We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little tavern!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sokrates Taverna

Sokrates Taverna
Ranked #257 of 2,245 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$33
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Sokrates Tavern on Northenden Road in Sale is a super-friendly Mediterranean restaurant serving delicious cuisine from Greece and Cyprus. The Meze menu at Sokrates Tavern with its variety of dishes is perfect for parties and group get-togethers, and the restaurant's wine list has an excellent selection of wines. From the A'la Carte menu one can enjoy traditional dishes like Stifado – a beef and onion casserole with red wine vinegar, herbs and a hint of orange; the classic Mousaka with layers of potatoes, aubergines and mince meat; and the King Prawns Saganaki – a Greek island specialty cooked with red wine, feta and garlic.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice little tavern!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Nice little restaurant with great food, friendly staff and excellent atmosphere! Also great vegetarian options which are normally difficult to find. We will be going again definitely!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spartida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    27
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I alighted on this little gem, thanks to the recommendation of our B&B owner, where we stayed for the Tatton Park flower show. The outside appears a little rustic but the quality, and quantity, of the food and the friendliness of the staff is equally impressive. We shared a mezé and what a feast it was. The dishes were varied and tasty, all the usual suspects and some that I hadn't seen before. The staff were great. They appeared when we needed them, even though the place was almost full throughout our stay, but we're not at all intrusive. When I asked for some more ice for my still water they brought me a pint glass full of ice cubes and a spoon to transfer as much as I wanted, a nice touch on the hottest day of the year!! We were both well and truly stuffed by the time we'd finished with just enough room for a coffee which was accompanied by complimentary pieces of baklava. If your looking for a genuine Mediterranean evening meal then I highly recommend this taverna. It's the next best thing to being on holiday in Cyprus.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikerob730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, great food :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Once you step the restaurants door you feel like on holiday not like in the restaurant on a busy road in Sale. It's lovely decorated and that gives a very relaxing atmosphere. As we entered we were welcomed by very friendly gentelman who served us troughout our stay.
Very resonable prices, massive portions but what's most imortant delicious and fresh food. everything served very neatly and presentable. When we left we were wery happy with our choice and as for now it is our fauvoritet restaurant that we will come back to and reccommend to our friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Possibly best restaurant in Manchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Love greek food, tried numerous places around Manchester and there are some excellent places (kosmos, rozafa, greek kitchen) but this place was better than any others and better than most restaurants been to in general.

Really friendly welcome when we arrived and the place looks authentically Greek. We decided to try the meze and we were not disappointed. Hard to pick out best bits as it was all so good but dips were amazing, greek sausage was some of best I've tried and one of the main dishes was chicken in creamy ouzo sauce which was like nothing I've ever tasted before. to add to this for starters we asked if it came with kalamari to which the waiter said we will include it if you want. We also had portion of chips and asked for extra rice. At the end of the meal they asked if we wanted more of anything. Shocked when bill came and we were charged nothing additionally.

We've lived in sale for 2 years and can't believe this was our first visit, however now cannot wait to go again. Cannot recommend this place strongly enough!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Manchester!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

If you like Greek food, you won't find a better restaurant! The Little Greek Kitchen has not long opened but failed in comparison to this place!
The food is the best I've had across most restaurants, extremely authentic, and the service is fantastic as well as the atmosphere! 4th time here now and wouldn't waste my time going to any others.
I recommend the Meze - you won't get better cooked meat and Moussaka anywhere else!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amb1986b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sokrates Taverna also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sokrates Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing