We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #49 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a really comfortable hotel. It has a nice restaurant and bar. It offers a wide-ranging room service menu. It is very near the main railway station and in walking distance of the shopping centre. Although I didn't have time, it has a a spa centre. It is worth booking for the restaurant. Breakfast is first class.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judeteachwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Jude,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and for all your kind words. I agree we are ideally located for all things 'Cottonopolis' and deliver probably the best breakfast service in Manchester.

It goes without saying that we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,604 - 4,610 of 6,156 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

I recently stayed at the MacDonald on a work trip with two of my colleagues. The staff where very helpful along with General Manager Paul Bayliss who assisted us with sorting out a few transpiration issues which was much appreciated. The room was delightful a great stay for a work trip I would highly recommend a stay at the MacDonald.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim8881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Jim,

Many thanks for your kind feedback about your stay with us and we look forward to your return sometime soon. Always happy to help.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We went for one night, the staff greeting us were very friendly, our room was stunning and the spa/steam room were all working and perfect for a relaxing night away. The breakfast the next day was sensational even though we got there last minute, they also serve it until 11am which is perfect for a sleeper like me! Can't fault it, would highly recommend

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K3nnykenken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Ken,

Thanks so much for your kind review it is appreciated and by the looks of it we really added to your experience of Manchester.

Please let me know when you are planning to return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

stayed at this lovely hotel for two days as a surprise of my husband for my 50th birthday the hotel was lovely and clean and the staff very friendly especially neil on reception who was lovely and booked taxis for my husband as each evening was a surprise we didnt have the breakfast as we thought it was over priced at 19 perperson would deffo stay again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Ally,

Thanks so much for your kind words and I will pass onto Neil your compliments as to the efforts he made in ensuring your very special occasion was memorable and went without a hitch.

With breakfast there are several options including our Continental Breakfast Hamper which always receives great feedback.

Many thanks once again and please let me know personally when next you are planning to stay with us so we can make that occasion just as exquisite.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We decided to stay here as it was close to the train station, and easy to walk to. We stayed for one night and booked the panoramic view room. We checked in no problem, the staff were friendly and very good. The reception area was clean and very light and the bar area was lovely, so first impression great. We got in to our room and wow the view was fab of the city and a huge room very spacious, and a big bathroom.
My main gripe within the room that there wasn't a bottle of water provided, there was tea and coffee and one packet of shortbread biscuits but felt the presentation was poor, and it was all tucked away by the bathroom door.
Welcome pack was ok nothing special.
The bed was really comfortable to sleep in had a great night sleep.

However we found a huge difference in the evening staff and breakfast staff. The evening staff who were on the bar weren't very chatty didn't seem to be bothered about customer service and didn't listen. As I asked for a drink with a little bit of ice, I had a full glass of ice. Customer service was shocking and not what I expected.
Moving on to the morning staff in the breakfast room, they were fantastic helpful, up bead and really friendly. But the breakfast was a let down, well it was 09.45am when we went down. The coffee toast fruit and and the croissants nice selection and enough choice.
We decided on a cooked breakfast, asked for a poached egg rather than a fried egg, they young guy who served as was really annoyed that was asked him did it but dragged his feet and didn't seem to care. Don't these big chains teach people how to interact with the public, a bit of personality and a smile wouldn't go a miss. He didn't even ask how many I wanted. Then the breakfast its self awful dry bacon, poached egg wasn't great dry black pudding!!

Overall our stay was pleasant enough lovely room great sleep, but as I mentioned staff and customer service not great. So if you want great customer service and a bit of personality don't bother, but if its just a good night sleep your after then spot on!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Sian,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and I can see lots of opportunity for our team to deliver a great experience based on your feedback.

Please be assured that we will use what you have told us so that we get back to our usual standards.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel is very convenient for Manchester Piccadilly station and the room was lovely. Unfortunately when you start to dig a bit deeper it gets a bit disappointing. We paid top price for our room but when we visited the spa it was really busy and the girl on reception ushered us about like cattle. We felt more stressed when we came out than when we went in. After a night at the theatre we got back at 10.30pm and went to the bar for a cappuccino and brandy but they turn the coffee machine off at 10.00pm. Nobody cared a jot. We thought about walking over to the railway station and buying a coffee there. Very poor customer service. We like to feel like valued customers when we stay in hotels not like an inconvenience.

Room Tip: Look for a bargain because it's not worth paying full price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Jane,

I agree completely if we managed to disappoint you then we should do all that we can to explain why or improve or do both.

With the caveat that our Spa can get very busy at peaks times however we should always look to explain this scenario without diluting too much the expectations of our guests and in general our spa team achieve this. With the coffee machine going off at 10pm that isn't how we should be delivering our coffee servcie at night and it is straightforword for me to address the situation.

With both matters I'd be delighted if you made contact so I can look into these items some more. I have sent a message separately with a few questions so I can investigate and go back to you with little delay.

Thank you once again for your feedback it helps us to improve on what we do as we want to be exactly what you expected of us when booking.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and from check in to check out was amazing. Superb food/breakfast every time, all staff so very helpful and friendly at all times. Room very spacious and clean, bathroom lovely too. We were here to do Christmas shopping and to enjoy the Christmas market and this location was ideal for us. We will be coming here again next year but hopefully for a bit longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Becky,

So pleased that we added to your stay in Manchester and that you made the most of The Xmas Markets.

Thanks also for having us in mind for next year and of course I'd be delighted personally to help with your arrangements nearer to the date of that stay.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
1.1 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#29 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £71 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing