We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for lunch”
Review of Lead Station

Lead Station
Ranked #313 of 2,254 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Chorlton
Description: Originally built in 1885, housed in the former Police Station on Beech Road In Chorlton.Unique and informal seasonal cooking - everything is homemade and cooked to order.We look forward to seeing you.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I don't visit the Lead Station all that often but I have always had a good meal there when I choose to go there. Yesterday I shared a table with a girl friend for lunch. The service was attentive and prompt, with good interaction by the waiter. The food itself (I had the 'Eggs Lead Station') was simple but tasty. For a simple basic lunch it was just what we wanted.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristineBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Lead S, Manager at Lead Station, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear ChristineBurns

Thank you for giving some great feedback, we're very happy to hear that you and your friend had a great experience and it's lovely to hear that you were well looked after by our team.

We will look forward to hopefully seeing you more often.

Regards

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    112
    32
    18
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great brunch, want to go back”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Went for a meal with friends so we could chat. Bright and airy restaurant with no distractions. Ordered four different breakfasts, each one was cooked to perfection. This is definitely worth making the trip.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Lead S, Owner at Lead Station, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear John P

Firstly thanks for taking the time to post your comments.

All feedback is welcome but I must say that this is particularly so.

Looks like you had a busy weekend up north.

We look forward to welcoming you back for dinner maybe on the next trip.

Kind regards,

Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I've been visiting here for over 15 years so have seen a few changes to the interior and the staff and the menu. There was a time when it slipped down hill a little. But I still visited.
I took so friends here today for Brunch and well we were not disappointed. Excellent full English and Eggs Benedict. One friend had an omelette and said it was the best he'd ever had.. Staff are always friendly and it's not over priced..

Helpful?
Thank bullchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Lead S, Owner at Lead Station, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Bullchef

Just a quickie to say a big thanks for posting your review.

It is lovely to read such positive comments from a long time customer.

We have always aimed to provide great value and service and the team will be delighted to read this from you.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards.

Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Still doing a good job”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

It's almost an institution in Chorlton and the food is always pretty good. I used to go a lot and I guess just got bored with the limited menu, but what you get is well done.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ArchieCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Lead S, Manager at Lead Station, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear ArchieCarr

Thanks for taking time to post some feedback, we are delighted that we are still getting it right after all of these years and that people like yourself recognise that we're offering a great service.

I'm sorry to hear that you've become a little bored with the menu, we have just launched both our spring menu and our early evening offer both of which are full of exciting dishes, so we hope to see you soon!!

Regards

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday roast lunch”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I was very disappointed with the roast beef Sunday lunch. The roast potatoes , which were sat on top of soggy vegetables, were discoloured, cold and more mush than crispy. The meat was tender and well cooked but the rest was Luke warm and lacking. I expected the meat to be served hot on a warm plate and a selection of vegetables to be given separately so we could take what we wanted. Very bad value for money, poorly cooked and the presentation was unattractive. Will not return or recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Avril V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Lead S, Owner at Lead Station, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Avril V

Thank you taking the time to post your review and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your food.

I have investigated the circumstances surrounding your roast and we are taking steps to ensure that these are dealt with in future. I can only apologise and hope that you would reconsider visiting us again. Please be assured that your experience is not reflective of the vast majority of our customers and nor of the food we aim to serve.

Should you wish to contact me directly to discuss your experience further, please do so either by email at info@theleadstation.co.uk or on 0161 881 5559.

I hope to see you in restaurant again in the future.

Kind regards

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lead Station also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Lead Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing