We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for a gig”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #50 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here back in June last year when we flew up from London for the Rihanna gig. We stayed for the one night. The room was perfect, view was ok but then nothing really was expected due to the location. We chose it because we had stayed in a Macdonald hotel before and really enjoyed the stay and also because this hotel is really close to Manchester Piccadilly station plus it says it has a spa (which is amazing) no pool though.
Great hotel (although could do with a refurbishment in the lobby/restaurant areas), and spacious rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisGW-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Chris,

Many thanks for your kind review it is appreciated and as always we take on board your feedback with a view to further improving our hotel when the opportunity arises. I can tell that its been a while since you were here as some of your recommendations have been delivered whilst the others are well on their way.

Really pleased however that you enjoyed your stay and that the team interacted really well and that you found our hotel and amenities well presented.

All in all I'm glad that we added to your experience of Manchester

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,035)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,175 - 4,181 of 6,036 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I did not enjoyed the time spent on this hotel .there was no refrigerator at the room also they did not give me extra bed for my 4 yrs child until I insisted . The service was bad at service room .the most one I like in this hotel location neer to piccadully train station .and the door man tall guy and some of reception girls.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mahammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Mahammed,

Many thanks for your feedback and I've sent an email separately to understand your stay date as no of the team can recall the issues you've mentioned.

Many thanks

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A friend and I stayed here for 1 night as part of a spa package deal which included a 2 course meal a breakfast and also 2 treatments in the spa and it was a bargain.
The spa was clean and the staff ever so friendly. The spa doesn't have a pool unfortunately which was a shame.
Our meal that evening really hit the spot and was complemented by happy hour cocktails they even let us bulk order our cosmo's as the happy hour was almost up! The bar staff were equally as friendly as we set up camp for the evening in there to relax in a very nice atmosphere.
Finally the room was excellent extremely spacious and the shower room lovely.

The location of the hotel is brilliant, right on top of the train station..... We had a view of it from our room great for the train spotters! We parked in their secure car park which is an extra but liked the security and closeness to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rugga_mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Rugga_mad,

Thanks for all your kind words about your stay and experience they are appreciated and of course I'm really pleased that all of what we do was enjoyed.

It goes without saying that we'd be delighted to see you back here very soon.

All the very best

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here between 23-26 June. On the morning of 24 June I was awoken at 4.30am by a fire alarm. Everyone evacuated the hotel but it took ~10 minutes for any staff to appear. When the individual arrived they then started taking a role call but was unclear what was going on the individual had no clear role of authority or telling you what was going on (there was no high visibility jacket, loudspeaker, etc to identify the individual as being in charge. The role call took ~45 minutes as other guests were having to inform each other of what was happening not the member of staff. The staff member then disappeared without any explanation. ~15 minutes later what appeared to be a kitchen worker appeared with a loudspeaker and informed the waiting guests that the alarm wasn't caused by a fire or a test- they then disappeared. Guests then re-entered the building with the alarm still going off & without being told to as there was no-one there to stop them. I presume this was against H&S policies as there would be no way to tell if a real fire started as everyone was ignoring the fire alarm. After 11/2h the alarm finally stopped. It took over a day and after several complaints to the hotel and guests checking out that the hotel offered an explanation.

A note was left in guests rooms which stated 'the initial alert was caused by a guest setting off the alarm for reasons unclear' and then 'taking it upon himself to tamper with the sensor'. Other guests also tampered with the sensor in an attempt to halt the alert. It took 11/2 hours for the night staff to check all of the sensors. The note also informed that as guests were complaining on check out that an audit was undertaken but they found zero issues of concern -surprising considered the lack of communication and guests occupying there rooms whilst an emergency evacuation alarm was ringing. The note then asked guests to 'not touch sensors' in the future. Considering this was a select few guests it came across as patronising and condescending.
I'm not sure what happened to 'the customer is always right' but it didn't seem to exist on this occassion as the blame was laid on guests and little words of apology from the hotel.

The hotel offered a vague apology and no good will gesture which would have gone a long way at 6 am after being awake for 11/2 hours with an alarm going off.

If it had been a real fire someone could have been injured due to the lack of organisation and communication. I expected higher levels of regard for guests safety and good will from a Macdonald hotel. I certainly will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ms_RB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Rebecca,

Many thanks for altering your initial review as there were quite a few more unfair assumptions.

To be honest sometimes you can't do right for wrong. The team first of all reacted in an extremely safe manner to an emergency situation and then we informed guests with minimum delay in a very honest way about why the matter occurred and the impacting issues the following day.

As all guests would anticipate there's zero compromise on safety in any hotel or public building and we train our team regularly on the delivery of safety evacuations as I'm sure all organisations do. Once the team knew that it wasn't an emergency but mindless foolhardiness they concentrated on solving that problem so we could get guests back in as quickly as possible. As with all new experiences we will learn from the event and improve.

I can't condone the actions of these guests but I support my team fully for being impeccably safe and then working on resolving the issue that was stopping guests from being allowed back into the hotel in the quickest possible way; the impact may have been that communication could have been better but please be assured that the scenario was unique in many ways as explained within my note to you it didn't impact on safety at that time but it required all of the system to be returned to normal status and the tampering of sensors was barring this return status. All of the guests I have spoken to already fully understood this.

In alternate to the view that the letter to guests came across as partronising or condescending many have also said it was delivered quickly and so allowed them to understand what occurred informing them of the pressure the team were put under by people you would presume should know better. Whilst I was at pains to highlight that we fully appreciate the inconvenience this caused to reasonable guests, like yourself, and we can only thank them including yourself for your patience.

Many thanks once again for being kind enough to pass on your comments it is appreciated.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Wanted a good hotel for a romantic weekend,I was a bit apprehensive because of the location by the station, how wrong I was.the hotel was fabulous.From the minute I asked if we could leave our cases before our check in time, they couldn't have been more helpful. We had our room three hours early, the room itself had everything you could want, cut glass water glasses, Bose speaker for the music, the views took your breath away so high up.the bathroom even had speakers in, a large bath and massive walk in shower.although expensive the breakfast choice was the best I've seen.pure luxury throughout will return again and again

Room Tip: Try and get a room high up for the view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Jean,

What a lovely review thank you and I'm so pleased that we exceeded your expectations. Our Scottish Steak Club restaurant is very highly thought of and I know that both Chef and Richard do all that they can to deliver a great experience alongside fabulous bedrooms, a superb spa and a relaxing Bar and Lounge

It goes without saying that we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved it. The hotel is very close Piccadilly station. The staff cant do enough for you. We were surprised at how big our room was and bathroom, room had a great view over looking Manchester. The spa was fantastic with heated seats, sauna etc, definitely worth a visit when staying there.
There was alot of chose for breakfast with chef serving stations cooking eggs to your requirements.
We will definitely be back and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a central location in Manchester and abit of luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliceJLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Alice,

What a very kind review thank you for all your words as they are appreciated by the team.

It goes without saying that we'd be delighted to see you back here very soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed there for an weekend with my wife to be for her birthday. phoned hotel before hand to ask them to put a bottle of wine in the room for when we arrived(which they did). Booked a double and was very impressed by the size of the room. bed was very comfy and great size(think i should buy one of those mattress). My fiance went and had some spa treatment which she thoroughly enjoyed while i sampled the the beer in the bar. As i have only been to Manchester a few times and do not really know where places, shops and night life are , the staff were very helpful and gave us loads of information that was very helpful. We went out and explored a bit but me being a ding bat, i had left my phone in the bar and when i came back i was amazed that the staff picked it up and saved it for me,very honest of them, so big thank you to the bar staff and one of the managers(Neil i think). slept really well and enjoyed the breakfast!!! we definitely going to go back.... BRILLIANT HOTEL

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denver l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Denver I,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for all your kind words they are appreciated. I'm really pleased that we managed to exceed your expectations in a number of ways and alongwith Neil I will pass on your kind comments.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#32 of 120 in Manchester
2,525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 120 in Manchester
2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £69 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing