We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in ideal location neat train station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #47 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Falkirk
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in ideal location neat train station”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. It is within walking distance of the train station (with only weekend luggage) and also centre of town.
Room was nice and bathroom lovely with bath and huge shower.
We had spa treatments which were very good and spa was okay. Been in better but nothing to complain about either.
Breakfast was fine, yet again not as good as other Macdonald hotels we have stayed in but nothing to complain about.
All in all I would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear aebruce,

Thanks so much for your kind review it is appreciated and spurs the team onto delivering ever greater performances.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,259
    1,870
    923
    396
    242
See reviews for
538
2,496
234
1,310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Room was large airy and clean. Bathroom was the largest I've seen anywhere and clean! The rooms were also very well insulated. No noise from other rooms or the corridors. Slept like a baby!
Food was fantastic.
All the staff were friendly and polite, nothing was too much trouble.
An excellent modern hotel, very close to Manchester Piccadilly station and tram stop. 10 minutes walk from the Village and Canal St areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Jan,

What a lovely review thank you! Short but very sweet. Can't wait to see you back here soon.

All the very best and thank you once again.


Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here on 22nd June for 1 night for the Robbie concert. We arrived to check in to our Panoramic Room as per email for 2pm checkin, only to be told the email confirmation was wrong and it was actually a 3 pm checkin. Having travelled for a couple of hours we were less than impressed, especially for the price we had paid. We had to wait in the bar area and were told we would be top of the list for checkin and someone would come and get us, no such luck and I had to try several times to see if room was ready. We eventually got to reception to try again to be told the room still wasn't ready but they would call, the call was to the effect that the room had been ready for ages but no one had passed it on. So we paid a lot of money (our choice) for a room to checkin early, to be not allowed to find that we could have anyway. We were less than impressed by our first experience of Macdonald hotels. The staff were fine bar for the receptionist that checked us in, she just looked past us all the time as though watching the traffic going by. The spa was good, the room was excellent and what we paid for, breakfast was good and majority of staff were fine. The main issue was we had confirmation of a nearly checkin, we travelled some distance to get the in time to make use of the room and facilities for one night as per confirmation to find that it wasn't worth the ink I printed it with and absolutely no movement or help from staff. We argued our case re checkin time to be dismissed, we said we would complain and we basically told tough.

We have sent a letter of complaint the day after we got home and to date have received no response, very disappointing.

Although the hotel room was absolutely fine, the service we received was less than satisfactory, the promise of early checkin wouldn't be acknowledged, I got a better service from the IBIS in Manchester for a quarter of the price, surely this can't be correct.

I'm still awaiting a response from customer services, but as it's nearly a month ago I won't hold my breath.

I have given this a 3 purely because roof the room......

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Buckycumbria,

All in all based on your review I can see that the check-in time and the delay on getting to your room was your major disappointment and I'm genuinely sorry about that. To be fair I receive all letters from guests and I don't have one expressing your concerns so I will look into why.

Our procedure for check-in is very simple in that although we will begin checking in from 3pm we will always allow guests to get their rooms early if they are available. Sometimes this can frustrate guests when they see other guests arriving later or at 3pm receiving their room first but that is simply because of the room type booked and whether that has come back on line before yours. Please be assured that it serves us no purpose at all to have guests waiting for rooms and like the rest of the city during Robbie Williams Concert week we operated on 100% occupancy therefore every room was occupied and so had to be cleaned and made ready prior to the next evening.

As mentioned I will look into why I have no record of your concern and I hope that this reply has answered your questions whilst allowing me to say thank you for your kind feedback which will allow the team to improve.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, Uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay over here but booked the harmony spa package for myself and my mum. We used the thermal suite but found very little steam in the steam room and the ice room was out of service but the two saunas and experience shower were available to use and we enjoyed these. We went on Sunday morning and it was relatively quiet so perfect to relax.
We arrived at 10.30 and ad treatments booked at 11.30 so only got about 45 minutes use of the thermal suite, which was enough for the two rooms we used but maybe not if the ice room was open or if it was busier.

The relaxation room in the spa waiting for treatments was bliss, low light, soft music and the comfiest lounge chairs. Complimentary water and herbal teas were available too.

Treatments we had were a neck, shoulder and back massage and a facial and we both felt very relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed the hour if pampering. This was followed by a bento box lunch of cous cous with chicken and tomatoes, cucumber and carrot sticks with a tszacki dip, fruit, yoghurt and mini muffins.

Overall a fab day and a reasonable price.

We parked on the NCP car park across from the hotel car park as we then headed into manchester for a spot of shopping. It was £6 for 6-24 hours

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank singlemumandson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Singlemumandson,

Many thanks for reviewing us and for your kind words. I will look into the items that you felt we could have improved upon so that we continue to offer a great spa experience for all of our guests.

That said so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed yourself and that you would return sometime soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We came up for the Great cycle, had decided to stay here instead of the Malmaison like we usually do on trips to Manchester. The prize was good, cheaper than Malmasion. The room size was nice loved the massive bed great for a the tall couple that we are, the view from the bedroom was not great, ours looked out on the car park but was fine for us as we had left our bikes locked up in there so could keep an eye on them. The facilities were up to date such as the Ipod dock an the heated mirror so it didn't all get steamed up was great. The issues we had with the room was the fact the air- con was not working and we couldn't even open the window to cool down and there was a part of the carpet where you could clearly see the join between two pieces being used. This piece of carpet wasn't even hidden in was right next to the bed were you would see it. We didn't eat dinner here so cant comment but we did have breakfast the next day. The hotel charges £19.99 for the breakfast, I recently stayed in a hotel where it was included and got so many more choices of hot breakfasts than was offered here. The english breakfast was the only hot breakfasts included in the £19.99 if you wanted the salmon and eggs option they had the check to ask you for extra money! I believe there was only 2 or 3 options like that so at most you have 4 options for hot breakfast. The rest of the breakfast supplied such as cereal etc was fine nothing out of the ordinary and had better. Didn't find the staff of the hotel that friendly,i wouldn't mid if the hotel was busy but whenever i was being dealt with i was the only person at the desk. May stay again if visit Manchester but only due to its easy location and would defiantly eat breakfast else where.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for where you felt we got matters right I can only tell you how pleased I am that we delivered that level of consistency we are always looking for. With reference to breakfast I think you may be being slightly unfair as from the price you have quoted you'd have already had the option to book breakfast as part of your package at less rate based on the concept that if we know in advance your plans we can organise the requirement very easily.

If you book room only and decide to take breakfast thereafter then there is a charge as with every hotel but I can assure you that we deliver what is considered to be the best breakfast in a hotel with a food sourcing and provenance back up that is second to none; some tell you they do it but we deliver it as a promise and I would encourage you to read through our other reviews which highlight better than me this situation.

That said thank you once again for taking the time to review us and I encourage you upon your return to book breakfast when you make your reservation.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

2 mins walk from back of Piccadilly entrance for short stay car park and taxi's! straight over road and under bridge and its on left! Took a while to check-in but a lovely clean, modern hotel. We had city view room, big windows, very good air conditioning and heating, bed very comfy! in room bar very pricey £4.50 for bottle of Peroni. Shower was big enough for 2 ;) easy quick check-out.

Room Tip: Choose city view (even numbered rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiski27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Kiski,

Thank you for taking the time to review us it is appreciated and so pleased that you found us easily and that you enjoyed your time in Manchester.

It goes without saying that we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Despite being fairly particular I couldn't find fault, and will return only to here until I do. The bar is spacious and has comfortable seating. They serve Lagavulin. I look forwards to enjoying one or two there soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainPOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Captain,

Many thanks for your kind words and review and we too would be delighted to see you back here soon.

Kind regards and thank you once again

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.9 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 116 in Manchester
4,259 reviews
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing