We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Service and Great Value”
Review of The Rice Bowl

The Rice Bowl
Ranked #56 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service and Great Value”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We found this restaurant on Tripadvisor and we're not disappointed.
The food is very competively priced and of great quality. The service was of a very high standard.
We would highly recommend the crispy duck starter and the Sizzling Filet Steak, which was so sizzly it set the fire alarms off!
It was busy and the atmosphere was lively!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pop345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    334
    91
    40
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Still as good”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Went to The Rice Bowl with my wife and son and his friend prior to seeing Coldplay at the Etihad (Sat 9th - also a treat!) and were not disappointed,.
We gave the young guests free choice from the extensive menu (though the set menu is good value and choice too) and after two courses plus drinks for four only managed to rack up a £66 bill. The portions are very good, the food is superb and the service as friendly as you need without being intrusive.
I had the sizzling lamb which was great
I shared a veggie starter with my wife which was a great selection of 6 or seven items plus tempura vegetables and dips. Excellent
f We will be back

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“In a word amazing!”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Great food, service and price. Loved it. Will visit again soon.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mozzasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We visit this restaurant every time we are in Mamchester”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I have visited The Rice Bowl about six times so far, and looking forward to going back. I have visited Chinese restaurants which are quite a lot more expensive, but this is my favourite.

Lovely food, presented well, in a chilled out setting. Visited at both lunch and dinner time and always been pleased with the food and service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luckyduck25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A half empty bowl”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Service: Staff were all welcoming, smiley and attentive. Food was a bit slow coming out though.

Food: Unfortunately the worst thing about "The Rice Bowl" was the food. We had come on the recommendation of a friend who said it was better than our usual Yang Sing. He was wrong. Badly. We love our dim sum so that's what we focused on. There is only a limited selection. We tried the following....

The salmon & basil spring roll had perfectly cooked salmon but lacked basil. It did have some unadvertised leek which was mushy and not so nice.

The chicken/shitake mushroom pastry was a bland chopped up mix on a hard short crust base.

The sizuan snow crab meat and prawn ball was a waste of crab. All we could taste was chilli and pepper.

They need to rethink the dim sum menu.

Atmosphere: we went early Saturday afternoon when our usual place is buzzing with Chinese and Westerners alike. The "bowl" was almost empty. The decor is full of chinese cliches but it's nicely done and quite soothing. The lighting of the basement setting is on the right side of moody.

Value: On the expensive side for Manchester's chinese restaurants. Will stick to the Yang Sing for value, taste, menu and atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hopeful_Tastebuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rice Bowl also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Rice Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing