We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality, small and a little unpleasant.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Velvet

Velvet
Reserve with OpenTable
Velvet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #204 of 2,242 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
160 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Poor quality, small and a little unpleasant.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We recently went on a team outing to Velvet for our Christmas dinner. The food was unfortunately poor. Turkey was dry, toast was burnt and portions were very small. It’s extremely pricey for drinks. One person bought a shandy and was charged nearly £4. The starters went down with mixed reviews, the soup was ok and the mackerel pate was nice. The problem with the pate was it came with toast that fell to crumbs when you tried to spread anything on it. The soup has crusty bread would have been a better alternative. The main courses were small, the turkey was dry and the potatoes very hard in some cases. You got one cocktail sausage with a bit of bacon wrapped round it and a few bits of veg. We wouldn't go again and I personally wouldn't give it the benefit of the doubt and go for a second attempt. Unfortunate really.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UKworldtrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    210
    98
    66
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go for a Toby Carvery instead.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

The place its self looks nice, inside is nicely decorated, comfortable and the staff are extremely friendly, they were the good points, now onto the discussion of food...

We all ordered a Sunday lunch, myself beef and the 2 people I come with chicken, the chicken on my friends plate still had feathers on and was that under cooked the kiss of life could revived the chicken. The beef I ordered was ok, nothing special, vegetables were brought out on a separate plate and were as expected under cooked. I have had a viral infection since been back from Manchester and can only put it down to the food I ate in this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay_C85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
288 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“tasty food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Great ambiance both in the bar upstairs and in the restaurant downstairs. Lovely views over the canal. Staff very friendly, decent prices and nice clientele. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daveyh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top quality at a fair price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I went with a friend before an interview and god I wish I didn't have to rush off. The place was amazing, the food, the decor, the atmosphere, the service. I could not fault the place. The food was incredible, I had one of the express meals for £8.75 and considering the standard of the food that is cheap. The chicken pesto pizza was beautiful, I'm not normally a person who eats the garnish off a plate but I cleared the lot, it was just that good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
507 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Venue and service ok, hot pie and cold veg anyone? No thank you.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I ate here recently from their Christmas menu; the venue and service are both OK, especially so at lunch time and indeed it was quite quiet. This left no room for excuses for what was to follow, and especially so not for the prices they charge for which is, at best, quite average British fare, and at worst poorly prepared food, which should not leave the kitchen and, eventually, be sent out to paying customers. The soup starter was ok, quite tasty, though it would be hard to spoil and I was very hungry. After a short pause this was followed by a sorbet to cleanse the palate...erm, after the bowl of soup... This was followed by an indeterminate and pregnant pause before the mains eventually arrived in this quiet lunchtime restaurant. When it eventually did arrive, a type of pie, with roast and new potatoes, carrots and sprouts, it was quite a shock.

The pie was fine and quiet tasty, but it was the only hot thing on the plate. As far as the accompanying veg were concerned, the only thing to have any residual heat left in them at all were the roast spuds, the new potatoes, carrots, and sprouts were just completely cold? Rock hard cold sprouts (cold carrots and potatoes) with warm pie, no thank you. This was very poor form indeed, and especially so considering how long it took to receive this ‘dish’ (long enough for the veg to go completely cold, if ever it were warm in the first place?) in what was a very quiet restaurant. I certainly won't be rushing back and there are far better, and better organised, places to eat in the city centre who can work out how to serve a restaurant of just over a dozen people warm food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nimitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Velvet also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing