We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Sunday treat”

The River Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #160 of 2,243 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$58
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The River Restaurant & Bar at Manchester's award-winning Lowry Hotel, is situated on the banks of the River Irwell in the heart of the city. Executive Head Chef Andrew Green and his team have developed a new grill style menu, utilising a Josper Grill, the hottest grill in the market place, the menu offers not only beef but also a wide range of chicken, fish and shellfish. The team have sourced some of the best produce available including beef sourced from the Duke of Buccleuch Estates, chicken from Goosenargh, Sea Bass from Anglelsey and lobster caught in Usan. Key dishes include Inverawe smoked salmon, grilled asparagus with lemon mayonnaise. Our grill items include a full range of steaks from a 275g Flat Iron up to a 550g Chateaubriand for two, Usan lobster, Angelesy sea bass and lemon sole are highlights amongst the fish dishes The stunning views, chic decor and delicious food make the River Restaurant & Bar a must-try dining destination - whatever the occasion.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A Sunday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We went to the Lowry Hotel's River restaurant with friends for Sunday Lunch - What a treat. The food was excellent , the quality , for the £19.95, amazing. The staff delightful . It was unhurried yet efficient and truly must be one of the best bargains of the year . Wine is very expensive ( but very nice ) and the A la carte likewise rather dear. The afternoon tea looked really good too but at £25 merely serves to show what a great deal the 3 course Sunday lunch is . We shall return

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roystonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKienast, General Manager at The River Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave this review following your recent dining experience in The River Bar & Grill. I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed our restaurants Sunday Lunch selection and that my team were helpful during your dining experience. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to our Executive Chef’s and my restaurant team. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, perhaps to enjoy our three course Chef’s Grill Menu which starts at £19.95. Kind regards, Peter Kienast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    63
    39
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best steak ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We had a meal here for our anniversary & was very impressed with the food & service! The fillet steak was the best I have ever had. It was perfectly cooked (to my liking). Absolutely delicious!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMR1779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKienast, General Manager at The River Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave this review following your recent dining experience. I am delighted that you chose to spend your anniversary in The River Bar & Grill and that you enjoyed your meal and in particular your steak, I will make sure your kind feedback is pass on to our Chef’s and restaurant team. We look forward to your return in future, perhaps to enjoy our Afternoon Tea selection which changes monthly. Kind regards, Peter Kienast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great lunch set menu, fab setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had the 3 course set lunch for two (with an added bottle of wine) which was just lovely. Sat on the outside terrace overlooking the canal on a very sunny day was brilliant. Lots of choice on the set menu. Serving staff were very attentive, kept returning to the table to fill our wine glasses, and like true gents (and ladies) made a point of serving the 'ladies meal first' which was a lovely touch. Dishes served promptly and all the food was lovely. Although slightly small in portion size, excellent presentation and tasty dishes. Well worth it for the lunch deal :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKienast, General Manager at The River Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave this review about your recent dining experience at The River Bar & Grill. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed our three-course Chef’s Grill menu selection and I am delighted that you were able to enjoy your lunch in the sun and the views of the River Irwell from our recently refurbished Terrace. I do hope that we will welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Peter Kienast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
140 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I had Afternoon Tea in the River Bar at the Lowry Hotel this afternoon to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had a wonderful afternoon with good food and the attentive staff were keen to ensure that we had an excellent experience. The staff were courteous, friendly and efficient. We would recommend this Afternoon Tea for anybody looking for a relaxing afternoon in pleasant surroundings. Parking is complimentary if you spend over £30 in the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mostonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKienast, General Manager at The River Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave this glowing review following your recent Afternoon Tea dining experience. I am delighted that you chose to celebrate your anniversary at The River Bar & Grill and that you both enjoyed the selection of food provided with your Afternoon Tea. My team will be thrilled to hear that their attentive service added to your dining experience and I will pass on your kind comments. Our Afternoon Tea selection changes monthly so we do hope that we will welcome you back in the near future to try our new menu. Best wishes, Peter Kienast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I went here at the weekend with my husband for afternoon tea at the River bar and I have to say we were not disappointed. The entire experience was lovely. The sandwiches and cakes were amazing. We left feeling very full.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterKienast, General Manager at The River Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave this glowing review about your recent Afternoon Tea experience. I am delighted that you enjoyed the selection of sandwiches and cakes provided with your Afternoon Tea in The River Bar & Grill and I am pleased to inform you that our Afternoon Tea menu changes monthly so I do hope that we will welcome you back in the near future to try our new menu selection. Kind regards, Peter Kienast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The River Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The River Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing