We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mexican Burger + Apple Crumble” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluu - Manchester

Bluu - Manchester
Ranked #68 of 2,184 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the heart of Manchester's Northern Quarter, Bluu has established itself as the cornerstone of this understated and relaxed drinking and eating circuit. With it's eclectic mix of retro furniture and 80's styling, Bluu does not take itself too seriously. Lived in values are at the heart of it's design. Early doors and into the evening Bluu comes alive playing a mix of music from funk and disco through to soul and house music. If the sun starts to shine, you can drink and dine out on the large pavement terrace. Inspired by pure home comfort, our food menu is an ode to British meat. Hand rubbed and home smoked low and slow for up to 16 hours in our imported smoker, our food vows to deliver a depth of flavour that will instantly transport you to where we were inspired; the southern states of the USA. Come and try it for yourself.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Mexican Burger + Apple Crumble”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Amazing food and lovely mix of old and new decorations. (Great use of old doors as room separators to give space for diners)
Food was well cooked and having brioche for burger buns was a nice touch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluu M, Public Relations Manager at Bluu - Manchester, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Rick,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us at Bluu!

For taking the time to write such a nice review, we would like to offer you and a friend a free cocktail each on us! Just show this message to one of our staff to redeem it!

Kind Regards,
The Bluu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    140
    34
    22
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food and a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I went with a group of 12 people, Bluu were very accommodating and the service was good and prompt. I ordered a cod fillet bap, the fish was cooked perfectly and the chips were amazing! I also ordered two cosmopolitan cocktails throughout the night, it takes a lot to impress me when it comes to cocktails as I make a lot myself at home but these were excellent. Overall a very enjoyable night, would recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluu M, Public Relations Manager at Bluu - Manchester, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Steph,

We at Bluu are so happy that you had a lovely time with us! We try and train our mini mixologiosts to make the perfect cocktail and hearing that you make your own cocktails at home and really enjoyed ours is very good praise indeed! We are also really pleased that you enjoyed your food too!

To say thanks for writing such a nice review, we would like to offer you and a friend a free cocktail each. Just pop in and show this message to our staff to redeem them.

Kind Regards,
The Bluu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely food, great staff, amazing night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a table for 15 on Friday night. We wanted to have some food and drinks and see where the night took us. The drinks menu had a great selection of drinks including some delicious cocktails. The food menu was even better, we just didn't know what to pick! The food arrived pretty quick considering how busy it was and it did not disappoint. It was gorgeous and if I hadn't been too full I could have eaten it all again. Many of the people on the table braved a dessert and seemed like they enjoyed them, they definitely smelt great. All in all we had a great night with everyone from the office and bluu just made it the perfect night. Early evening the music was at a good sound level so we could talk and as the night progressed got a little louder. Bluu has a great team behind it. Thanks all for a great night!

Helpful?
Thank Heathermilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluu M, Public Relations Manager at Bluu - Manchester, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Heather,

First of all, we at Bluu would like to say thank you for such a lovely review! We try and make sure that we deliver the best drinks, food and service possible and to hear you and your party had a good time made us all very happy!

For taking the time to write this review, we would like to offer you and a friend a free cocktail each. Just show this message to one of our lovely staff members to redeem it (while you're here you can try some of those items on our food menu that you didn't have a chance to taste!).

Kind Regards,
The Bluu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Cocktails, Lovely Staff and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Recently had the opportunity to have a lovely meal at Bluu and sample some of the great cocktails they have (you can't seem to get them this great anywhere else) Everything on the menu is lovely so take your pick and the staff are really attentive. Highly Recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Will defiantly revisit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Visited here with some work colleagues. Good food and drinks. Will defiantly revisit here sometime in the future.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluu M, Public Relations Manager at Bluu - Manchester, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Liam,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us at Bluu!

To say thanks for taking the time to write this review, we would like to give you and a friend a free cocktail each. Just show this message to one of our lovely staff to redeem them!

Kind Regards,
The Bluu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bluu - Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Bluu - Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing