We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Mixologists!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Obsidian Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Obsidian Bar & Restaurant
Price range: US$8 - US$51
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“True Mixologists!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Couldn't make a dirty martini as no olives but creating a soy sauce and basil martini, and knowing that it tasted similar, shows a real skill!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TruthMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A bit of a surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

For saying this is a busy business class hotel. The Bar and Grill are remarkably intimate and stylish. Decor makes you feel like you should sppot Austin Powers at any moment. Food and wine choices are excellent and the steaks are to die for!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent cocktails, delicious food, wonderful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

This could be reviewed as two separate establishments; the bar and the restaurant, as both were to a high standard, yet quite different. The bar was unexpectedly good - with a fantastic selection of delicious cocktails, with the upbeat music providing a good atmosphere. We were greeted on arrival and told our table was ready for us whenever we wanted, and were told we could enjoy some drinks in the bar first if we so wished, which we chose to do. The mojitos were especially good, and when we decided to go through to the restaurant, the food menu was of a similarly high standard.

We ordered the fishcakes and wild mushroom french toast to start, both were delicious and left us wanting more. For the main we ordered a rump steak, and the mixed grill - all the meat was cooked to perfection and was succulent. The portions were also huge - so much so that we were unable to eat a side order of salad and greens. The staff were particularly attentive, especially our waitress, who, when we had finished and wanted to go back through to the bar area with our drinks, offered to carry them for us - a nice professional touch to a lovely evening.

The only possible thing that let this evening down was the choice of music in the restaurant - in stark contrast to the bar next door - was very sombre and slightly eerie, leaving the eating atmosphere somewhat lacking. However this could still not detract away from the delicious food and the excellent customer service. Although we did not encounter any problems we got the impression that if there had been anything wrong at all the staff would have done their utmost to ensure we left satisfied.

Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank North_South_EAT_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Bonkers bar and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is a place for the more lively and loaded individuals, mega cruisy and boisterous later on. Good fun.

Food earlier in the evening is excellent.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank JamesSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Now 34 Bar and Grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Service was good, delay in our food so they brought us two complimentary glasses of wine, although these were a chenin and we were drinking reisling so were forced down rather than enjoyed.

Food was excellent however, and priced fairly. Definetly an alternative to Grill on the Alley where the quality of their steaks has dropped significantly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Obsidian Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing