We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #47 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Warrington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Rooms!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is very stylish and has a nice design. The panoramic rooms are a must! Most of the room is made up of windows which give you a great view of manchester. Rooms are also great massive bed, speakers in bathroom really nice. We had a few issues at the start however they were quickly resolved by the management. I wouls Definately recommend this Hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John122523345234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear John,

Many thanks for your kind review and as always although its not good to read that you had some issues it is very reassuring that the team managed to turn the items around for you so that you were able to really enjoy your time with us.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,250
    1,868
    920
    395
    241
See reviews for
536
2,494
233
1,303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The room was a hell of a walk to two old lifts which take ages to wait for. The executive rooms are much nicer than the standard rooms (upgraded bedding, bigger beds etc) hotel stingey, they had key cards to keep electricity so u couldnt charge stuff up whilst u were out, rooms were too hot, reception had control of temp so u didnt use too much energy! and wasnt effective (windows didnt open) they give u a posh coffee maker, but u have to buy coffee sachets from reception to use it?! Also, room was regularly dusty and not thoroughly cleaned (I was there 2 months) The breakfasts let the experience down, the food was constantly cold! and I the toast they give u is wafer thin and 6" x 6" and they only give u two of those, which were always cold! cooled breakfasts were a let down because they were left to go cold under heat lamps. On a positive note, staff were great, the executive rooms are nice n big and it feels plush. Id give it 6 out of 10

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinfromwigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Colin,

Thank you for your review it allows us to ever improve.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Spacious room, a bit gloomy, easy access and close to train station, not much shops and convenience shops around, friendly staff, free internet. Liked the idea of free fresh milk on demand. Small tv in the room, great in house steak restaurant

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AhmedJanahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Ahmed,

Many thanks for your kind review and of course we look forward to your return sometime soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a few occasions now, always had a really great stay. Don't be concerned about the location near a busy road, the rooms are completely silent thanks to the glazing in the windows! Cleanliness cannot be faulted, bathrooms in particular are literally sparkling! Massive bath, powerful water pressure in bath and shower. Plenty of soft white towels provided so no need to call down to get more. Bed luxurious and extremely comfortable with crisp white bedding. Slept like a log. Air con easy to control. Internet also fine, you just sign onto the "cloud" and it's fast and complimentary from there. Bar and lounge area comfortable to relax with friends and colleagues and enjoy a relaxing drink after work. Staff there are friendly and efficient.

Pity I've not sampled the breakfast yet, it sounds really superb, but I'm usually in a rush, leaving too early, or unable to get out of the massive bed in time...

The only other negative small point was on one occasion, when returning to the hotel after going out to dinner, I was stopped abruptly by the elevators by a rather officious individual questioning if I was staying at the hotel. I think this was because of a nearby concert as there were large groups of people milling around who had apparently attended it, and while it is most commendable that they protect the security of the hotel in this way, the overly direct approach was a little excessive. Some people may have found this offensive as it was akin to entering a bar or nightclub, not a hotel of this standard! I'm extremely laid back, and it didn't in any way impair my perception of the establishment, I was casually dressed and it was correct he should question me, but perhaps in a slightly less menacing manner!

It was also good to have a proper steam iron provided, as opposed to those useless little "hotel" irons that shut off after eight seconds!

All in all excellent..! Looking forward to staying again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JJK150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Jeff,

Thanks so much for your kind words and compliments about what we do and our amentities it is graciously recieved however never assumed and you will know that we work hard on our delivery to ensure every guests stay is memorable for all the right reasons.

As with every guest interaction and kind feedback we search for something to improve upon and as in your case I will speak with our security team so that thier approach to our guests remains positive with the caveat that of course as you mentioned he was looking to ensure our guests best interests were in place.

Many thanks once again and we look forward to your return.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on Saturday 29th March in a king size executive room overlooking the city. The room itself was on the 7th floor (room 708) and very lovely; the decor was modern and cozy. The bathroom was a good size, the only problem was we could not get the sound from the TV to turn off in the bathroom! My only other gripe would be the fact that this particular room was like a sauna! We could not control the heating through the thermostate and I woke in the middle of the night hardly able to breath with the heat and there are no windows to open. Apart from this the bed was so comfy and we even had a Nespresso coffee machine which was fab. Not sure why there was only 1 bathrobe provided when it was a kingsize room and the norm would be 2 guests; it was to hot to use the robe which was disappointing as it was so lovely and soft!!! Other than this lovely room, great location 10 minute walk into the very lively city centre. Sorry one more little grip the receptionist who dealt with our check in was very robotic, spoke at us not to us, extremely fast and rushed our check in with no warmth or a smile.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 6, 7 & 8 have the better views and absolutely no noise at all; if you get room 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juls21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Juls,

Thanks so much for your kind review it is appreciated I'm just disappointed that the temperature didn't quite match your expectations. Normally a call to our Reception helps as they can advise on how to working the monitor or can overide it if neccasary.

Please let me know next time you're planning to stay so that on that occasion we can exceed your expectations.

Thank you once again

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here on Mothers Day with my daughter as we were going to the Apollo which is 5mins away. Very friendly reception staff, lovely clean spacious room with large windows and spotless bathroom. Comfy beds and good air con. Had a meal in the steakhouse restaurant downstairs which again I could not fault, friendly waiter, good food, the three of us had fish (not steak) which was really nice. Central for piccadilly station and a 10 min walk to shops. Perfect. Ordered a breakfast hamper to our room in the morning which was lovely, fruit, cereals, cheese and Bics, croissants, tea and juice beautifully presented at only £12.50. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Front room have large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MazSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Maz,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for highlighting all day we do. Really pleased that you made mention of our food offering especially our Room Service Breakfast Hamper as it is a real treat.

We're prefectly placed for all at The Apollo as you'll know so we look forward to your return sometime soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night in March 2014, and our overall review of it is average. There is limited parking at the hotel, and we were lucky to find a space, and the £20 charge is a little excessive. The reception area was nicely presented and the check-in staff were friendly and helpful. The room itself was very spacious, and tastefully decorated, however it was looking a little worn around the edges (bathroom shelf falling off, shower cubicle screen stained etc). Loved the panoramic window, although our view wasn't the best (skate park and duel carriageway), but we never asked for a room with a view so can't complain too much!

Charging an extra £30 per person on top of the room cost for use of the Spa is a little unfair too. Unless you were going to be spending a vast amount of time there. My husband and I checked in at about 4pm (after lots of shopping) and planned to go out that evening for dinner, so we would only have been able to use the Spa for an hour or two. A flat rate of £30 each seemed a bit much, therefore we didn't bother.

We paid £160 for the stay and this didn't even include breakfast (£19 each). By the time you add up the extras, it starts to get quite expensive: Room £160, Breakfast x 2 £38, Spa x 2 £60, Parking £20 = £278

It was a nice hotel, but for £278 we definitely feel we could have found better, had the £160 we paid for the room included, breakfast, parking and spa then this hotel would have been much better value for money.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you, request a room on the front of the hotel as the back rooms overlook f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Laura,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and for all of your kind feedback it really does help us to ever improve. With Car parking at a premium in Manchester we feel that we offer the best price possible facility in the knowledge that it is secure, monitored 24/7, exclusive use for our guests only and within 10 yards of the hotel; in comparison to other similar properties it is regarded as great value for money.

With Breakfast I'm sure that you are aware given the consistently excellent feedback from other guests that it is regarded as one of the very best in the Industry with zero compromise on the quality of the produce, variety of offering, service standards and range of choice that we offer each day. I have also sent you a message separately to understand your stay date and room because if there were issues with the decor then if we haven't already I would like to get our maintenance team in there as a priroity to resolve any matters.

Going forward we have lots of plans for further improving the experience of our guests and would hope that you will be back to see us soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.9 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 116 in Manchester
4,259 reviews
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing