We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the steps down to the Rice Bowl...”
Review of The Rice Bowl

The Rice Bowl
Ranked #56 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Take the steps down to the Rice Bowl...”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Quick service, nice dining room and good value - 8 quid for the lunch menu. Oh, and the food's good too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 773Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    334
    91
    40
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our favourite Chinese Restaurant in Manchester”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We've eaten here lots of times and it's always been very good. The staff have always been welcoming and it's a great place to go with the kids. The lunchtime/early evening menus are great value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdnystn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“It's true! Tasty food well served at bargain prices”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

On TA rating of the best Chinese eatery in Manchester my son, who lives in China, and I ventured in down steps to a large, pleasantly furnished room - well set out for a Chinese dining experience. Small tables l
Flanked larger circular ones with turntables in the centre. We ordered from the bargain lunch time menu (which goes on to late afternoon) but couldn't resist adding crispy duck as an extra course. This is usual folly for me, now reduced to one course for most meals. However the pace of the service, tuned to our leisurely mood (his often do I get my sin to myself?!) and the sensible, not over facing portions meant we managed the duck, soup/spring rolls and then the chicken and beef dishes with fluffy egg fried rice 'no bother'. Complimentary prawn crackers with dips and slices of fruit started and ended an excellent eating experience. Service was also pleasant and efficient. It's central position - a stones throw from the Royal Exchange is also convenient. Go - you won't be disappointed!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HelenLytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super VFM with great friendly staff”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Saturday afternoon two course menu at £7.95 per person.

Throughout the service was excellent, with all requests for water, drinks and menu description resolved straight away. Food was excellent, with all of the party really happy. The chicken Thai Green was particularly nice!!!!

Excellent all round lunch at £68 incl drinks for a party of six. Would most certainly return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bantamdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fantastic service”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I booked this restaurant on the basis of the reviews on here, and it is fantastic. Very tasty food, good sized portions and free prawn crackers. The staff definitely go the extra mile too - they're very attentive and always topped us up with water without being asked. Also given free fruit at the end of the meal. Really excellent food. Nice decoration in the restaurant too! And reasonable prices

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rice Bowl also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Rice Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing