We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School In a good way”
Review of El Rincon de Rafa

El Rincon de Rafa
Ranked #132 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$38
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: El Rincón de Rafa is Manchester's longest-serving independent Spanish restaurant, having been in the city centre for 22 years. A family run establishment, El Rincón is regularly described as a 'hidden gem' and offers a relaxed, authentic experience, brought to Manchester from Málaga by owner Rafael Cabrera-Vargas. El Rincón offers a large range of tapas and main courses (including paellas) and a fully stocked bar with a huge variety of Spanish beers (both bottles and draught) and wines. The off the beaten track but central location of El Rincón (close to the Hilton hotel - turn down St John's St from Deansgate and take the first right) ensures an unbeatable authentic Spanish atmosphere, but with hidden nooks and crannies for a more intimate feel. The restaurant doesn't accept bookings for two, seating couples at a number of tables on a first come, first served basis. Customers are also welcome to visit just the bar for food and/or drinks. Que aproveche!
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old School In a good way”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Top place for a leisurely business lunch or early evening weekday meal.
Don't expect anything other than your standard tapas dishes, but done well & with decent ingredients.
There are far worse places in Manc to while away a few hours over a few beers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    257
    87
    73
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LANCASHIRE
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

great service
great atmosphere
fab tapas banquet
wonderful sangria
excellent value for money

I felt like i was in Spain

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KIJ- H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Genuinely authentic, will go again soon”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Went with a group of 12 workmates last night and must say it was a superb meal. Had the set menu option 2 which contained plenty of variety. Meat fish veg ,salds all sorts of sea food starters . Paella after the first 5 courses was either meat,seafood or veg options. We opted for mixed which was superb . The spicy chorizo dish was a winner. All the staff were superb and the place was just the right size. A tight squeeze but not overcrowded. Superb food, nice beer & wine will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Animo_et_Fide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect atmosphere,speechless food and professional&friendly staff”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Myself, my Mother and my Aunt went here, as my mother was raving about it after going for a meal with her work colleagues. Always a fan of Tapas, and a characteristic atmosphere to share food, drinks and laugh, it tempted us and we went around 7 on Saturday evening.

Nestled just off St Peters street, it perfectly located near bustling bars and streets. Quietly tucked away in an endearing large basement. Smells of the Med and chattering filled the stairwell and we were promptly seated amongst the crowd.

Now the food- where to start! We eased in with a lovely bottle of Prosecco, and glanced over the menu. My mum decided it would be a good idea to make notes of the number next to the dishes she enjoyed. When quoting these to the waiter, he fired back straight away a fully detailed description of each.
Comfortable in the fact that the staff here, most definitely knew what the dishes entailed, we ordered. I can honestly say, it was one of the best Tapas ever!
Highly recommend the white bait, bravas and calamari :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cranberryloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great tapas ”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We made a booking for 8 of us about 6 weeks prior to our date. The restaurant rang to confirm our reservation which was nice.
We were seated straight away. We had already decided that we'd have the set tapas menu for £14.50 each plus extra paella for 4.
Great tapas, great atmosphere , including sangria & estrella - £223 for 8, not bad we all thought. Would we return yes, but probably would pick from the extensive tapas menu instead of the set one. I don't think you can book for 2 people though, you just have to turn up and wait/hope for a table

Helpful?
Thank Janet276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rincon de Rafa also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to El Rincon de Rafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing