We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always consistent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Olive Restaurant & Bar
Price range: US$22 - US$56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Olive Restaurant & Bar in Manchester is a few steps off Deansgate, was voted best working lunch venue in town, but it’s great for pre-theatre and family meals too. The dining room blends rustic Italian with modern style. Think exposed brick, farmhouse furniture, cool lighting and sleek bar. Only the freshest ingredients go into the classic and innovative Italian dishes; such as handmade artisan pastas, stone-baked pizzas, lighter salads and a selection of meat and fish. We are child friendly and feature a dedicated healthy menu, make-your-own pizzas and miniature versions of any dish on the menu. Our exemplerary service is renowned throughout Manchester and we strive to ensure everyone will return time and time again.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have eaten at the Olive and Gusto numerous times (same menu) and we keep coming back although on this occasion we had a couple of niggles

When we arrived the waiter who showed us to our table didn't smile or take our name and we had booked on line, however the waiter who looked after us was excellent

I had the poached duck egg to start and the lemon sole for main, both delicious and cooked to perfection

My husband had mushrooms to start a which were over cooked so a little disappointed and the he had the fillet steak with fries but the fries were hard and over cooked, these are minor niggles and its only because we have been 100% satisfied all the other times we have dined there so we are being a tad fussy!

I had also let them know I was celebrating a special birthday but as the waiter didn't take our name they wouldn't have known!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JNS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    123
    33
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good quality Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Believe it is/was owned by a celeb chef. Good food, service and atmosphere. If you pick your times and check on line then there are some good deals. Prices are quite fair.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HolsGlossop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Ate here on Saturday 23rd November with our son and his fiance to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We arrived at 6:15 for our reservaton and were shown to our table straight away. The resturant was already very busy and got busier, but the service was very good and we were not kept waiting too long for our food and nor were we rushed out when we had finished either.
My tagliatelle with prawns and a sweet chilli sauce was one of the best pasta dishes I have had in a long time. Everbody else had pizza and they were all really complimentary about them.
It then got even better ....i had never seen nutella & mascarpone calzone on a dessert menu, so I had to give it a try and it was DELICIOUS!!!!....if you have a sweet tooth, then you must give this a try. Even my wife, who is not normally a dessert person said it tasted really good. Son & fiance had the ice cream trio and that was really good too.
The overall cost was really good value for money too.
Olive definitely gets 5 stars from us & we will be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Very Good Restaurant But A Little Loud!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Had an enjoyable evening here. Having arrived on time for our booked table we were offered a choice of an immediate table in the main area or we could choose to wait a little longer for a 'quiet' table. Having chosen the latter, I'm not so sure we actually achieved anything because quiet it wasn't!

However, the food chosen from a large and varied menu was excellent backed up by a good wine list. Would definitely return but maybe we might try another table???

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PompeyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food OK, service hit and miss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

There were 7 of us for dinner and the service was Ok as far as the speed went, but the accuracy of the order meant one of our party had a disappointing night.
The waitress took down the order incorrectly and the wrong main course arrived for one person. This meant the rest of us had to eat our food so it did not go cold while the other person waited for the right food to arrive. When it did come it was not great anyway. The rest of us enjoyed our food though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olive Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing