We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmmm???”

Sokrates Taverna - Sale
Ranked #243 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$33
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Sokrates Taverna on Northenden Road in Sale is a super-friendly, casual Greek & Mediterranean restaurant serving delicious cuisine from Greece and Cyprus. The Meze menu at Sokrates Taverna with its variety of dishes is perfect for parties and group get-togethers and the restaurant's wine list has an excellent selection of wines plus beers from Greece and Cyprus. From the A'la Carte menu one can enjoy traditional dishes like Stifado (a beef and onion casserole), the classic Mousaka and of course delicious meat skewers (kebabs) cooked on real charcoal.
Winsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mmmmmm???”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Second time at this restaurant. Lovely starters. Not so great main course. My tsatsiki was more like garlic mayo.. And yes I've had tsatsiki on many a Greek Island. The service was slow but very friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    29
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Sokrates”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Visited on a Sunday evening , fairly busy at 7 pm . Had already planned to have the meze and downloaded the 20% voucher , the meal then costing £16 per head . Very very good value and huge selection of starters tzatziki , humous , beans , aubergine dips to name a few also came with lots of hot pitta . Main dishes inc moussaka , stifado and chicken with rice . Everything was excellent , service was good , wine was good too . Will return

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janep18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious Greek Food - Great Night!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Having visited this restaurant several times with my partner for the fantastic “mid-week specials” I was keen to bring a group of friends when they visited last weekend. We opted for the Mezze Banquet, and it was delicious, fresh and seemingly never-ending! We were a group of five and ordered three meat and two vegetarian (there was only one vegetarian, but a minimum of 2 per banquet had to be ordered). The banquet started with bread and dips, and along with the usual hummous, tzatziki and taramasalata, we were served some more unusual dips like red pepper and feta, tahini and garlic mash. Small bites were then served and these included falafel, chicken wings, spicy sausage, lamb kofte, Greek salad and baked feta. We were then given a much-needed break before the mains and again there was an impressive range of dishes which included moussaka (veg and non-veg), beef stifado, chick pea stew and baked aubergines in tomato. We were all stuffed at the end of the meal, and all food including wine (and tip) came to £28 per head, which we felt was great value. The food and atmosphere were wonderful, and the only reason I am not giving five stars was a couple of small niggles regarding the service. Firstly, on arrival we look at the menu and my friend was very tempted by the calamari. We asked if this was in the mezze, and if not, could we order separate. We were told that calamari came with the banquet. It did not. Secondly, the portions were large, and we did not finish everything (so maybe a good thing that there was no calamari!). At the end of the meal the waitress asked if we would like anything wrapped up to take home. As we were going for a few drinks after the meal, we did not want to take a bag of food so we declined. The waitress then made a bit of a fuss, and said how they hated wasting food. This made me feel guilty so I said I would take it, and unfortunately, I did end up throwing it away anyway. I think if they are going to serve a large banquet, they need to realise that not everyone will be able to finish. They should certainly offer to wrap up leftovers as they did, but not push it/comment about “waste” if people decline. Otherwise, great night, great food and I will be going back – I’ll just try harder to finish everything!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c_amy_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good menu, great food, excellent service”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Visited on 22 December with two other family member - our third vist.
Had booked table, so we were immediately seated and given menus and order taken for drinks.
Good menu options including vegetarian, typical of what you might find in a Greek taverna.
Foor was excellent and portions generous, extremely efficient service at a busy time.
We will definitely visit again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahame B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Haven't been for a while and found the service and food to be much improved. Great menu - in particular the offer of £9.95 for 2 courses (Mon to Thurs I think).
Portions were generous and the meat and chicken kebabs were succulent and well seasoned.
We dropped in by chance and were lucky to pick up a table - very soon after we arrived, they were packed on a Thursday night whilst other restaurants nearby were pretty empty.
Says it all really!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyG-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sokrates Taverna - Sale also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sokrates Taverna - Sale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing