We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and Service”
Review of Olive Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Olive Restaurant & Bar
Price range: US$22 - US$56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Olive Restaurant & Bar in Manchester is a few steps off Deansgate, was voted best working lunch venue in town, but it’s great for pre-theatre and family meals too. The dining room blends rustic Italian with modern style. Think exposed brick, farmhouse furniture, cool lighting and sleek bar. Only the freshest ingredients go into the classic and innovative Italian dishes; such as handmade artisan pastas, stone-baked pizzas, lighter salads and a selection of meat and fish. We are child friendly and feature a dedicated healthy menu, make-your-own pizzas and miniature versions of any dish on the menu. Our exemplerary service is renowned throughout Manchester and we strive to ensure everyone will return time and time again.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Service”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Four of us went to Olive last night for my daughter's birthday. It was lovely. The staff were excellent, very good service indeed. We had cocktails which were great. The food was delicious. One of us had a pasta starter - a duck ragu, which was really tasty. The mussels were yummy, and my poached duck egg on pepperonata was done perfectly. Crisp thin pizza and superb rib eye for mains. Try the polenta chips, they are a real treat.
We would definitely go back here (again!). We were the last to leave but we weren't made to feel like the staff wanted us to go. We had a really fun night, well done to the staff of the Olive and thank you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew L, Manager at Olive Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Kathryn,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you, your daughter and guests enjoyed your cocktails and meal. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
The Olive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    123
    33
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fabulous!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have eaten here loads of times now with family and friends and the whole experience never disappoints! beautiful food, best service of any restaurant in Manchester every time, and it's sister restaurant in Liverpool is equally as brilliant!

It beats all of it's more buzzed about counterparts hands down without fail!

A joy always!

look forward to the next reason to go! although we don't need one.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Afoster74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew L, Manager at Olive Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Afoster74,

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoy Olive Manchester and Liverpool.
Are you an olive member? You can register online to receive our discounts and information regarding events.
We look forward to seeing you and your guests soon.
The Olive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spot on”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

After passing by one day and thinking that it looked a nice place, it was my first choice when planning a surprise meal for my partner. We were not disappointed. Attentive but not overbearing staff, great wine list and superb food that came in a perfect portion size. My partners steak was slightly overdone but it was still lovely. We just mentioned it in passing and the maitre'd could not be more apologetic. When the bill came he had knocked the steak off the bill!! Wow fantastic service. We will go there again and recommend the olive to all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cathanpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew L, Manager at Olive Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Cath and Paul,

Thank you for your positive review and we are glad you enjoyed your first visit to Olive. I will pass on your comments to our team and we look forward to your future visits.
The Olive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had a lovely meal here before show at Opera House. Service was good and food was delicious. Will definitely return!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dizzydeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew L, Manager at Olive Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal before your visit to the Theatre. We look forward to your future visits. The Olive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bait and Switch”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I am in Manchester often. I have been to Olive twice as it was recommended by airline crews who frequent the restaurant. I was told we would get 40% off of our meal. The meal was VERY mediocre and not all that hot. After dinner we inquired about our discount and were told we got it.I did not see ANY discount at all. Then our waitress explained after much confusion that we WOULD have gotten a discount if we had booked our reservation online. We were upfront at the beginning of our ordering experience. This same situation happened about a year ago...the restaurant managers must have some tricky way to get their help to explain that we are getting a big discount and then not give it. WHAT??? I will definitely let all my colleagues at my airline know NOT TO GO to OLIVE. They LIE. Not worth the $ for quality of the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelpro079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olive Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing