We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #49 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Rooms”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Only stayed here for one night (for the second time) and was once again pleased. We did get a great deal that included breakfast so always one to watch for. The room we had over looked the train station but suitably noise proofed. The window went from wall to wall to did provide some great views, if can get a room on the 5th floor or above. The room itself was well equipped and spacious; king size bed, flat screen TV, iPod doc, tea and coffee and nice toiletries. The bathroom had a shower cabinet and good powerful shower with a detachable head (not fixed to the wall). Breakfast was probably overpriced if you are not getting it included in a deal but it was well prepared and hit the spot with a fair variety of options from English to continental. The hotel has a bar and shows sports.

The hotel is located on the edge of the city but there are some pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance (my favourite is Samsi Japanese). Ideally suited to walsk to the O2 for concerts and you could probably walk to Deansgate shopping from here. All in all I’d stay here again as its handy, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claricus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Claricus,

Thank you for your kind review it is appreciated and of course we look forward to your return sometime soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,328
    1,937
    961
    418
    255
See reviews for
595
2,550
244
1,380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed recently for an event. Had 2 lovely rooms on the 8th floor, spacious with great city views. Reception staff were very friendly and were a joy to deal with. Staff at breakfast were good too with1 exception. Food at breakfast was good, plenty of choice from the buffet. Service for tea and toast was slow but they were very busy. Have to agree with previous comments re the lifts, it's crazy how long we had to wait for them. The only truly negative issue was the filthy towel in the bathroom. I really don't expect to find a large, thick, black substance from a previous guest on a 'clean' towel when I stay in a hotel of this standard. The receptionist dealt with the matter well but that's not really the point.

Room Tip: Better views from the higher rooms at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010curlygirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear CurlyGirly,

Many thanks for your kind review and you are right in that if what we have provided isn't absolutely immaculate upon arrival and you're disappointed then we've failed although I was pleased that our Reception team resolved the matter immediately.

Please if you would be kind enough can you reply to my message asking for a little further detail on your room and stay so I can ensure it doesn't happen again.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, room was without fault. Confortable, good view looking at the train station.

Facilities are good overall BUT the elevators were a disgrace for a hotel of this standard. Too slow, too long to wait and all operating so no sign of temporary maintenance that would excuse such a short coming. At least something to talk about and laugh with other guests.

Another let down was the breakfast... I stayed there for 8 days during easter. Expresso machine was broken for full 8 days... You think it would be fixed rapidly... Then I asked for hot chocolate and was told this would be extra... Not acceptable for a £150+ a night..

It wouldnt take much to make this place a great hotel and takes so little to make me not want to stay there again.
Going twice a year in Manchester for a week every time, will stay somewhere else next time.

I still want to end on a positive note, the shortbread cookies at reception are lovely and ended up being a good alternative to a mediocre breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank antoine-shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Antione,

Many thanks for your kind review it is appreciated and I can see by your other reviews that you have high standards that we also aspire to and as with all feedback we will use yours to achieve this.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a terrible experience in this hotel in summer 2012 (reviewed at the time on Tripadvisor). We were offered two free nights at a partner hotel in Scotland to compensate for our miserable time in this hotel (cleaning staff barging in in early morning over several days and phoning our room at 8am to wake us up so that they could clean, etc.). We are now going to Scotland and thought we would avail of this compensation for our ruined holiday in Manchester. We wrote to the manager who pointed out that the goodwill gesture was no longer valid. It's a pity that they didn't honour their end of the contract when they took our money in Manchester and provide the quiet and relaxing room that they had promised. Seems like they only pay attention to details when it suits them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank irenkagermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind note although it is most unusual to receive a review from a guest who hasn't stayed with us although I can understand your concern if the level of service was so poor at the time.

Politely as you will be aware the gesture of goodwill offered in 2012 provided a significant opportunity for you to take a further stay within a very reasonable timeframe from a guests perspective which from the Managers view at the time would have been seen as reasonable as it would have had to have included your agreement.

I'm just disappointed that you were unable to do so.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Absolute everything about this place is wonderful! originally booked 1 night stay and seen the room and had to pay for another night, really nice staff! got a card posted though our door for our annerversary, brilliant service and such a relaxed place to be + also recommend anyone to stay here and use there spa facilities worth every penny!!!

Room Tip: Very quite nice views only paid for a standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Danny,

Thanks so much for your kind review it is appreciated and says succinctly exactly what our great team strive daily to deliver for each and every guest.

All the very best and we look forward to your return sometime soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Short walk from Manchester Piccadilly. The missing letters on the front signage gave a poor impression. Check in staff were pleasant. Large room and given its position adjacent to a busy road, it was surprisingly quiet. Comfortable bed. Coffee machine, tea pot and a full size hairdryer were welcome touches. However, glass surfaces were dusty and a marked towel ( partial shoe print) in the bathroom detracted- one would expect better in a MacDonald hotel. The bar prices were more expensive than a 5* Manchester hotel and there were insufficient bar staff for the volume of people which meant waiting. We booked late and therefore the price was good value....would have been very disappointed if we had paid more than £95.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Clare,

Thanks so much for your kind review it is appreciated. With regard to signage this is being resolved; the timing of your visit was unfortunate as it was over the weekend when the transformer went down however all will be back to standard once the electrician repairs the fault.

If service was a little slow then I apologise although I know we took a very large booking on Saturday afternoon that we we're anticipating which impacted service slightly in the Lounge.

For where we got matters just right for you I can only thank you for highlighting this with the caveat that we want always to deliver a great experience for each and every guest.

Finally and of course we look forward to your return sometime soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed on the 31 May for one night whilst in Manchester watching a concert. All the staff on the front desk was welcoming and all had a smile even though the hotel was fully booked. They had prepared travel directions to the stadium in advance for the guests was a nice touch. The rooms we had booked was so much better than the pictures extremely clean bright and airy. Even though there are wall to wall windows and had rooms facing the front of the hotel there was very little traffic noise despite being very busy. The bed was a little hard for me, but that is a personal preference, although I did get a great nights sleep. Breakfast catered for everyone's tastes from a bowl of cereal to the traditional full English using quality ingredients and everything in between. Check out was smooth and very quick despite what seemed to be the whole hotel checking out at the same time. Again the staff was fantastic. In the whole would I recommend this hotel or stay here again? Yes! Would I stay in a different Macdonald Hotel? Only if I received the same standard of service.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Alan,

Thank you for such a comprehensive review of our services it is appreciated and of course highlights what we aspire to deliver for each and every guest.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return sometime soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,997 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,801 reviews
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#6 of 118 in Manchester
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing