We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little oasis off the A57 ...”
Review of Runway 26

Runway 26
Ranked #562 of 2,476 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Cuisines: British
Description: Welcome to Runway 26 – We are the cafe, bar and diner at City Airport (Barton), and we are the perfect place to relax and enjoy the atmosphere of this historic and busy airport. The Airfield is thriving with Business and General Aviation and also home to the North West Air Ambulance. Runway 26 is open to the general public and we welcome visitors of all ages. We serve a variety of hot/cold food, drinks and also have our own licensed bar. We are open daily and easy to get to.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to Runway 26 – We are the cafe, bar and diner at City Airport (Barton), and we are the perfect place to relax and enjoy the atmosphere of this historic and busy airport. The Airfield is thriving with Business and General Aviation and also home to the North West Air Ambulance. Runway 26 is open to the general public and we welcome visitors of all ages. We serve a variety of hot/cold food, drinks and also have our own licensed bar. We are open daily and easy to get to.
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Visited today for the very first time after passing literally hundreds of times on my way to work!
What was lovely is how it has retained its original personality. Runway 26 provided the most delightful lunch with fabulous views across the airport. Will be definitely returning for my birthday as the afternoon tea looked delightful and certainly on a par with high end restaurants. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank standard29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Just called in for a visit with my husband and granddaughter after a recommendation
from a friend. We had a lovely hot chocolate with marshmallows and sat outside on the decking watching all the activity...it's such a busy little airport. We had a stroll up to the old control tower where you can have a great view of the planes coming in and taking off. Will definitely call in again as I noticed they did afternoon teas.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LynnS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Really friendly .served efficently. Nothing too much trouble. Visited after pleasure helicopter ride and was able to view other going up. Very child friendly

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank GaynorEcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Having ordered Lasagne, Steak and Ale Pie and Cheese omelette today we had great food! Well cooked and presented!!

Have visited here sporadically the last few months and both Steven and the other female of staff were wonderful!!

Highly recommended!!

Only downside was poor toilets and waited to be served by staff but absolutely not a deal breaker and will be visiting again!!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank andy-higgins-terp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Myself my mum and my 3 year old visited for afternoon tea, the staff especially Steven were extremely helpful and friendly,they had reserved us a table by the window so we enjoyed watching the planes and helicopters.
The sandwiches and cakes were delicious and presented with salad and coleslaw so u could make them to your individual taste, we really enjoyed it and will defiantly visit again, thanks everyone

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank VickiWedgbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityAirport, Owner at Runway 26, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for visiting us and we are really pleased you have enjoyed your visit! We hope to welcome you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Runway 26 also viewed

Salford, Greater Manchester
Salford, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Runway 26? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.