We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb”
Review of Velvet

Velvet
Ranked #234 of 2,298 Restaurants in Manchester
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“superb”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

went with a party from work was really pleased the food and atmosphere was wonderful and I would recommend visiting and eating here

Helpful?
Thank 1Lainey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    216
    104
    68
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value and great food”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

lovely menu and very reasonable.. nice crowd too.. in the gay district so lively and friendly atmosphere..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank FionaMaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always reliable...”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Went to Velvet with three friends last night and had the usual high standard of service at this reliable venue. The menu is varied - everything from small tasty plates of halloumi and falafel through good salads pasta and pizzas - and much more! Good range of choices for vegetarians and all tasty. It was a fine evening and the waiter did his best to find us a table on the street - but in the end we stayed inside and had a great time nonetheless. We had the 'early bird' choice which offers two courses for £16 - excellent value. When we had finished we chatted for a good while and once they had established that we didn't want any more food, they left us in peace till we called for the bill. Overall, one of the best places to eat on Canal Street. Warmly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seanog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Great atmosphere and even better service. The table we were on was very close to the surrounding tables, in fact at one point the guests at the next table joined in our conversation. I did feel as though we were sat on top of each other a little. The food on the other hand was lovely and the selection was great. The service was very good with a good deal of good fun.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful bar”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Love the decadence of the bar and the beautiful food in the restaurant. Really good offers make it so tempting to keep returning

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mitch1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Velvet also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing