We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Fast Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rice Bowl

The Rice Bowl
Ranked #52 of 2,245 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bolton
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Good Fast Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Tasty, quick, not too pricey (except for drinks - they are really pricey)!

Helpful?
2 Thank CarolRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    328
    88
    38
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

This place is amazing,the best Chinese i have ever had.Me and my girlfriend always get the platter to start you get 2 of everything and there isn't one thing on there that we do not like,its presented very well and taste just as good as it looks.Eating here has made me fall in love with Chinese food,there isn't alot more i can say bare you must go because it genuinely is out of this world.Oh and order the teriyaki beef it just melts in the mouth.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kingkiwi_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“wonderful, wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is my favourite Chinese in Manchester, discovered it in a wet saturday afternoon looking for lunch with my hungry and 'difficult to please' partner. Loved every minute and mouthful of it! and had no complaints from my picky and difficult to please partner either. Try this one, we think you will love it!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank cuddlycrystals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere,lovely food,beautifully served.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

This was a lovely surprise. We had been to the Royal Exchange across the road to see a play and having experienced other Chinese restaurants in Manchester over the years I had never been to this one. It was a Friday night at about 9.45pm and we were made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Service was impeccable and food a joy. Great menu with great variety.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungryman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
145 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“God food and good service, but somehow not complete.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Chinese restaurants in Manchester are generally more outgoing and casual than the ones in London, and while I value and appreciate the London ones I always like to try the different experience that Manchester offers.

So visiting Manchester and based on the reviews here, we tried this one. It had a nice selection of starters and good main courses; the service was friendly, attentive and with some nice touches and the restaurant environment was pleasant.

But somehow I was not as satisfied with this one as with many other Chinese restaurants in Manchester. The experience was pleasant and - apart from the endlessly repeated Strauss - unobjectionable. There were some nice touches; keeping the pancakes for the duck moist with a water bath and individually service the first of the starter selection.

Overall I had the impression of an endlessly repeated formula without too much heart in it, or perhaps trying to continue what somebody else had started. Or perhaps it was a bad night.

The name has altered; has the management?

So in summary I'd say this was on the good side of average, but not complete and not up to the hype of a year ago and I won't be seeking it out again. I'll try some of the others again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zortoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rice Bowl also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Rice Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing