We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic quality.”
Review of Tai Pan

Tai Pan
Ranked #335 of 3,041 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chorlton
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Truly amazing food and service. Very authentic catering for groups and couples. Really good recommend, order something not on the menu and try the garlic covered Chinese bacon and also the 3 cup chicken! Amazing!! You won't regret it.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 230 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2016

Everything was good. Service was excellent, staff were very polite. Food weren't too great, wasn't terrible either though.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sengphom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We chose this restaurant because it is only a 10 minute walk from the Apollo where we were due to see a show at 7.30. We arrived at 5.45 and were seated immediately despite not having booked. We explained to the waiter that we needed to be finished by 7.15 because of the show and he said this wouldn't be a problem. Service was fast and efficient and the staff polite. Food was good, I would have liked longer so we could have ordered a banquet and spent time enjoying it. The dim-sum we had in particular was excellent. Was very busy by the time we left so I imagine that booking would be essential on a typical Saturday if you want to eat after 7.00....

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Service was faster and efficient, and the staff were quick to answer to queries...compared to previous visits. The food position sizes were still good, and prices reflected that. Their yin&yang fried rice was a favourite for our table...and many other like the three roasties and the spiced prawns were great!

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank moon_0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Our overall experience would have been better if the waiters weren't so impatient and unwilling to help.
I was served food with peanuts despite having told them about my nut allergy.
We were told at the end of the meal that they did not offer the 10% student discount on bank holidays, which I thought was strange. The price was nevertheless reasonable. We paid £27 between the two of us for 7 dim sung options.
The atmosphere was not great. Waiters dropped plates and threw them into containers on a trolley which made so much noise.
Generally, the food was good, though at times very oily.
We did not have to wait very long for our food but we did have to wait a while to get a table.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Farah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Tai Pan also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Tai Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.