We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel...gym needs more thought!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #47 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Hull
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Lovely hotel...gym needs more thought!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a lovely stay on Saturday night. The room was excellent (very spacious as other guests have commented), peaceful despite the location and size of hotel and breakfast was fine. Parking, while expensive, was secure and only a moment or two from what is absolutely a city centre hotel.Location is great, within easy walk of restaurants, bars, shops etc and the station is on the doorstep if you are arriving by train. However, my only gripe was the gym. While the equipment was fine, if limited, the height of the ceiling is just ridiculous! I appreciate space is limited but the decision to locate fitness facilities in the basement is plain daft. I'm hardly a giant at 5ft 7in and my head was not far off the ceiling while using the treadmill so you can imagine how that went for my husband how is a good foot taller! Perhaps a relocation of these facilities could be considered?!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeatsHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear NealsHull,

Thank you for your kind review it is appreciated and we take on board all of your feedback I can assure you.

With regard to our Fitness Centre to be fair we don't offer it for memberships but keep it fully furbished with great fitness amenities and in a well presented manner for hotels guests to use free of charge as they so wish.

It is popular and well looked after but we don't promote it as something that it isn't preferring to utilise the rest of our hotel with a superb spa and fantastic meeting rooms, bedrooms, lounge and Restaurant facilities.

When next we refurbish please be assured that we will include your thoughts and again thank you for all your kind words I know it means so much to the team.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,215
    1,821
    907
    376
    234
See reviews for
521
2,455
228
1,262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel on Saturday as always the staff were warm welcoming and efficient. We booked a standard double with breakfast as the rooms are huge ( No need to upgrade) . The bathrooms have a double shower and bath, with loads of space. The beds are so comfy and although the hotel was full we didn't hear a single noise in the night . The bar areas are warm and inviting & breakfast was delicious. Great coffee!

Room Tip: We have stopped a number of times and never had a bad room they seem to all be of a very high standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Tracey,

Thanks so much for your kind review it is appreciated and of course we look forward to your next visit which we are already planning so that we can exceed your expectations on that occasion also.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

stay on a Sunday evening in one of the panoramic suites
fantastic welcome on check in. given info on all facilities and recommended some local places

The room was as expected great views across the city with a high level of comfort , lots of nice touches nespresso coffee machine , DVD player ,iPod dock and robe and slippers
we were welcomed by a card from the hotel manager and plate with some Turkish delight!

The hotel is in a great location next to Piccadilly train station however you would never know as the property is practically sound proof so no problem getting a good nights sleep! couple of minutes walk to Piccadilly and all the shopping

we had a dinner drink in the lounge before dinner good service and drinks came with a Delicious selection of nibbles

The Scottish steak club deserves it own review!! but lets just say great experience .

staff all very professional and gave a warm welcome and great service

breakfast the next morning was great!
lots of choice and lovely produce (no plastic orange juice )
tea , coffee served at the table with fresh toast which is pretty rare these days no ques at a toaster here!

all in all great hotel

Room Tip: 802 views are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kipper25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Kipper 25,

What a lovely review thank you for highlighting to our future guests just how much you enjoyed yourselves and of course we look forward to your return sometime soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here with friends last Friday night. The hotel is in a great location close by to Piccadilly Station. The reception & concierge staff were very helpful and efficient. We stayed on the 7th floor, our rooms were fantastic, very spacious and nicely decorated. I had a great nights sleep and I'm currently ordering one of the same pillows I slept on! I Would highly recommend this hotel. Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexilou01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Lexilou0,

Thank you for such a kind review and like a lot of our guests who ask us about our produce or products we are only too pleased to out with advice on our suppliers so you continue to enjoy the luxury we hope we deliver for each and every guest.

Kind regards and we look forward to your return sometime soon.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

we have just returned from this hotel after spending one night and going to Beerkeller in Manchester. It was beautiful,reception staff very helpful and our room on 7th floor was lovely,huge bed with beautiful linen,and very comfy...Mini bar in room but quite expensive so didn't use it.We had bathrobes and slippers in lovely bathroom,trouser press,tea/coffee making facilitie and ipod dock.
The breakfast was excellent,everything you can think of for breakfast and all cooked beautifully.
We didn't use hotel car park as it was £20 for 24hrs so we used one just nxt it for £6 for 24hrs.
we will definatly use this hotel again.

ps,we didn't use spa as it was extra £30 on top of £130 that our room cost.

Room Tip: we had 7th floor and it was quietest night sleep in hotel ive ever had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Nicola,

Thanks so much for your kind review it is appreciated and of course we look forward to your return sometime soon. The use of our Spa Thermal Suite during very busy periods (weekends mainly) is limited to Spa guests taking treatments which I'm sure you'll agree is fair however throughout the rest of the week generally the facility is complimentary.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We managed to squeeze in last minute for Valentines weekend, booking the day we were to check in. The Executive Double was lovely, and definitely felt worth the money, we originally booked for 1 day, but extended to 2 because we didn't want to leave.

The room - Amazing. Huge. Massive windows that span one side of the room with lots of natural light. A little disappointing that we couldn't open them as it got quite warm in the room. Very clean, the bathroom was really luxurious. A giant bath and an even bigger shower, only thing I would say is the overhead lighting is a nightmare for doing makeup if you're planning a night out.

The staff - All very friendly, very happy to help with anything you needed.

The spa - We didn't get any treatments but enjoyed the gym and spa. The gym was a lot smaller than I expected, a few cardio and weight machines as well as a few free weights. The spa was similar, small and intimate but still relaxing. Sauna, steam room, ice room (brrrrr! Only for the brave)

Location - Just outside town centre, 2 minute walk from Piccadilly train station, from which you'll be able to get a taxi anywhere. We stayed at the back of the hotel, disappointing view but we were only on the 2nd floor. I imagine the students in the opposite blocks of university halls get a few priceless views. Living in Manchester we knew what to expect, and sacrificed a more central location for value for money. We compared a few hotels and this seemed the nicest room for the price considering we were booking on the day of Valentines Friday.

Overall we had a great stay, exactly what we needed and we were sad to leave. Very clean through out, however one thing we were disappointed about was the fact that dirty plates had been left along the corridor; excusable if it's just while they're cleaning, but they were there for most of the day. The good definitely outweighs the bad, I'd recommend the place to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel will be quieter, the front of the hotel back onto a main road. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Pip,

Thanks for all your kind words and compliments about our hotel and great team they are appreciated.

As with every piece of feedback we do try to pass on the positives to our team whilst looking always to see where we can improve and so deliver the perfect stay for each and every guest. To that end your review has given us food for thought as we push on with our pursuit of excellence.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I booked the Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa for my partners' birthday recently and arrived in the room to be surprised with some Turkish delight and 'Happy birthday' written on the plate which was a lovely touch. The room was very big with a huge bed and the bathroom was amazing with speakers that came through from the TV so you can have a nice relaxing bath and listen to the radio/music channel. We were going to use the spa, however at £30 pp we decided against this - especially as there isn't even a pool! I had booked DBB as we wanted to relax so booked at reception for a table. We arrived in the restaurant and were advised the table wasn't ready, the manager did apologise and asked if we'd like a drink whilst we were waiting. The girl at the bar, Australian I think, was very abrupt and shouted across to us asking what we'd like, not the best impression. After waiting for 15 minutes with our drinks, another couple strolled right through and were seated immediately. We were left waiting for another 10 minutes and eventually shown to a table. The food was absolutely delicious so no complaints here but we were extremely disappointed with the service. The rest of the staff at reception were brilliant and the restaurant manager was apologetic about our wait, however the lack of efficiency was apparent. I would be hesitant to book with Macdonald again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your further feedback. Genuinely we did attempt to make your stay with us extra special but I can see that you were disappointed.

Please be assured that we will learn from your kind comments so that we ever improve.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#35 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing