was clean and serviced daily. Bathroom was massive and clean, and the power shower was best I have had in a long time. Location is excellent behind Piccadilly Station, 5 minute walks from canal street and 10 minute walk to main shops in city centre.

We didn't have breakfast as £15 if you pre book and £20 if you pay on the day was a little over priced so we just went to get breakfast in town. Also the minibar is very expensive so when you book a room with a mini bar, bare this in mind.

Overall excellent hotel, and thank you for the free wifi when the broadband would not work.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay_C85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Jay,

Thanks so much for your kind words and review and so pleased that you've highlighted that where you saw the opportunity for us to improve on our delivery we did so to your satisfaction.

Kind regards and we look forward to your return sometime soon. PS Breakfast in our hotel is considered to be the best offering in the city so don't miss out next time.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,188
    1,791
    882
    368
    225
See reviews for
512
2,421
222
1,228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed here on 29th of June hotel is really nice and clean, but the rooms at night where very hot the air conditioning was not working when I complained to the staff at reception they didn't seem one bit interested.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 32kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Kev,

First of all thank you for taking the time to review us it is appreciated.

Your comments are a big concern however both that there was a problem with your in room air conditioning but more importantly with the reaction of our team. I have sent a message to you asking for further details so that I can follow matters up as I'm disappointed because we have such a great reputation for customer service and resolving issues if they occur.

I look forward to hearing from you in the near future and the opportunity to regain your trust in us.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel was lovely, very helpful staff and the room was amazing. Just as described with beautiful panoramic views, over sized bath tub, ghd straighteners, large tele, massive bed and decorated really well. The only let down to our stay, which was really rather important was that at 10:45am (check out is 11) a cleaner unlocked our door and let herself in. At this point my partner and I were getting dressed and so the cleaner so us both almost completely naked. Either there system on when cleaners can and can't go into rooms should be changed or the cleaners should at least knock.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaJayneSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Emma Jayne,

First of all thank you for taking the time to review us and for where we got it right for you I really appreciate you highlighting this to future guests.

More importantly I agree completely with your comments that if we make a promise that checkout is 11am then we should make sure the team adhere to this and one of the easiest ways is for the staff member to knock politely on a door to make sure the room is vacant. As you'll see this is not normally an issue to us so I will investigate further and as you will see I have asked for your room and stay details so I can follow the matter up.

Emma Jayne as you know we have a great hotel with a team that only wants to do their very so please be assured that we will learn and improve going forward please don't allow this to put you off a future stay with us and of course feel free to make contact with me direct so I can help organise your next visit as I will aim for it to be faultless.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely weekend stay here recently. We were looking for somewhere to explore the city so location was important and also a sense of luxury. Macdonald, London Rd surpassed our expectations on both fronts. Having driven past many times we still didn't realise how quick the walk would be from the station, and we had wrongly presumed that there might be a lot of traffic noise, however from our city view room on the 6th floor we heard no traffic, trains or any other guests for that matter once we were tucked up in our city centre retreat!
Staff were all very friendly and having emailed ahead our requests they were met with no difficulty.
We had booked our room on the Friday treat offer; £99 for dinner, bed and breakfast and then chose to upgrade. We had a fantastic room with lovely views, a Bose iPod dock, very comfy kingsize bed and a a gorgeous bathroom with an oversized shower and separate bath. I would recommend these rooms as they were very comfortable.
Food in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast was divine and it wasn't too busy either.
A lovely stay, and we shall be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weebleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Weebleme,

What a lovely review Thank you! Great to read that from the minute you made your booking all the way through your stay our great team did all that they could to exceed your expectations.

We have a significant advantages in terms of quiet rooms in that all of our windows are triple glazed so noise should never be an issue and we have probably the best rooms in the city to prepare and show off.

Kind regards and it goes without saying that we look forward to your return.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Great location just down from the back of Piccadilly so short walk to city centre shops, restaurants etc. rooms are nice - have stayed in a king room here and it had a huge bathroom. Staff are friendly - especially the ones serving breakfast which has a great selection. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear M T,

Many thanks for your kind words and review about this magnificent hotel and our great team. I shall pass your feedback onto the staff especially our breakfast department who came in for special praise I see.

It goes without saying that we look forward to your return sometime soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
839 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed here for a treat while we saw a concert, the staff at check in were friendly and informative. The parking charges were expensive but still quite reasonable for overnight in a central location. The room was very nice, lovely size and we had a great view. There was a lovely big bed and a great big shower too. We'd got a really great deal as well so overall a recommended stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear cb2,

Thanks so much for your kind review and I'm so pleased that we helped to deliver a great time for you whilst in Manchester at a Concert.

It goes without saying that we'd be delighted to see you back here soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed for one night due to the Robbie Williams concert. Booked early and got a superior double room for £138. I found the room large and immaculately clean, definitely worth the money. Rooms had a safe, iron and ironing board, and a good added bonus was the Bose ipod dock. I have stayed in a number of hotels in Manchester and I would rate this in the top 2. Overall great value and location. Staff were friendly and approachable. I will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyElinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Hayley,

Thanks so much for your kind review and its great to see that you enjoyed yourself at the concernt and got a great rate by booking early.

Our challenge next time is to ensure that we become your number one choice whilst staying in Manchester going forward.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#33 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing