We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful”
Review of Cord Bar

Cord Bar
Ranked #836 of 2,254 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Description: Small Boutique Bar situated in Northern Quarter of Manchester, serving great cocktails and smiles to match.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Went for a meal on a voucher where we ŵere supposed to have a choice of stews, curry or goulash. On arrival we were told that the room we had booked was now no longer available despite speaking to the manager 2 nights before and were told then that it was sorted. We had 2 booths not ideal for a large group of people.
The menu consisted of corned beef hash or quorn hash and we were asked if we were vegetarian and when we said no then we no longer had a choice!
Overall dreadful even with the price tag of £5.18 it was too much don't waste your money go elsewhere!!

Helpful?
Thank Enjoyingthesun2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    6
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Food, not glorious food”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Having booked an evening meal - the crockpot deal. We were VERY disapppointed with what we were served. There was only 2 options - corned beef hash or quorn hash. It arrived not in a crock but a large shallow soup bowl, we were given a knife and fork to eat this soup like concoction. There was no corned beef but minced beef, very little potato and carrot. The crusty bread was an asda wholemeal roll. Even the £4.30 price tag was too much!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great pub, great music”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We visited this pub before a Morrissey gig in July 2012 and it was great. The music for the night was mainly Smiths/Morrissey due to the pub being full of people going to the gig, but I get the impression that this pub will always play great music. Met some very interesting characters including a mother of 10 kids.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith_Morrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“hidden away...”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

nice bar, drinks are expensive but the atmosphere is really good. mid to late 20's tend to go and theyhave quizzes/offers on during the week.

Downstairs in the bar they have screens playing old movies occasionally which is nice. They also have themed evenings- have a look on their website for anything goes on in the night.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good food without the fuss...”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Loving the crackpots at Cord. I had the 3 bean chilli and nachos on the recommendation of the girl behind the bar and was pretty impressed. Tasted great and thought it was excellent value for money at £4 for a pot. My girlfriend had the meat chilli and really enjoyed it too.
Definitely great for filling up when I'm out after work for a few beers and not ready to go home for tea yet!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mellorjohn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cord Bar also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Cord Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing