We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food great customer service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Rouge - Manchester Deansgate - CLOSED

Cafe Rouge - Manchester Deansgate
Price range: US$30 - US$53
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Walk through the doors of Las Iguanas and find yourself transported to Latin America, full of rich, vibrant colours, quirky features and custom-made wooden mosaic tables made especially for the restaurant from sustainable woods in Brazil. Each restaurant is unique and the staff love bringing unusual things back from their travels, ranging from large lobster sculptures to giant drums. The philosophy of Las Iguanas is to serve delicious and authentic Latin American food and drink in an environment which evokes the very best of Latin life. With recipes dating back to the 16th century, the food successfully fuses native Latin American Indian, Spanish, Portuguese and African influences. Working hard to ensure that everything comes from the best possible source, Las Iguanas is proud of its fresh GM free food and top quality ingredients.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food great customer service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

First time at this cafe rouge branch found the staff had a lot more tension to detail and very pleasant. I had a hot chicken baguette which came with fries, the fries were cooked to perfection and the baguette was deliciously fresh. My partner had a steak and is very fussy as he likes them rare and not a lot of restaurants do it to his taste but cafe rouge got it perfect. We visited for tea before going to the cinema and did not have a lot of time but the service was very efficient and we were not watching the time. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    79
    36
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value for money and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Visited Deansgate Cafe Rouge in Manchester in early April 2014 on a Saturday around 7.30 pm. Whilst the restaurant was busy a waiter quickly found us a table and brought us drinks and menu. Meal was produced very quickly and efficiently and was of a high standard. Service throughout was attentive and for such a busy venue we thought this was first class. We will be visiting this restaurant again. Well done to all the attentive staff at Cafe Rouge.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
128 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Still have the receipt for this place to remind me not to go here ever again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

No wonder places like these try to entice you with coupons and online vouchers, the food menu needs a serious overhaul. For the prices on show, it's disappointing really.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterWillH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
167 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice Setting, Lovely Staff but the food is mediocre.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were in Manchester for a concert and looking for a place to eat and tables were available so we decided to give it a try. I can see why there were so many tables as the food here is just not worth it. The setting is lovely and the staff are really good but some attention is needed for the menu. Moules Marinières served with fries, the Boeuf Bourguignon with frozen mashed potato. Would not return here even if the food was free.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Strongbow110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fishy Tail !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Saturday, restaurant not very busy and they messed up our order sending out trout rather than halibut without any prior notification. We refused it and said we would not wait for an alternative. Then they presented a bill for about £9. Disgusting customer service so we refused to pay and walked out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterLinksway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Manchester Deansgate also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing