We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“service needs looking at” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Velvet

Velvet
Reserve with OpenTable
Velvet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #212 of 2,184 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“service needs looking at”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Visited here not long ago with friends usually always good but this time very disappointing , Food was tasty but the presentation lacks when it is served on chipped crockery , More disappointing was the fact that after bringing it up together with a dish problem we had it was discussed behind the bar where we could hear it and a chef even came out to blame the waiter , Not good at all ,

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank backtoblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    205
    95
    66
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ignorant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

After being ignored for 5 minutes by 3 rude bar staff who obviously thought they were too cool to serve us we walked out and and went to Eden down the road where we were treated with friendliness and warmth, in complete contrast to Velvet. We won,t be going back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We liked it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Sorry, but we're 8 months late with the review. We visited Canal Street, and Velvet, during Christmas week 2013 and we loved it! The below-street ambience and the food we ate was absolutely great. It's not haute cuisine, but it's still a treat for anybody visiting the "wrong" side of Portland Street and all the gay atmosphere it offers. Loved it - cheers!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fuzzbot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Steak sandwich to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The food is sublime here and the service has always been attentive. The steak is always cooked as requested and melts in the mouth, it's so tender that you could cut it with a tea spoon! The soup is always homemade and delicious and the pizza is bout of this world, well worth a visit if you're looking for quality food at reasonable prices.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NykieB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simple but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We went here last night 8/8/2014 it has a lot of charm and the serving staff are friendly and pleased to wait on you.
Food nice well presented and hot, we also had a bottle of very nice wine.
The only thing I would say that I was unhappy with were the table positions I felt like the people next to me and above me were part of my table!!! my friend and I were talking about some serious things and the people next door stopped talking and started listening to our conversation... cannot fault the food or service well done.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pokerpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Velvet also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing