We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great films and food”
Review of Home

Home
Ranked #3 of 64 Shopping in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: HOME is Manchester’s centre for international contemporary art, theatre and film. The two theatres show an exciting, eclectic mix of plays with an international focus. The five cinemas showcase the very best in contemporary and classic cinema. The gallery presents work by emerging and established artists. We also have a restaurant, bar and bookshop.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 5 December 2018

Cold snowy day and the place was bustling. Despite that it was quick and easy to buy cinema tickets (The Square). The building is light and airy the seating in the cinema very comfortable. Afterwards we ate in the restaurant. Salad good fresh ingredients and Mushroom stroganoff, delicious bottle of wine. All served well. In attractive surroundings. Will return. 

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"arts centre"
in 8 reviews
"whitworth street"
in 6 reviews
"theatre production"
in 4 reviews
"pre or post"
in 4 reviews
"watch films"
in 4 reviews
"great space"
in 6 reviews
"great cinema"
in 4 reviews
"lots of choice"
in 4 reviews
"bar area"
in 6 reviews
"art gallery"
in 8 reviews
"the ground floor"
in 8 reviews
"nice venue"
in 4 reviews
"box office"
in 4 reviews
"staff were friendly"
in 5 reviews
"great atmosphere"
in 7 reviews
"great night"
in 4 reviews
"cornerhouse"
in 61 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2018 via mobile

Really great complex with multiple things to do and see ...all different. It’s absolutely Huge! Great for a rainy day.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank StephenCr0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed an afternoon and evening spent at Home. My friends and I had coffee and delicious cake while watching the ice skating outside where a young man proposed to his girlfriend much to the surprise of onlookers. So romantic and he had planned it well with the rink staff bringing the champagne and filming it for them. The Capsid exhibition was on. This represented how viruses such as HIV replicate in the body through film, animation, drawing, print, painting, sculpture, installation and costume. it was thought provoking and a lot to take in. Unusual and interesting. We went to see an interactive play called The Maids by Jean Genet. Men playing the parts of women. Luke Mullins, Jake Fairbrother and Danny Lee Wynter captivated us all and thier acting was superb. The play was dramatic, intense and on the verge of erotic at points. The line between imagination and reality when the maids dress in their mistress's clothes while she is out had me transfixed. The aim was to murder her and I would watch this well acted quirky play all over again. I must add that the chips in the restaurant were the tastiest I've had in Manchester too. Cakes delicous! A clean and peaceful venue with helpful staff. I'll be back regularly now I've checked it out.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Rosetta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2018

A great place to go with a group - staff happy to accommodate. Extensive menu - too many things to read but something for everyone. And the vegetarian options are actually delicious - the pulsy sheperds pie (I'm reliably informed was excellent). I had the fried chicken which was tasty, but why such pathetic portions of coleslaw? And the puddings menu was not very inspiring. Great daiquiri though and that makes up for everything.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Phatwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

We had a nice meal before watching a movie. I enjoyed our evening and would be very happy to go back for another visit.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 686georgeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Home also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing