We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good but… dirty!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Eighth Day Cafe

Eighth Day Cafe
Ranked #251 of 2,246 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“good but… dirty!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I had a really nice lunch here, just a few days ago, but seriously guys, you could keep the place a little bit cleaner! tables were sticky, floors really dirty, not to mention the toilets…
as this is not the cheapest place (I spent £10 for a simple lunch, soup and side), I would expect a nicer environment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    52
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible service in cafe and shop”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Visited on Saturday 5 Oct with 34 weeks pregnant wife who wanted to get something to eat after a hospital appointment. I've been vegetarian since 1995 but first visit to 8th Day cafe and was told we couldn't order breakfast as it was past 12 - 12.01. At least the girl serving said sorry. Went up to the shop as my wife wanted to buy a gift for a friend and some cereal bars for impending labour but she was left standing at the counter being completely ignored as others were served. If we were stood in the wrong place, fine. Someone should have said. Someone should have even acknowledged our existence. They all seem very self-satisfied down there but these customers certainly weren't. We left without spending any money in the place and won't be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank andyj18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wholesome, tasty, satisfying food - great variety”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

As soon as one steps downstairs, the different aromas whet the appetite. There is a great choice. The food speaks for itself and the portions are generous. My companion and I chose 2 different dishes and shared half each. The moussaka had lentils and walnuts in it, as well as aubergines and a delicious sauce, while the cheese and leek quiche was gorgeous. The new potatoes and broccoli were cooked to perfection. The atmosphere is informal and friendly - just what a vegetarian restaurant should be.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aramsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty, fulsome Vegetarian”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The only down side I could see was it isn't open late, so you need to eat early. but I had a delicious meal here, filling and flavoursome, and a berry smoothly with a colour William Morris would approve of, and I only wished I had time to sample a dessert.

Have lunch, or go for an early evening meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline-J-Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stogursey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Been here for lunch today an had a really good meal. It was good value for money and you get a plate full. Would go back again next time we are in Manchester. The only thing is that it's a bit like a canteen in the area you eat in.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LillyClarissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eighth Day Cafe also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Eighth Day Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing