We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #50 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed in a panoramic view room which was huge. Loads of space, very clean and good views of Manchester!! The service was top class and we we're treated well during the whole stay! To add, the buffet breakfast was great and I would definitely recommend!! We will be returning!

Room Tip: Upgrade your room if possible, it's worth it!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Den J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Den,

Thanks so much for your kind review and so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that our great team delivered a great experience.

It goes without saying that we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,023)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,458 - 4,464 of 6,023 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed there in September, Rooms are very clean and nice Specially double bedrooms, Staff are very helpful and their service is 5 star. Wide variety of meals served at their restaurant and taste of meals is second to none. would recommend it to anyone who want enjoy excellent hoteling experience.
Fayyaz Ahmad

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fayyaz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Fayyaz,

What a lovely review and thanks so much for writing about us. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed all of what we do and felt that our great team delivered a faultless stay for you.

It goes without saying that we'd be delighted to see you back here very soon.

All the very best to you and your family at this special time of year.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I booked this venue after recomendations from friends. I needed a special place to celebrate a special weekend with my partner. Well I can honeslty say that every little deatil of our stay was met, and more.

Not commented on pool as didnt use it.

Thank you, and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for better room, a sound investment.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaygee8017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Jaygee,

Thanks so much for your kind review and I'm so pleased that we managed to exceed your expectations and helped to make your stay and special occasion extra special.

It goes without saying that we would like the opportunity to do the same in the near future.

Kind regards and all the very best for the festive period.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Hotel was second to none. Service excellent, staff really friendly and the rooms were very spacious and clean.. Great place to stay for all the amenities both for shopping and for the trains. Would definitely recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Sarah,

You have been very kind already but please feel free to recommend us to your friends as we would welcome the opportunity to look after them also.

More importantly we appreciate your continued loyalty and of course look forward to your return sometime soon. Please let me know when

Have a great Xmas and all the very best for 2014.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This hotel is incredibly central to all amenities and very close to some great nightspots. Lovely and central, great staff and great rates. Highly recommended for anyone new to Manchester and looking to explore; or to anyone that's been before and looking for somewhere luxurious.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Ian,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and I'm so pleased that you were able to enjoy all that Manchester has to offer and that we were part of that.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Excellent really enjoyed stay really nice rooms and staff excellent, food was really good, first time there would recommend it again. Views from the top floor were outstanding in the late evening !!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Martin,

First class review thank you and so pleased that you were able to try out one of our higher floor rooms. It goes without saying that we'd be delighted to see you back here soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed here few week back.

have lovely time the service was 5* and the room was nice. we eat in the restaurant and had a fabulous meal!
The staff are amazing very helpful

great for price and location

Amjad

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amjad360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Amjad,

What a lovely review thank you and so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We'd be delighted to see you back here soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#33 of 120 in Manchester
2,519 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 120 in Manchester
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#28 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#43 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £68 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing