We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 23:00
Save
Review Highlights
Plenty to see

I have seen some really interesting performances and films at home that you wouldn't find anywhere... read more

Reviewed yesterday
rebeccalw21
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Good upgrade on the Cornerhouse.

has an excellent schedule of foreign and non-mainstream films. Bar and restaurants are OK, usually... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Kopel
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
Read all 337 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Manchester
from US$45.85
More Info
from US$15.72
More Info
from US$32.75
More Info
from US$22.27
More Info
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
188
96
36
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
188
96
36
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arts centre whitworth street theatre production pre or post watch films great space great cinema lots of choice bar area art gallery the ground floor nice venue box office staff were friendly great atmosphere great night cornerhouse
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2018

This place is “buzzing” came here with family and they catered for young grandchild really well. They also show films etc in a separate small cinema so that is why it’s always busy. Lovely building with a small museum also attached! First street is a new development well worth visiting and several buses stop nearby (mainly the Chorlton buses, 85,86 x every 10 mins from Piccadilly). We came by car and it was tricky to find a spot!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank SilverNomad04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2018

Probably the best place to find independent films. I particularly like the Viva Festival, where you can find a great selection of Latin American and Spanish films.
The restaurant is good, and they have a great deal where you can book film+pizza meal deal with drink, it's called the Reel Deal and you have to book it when paying for your cinema ticket.
The bar on the ground floor is friendly a food has a good vibe too.
If it's one of thos rare sunny days, you can also find some beach chair outside and this year they had a sand pit a giant chess board for the children.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank NinaManchester123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2018

Cold snowy day and the place was bustling. Despite that it was quick and easy to buy cinema tickets (The Square). The building is light and airy the seating in the cinema very comfortable. Afterwards we ate in the restaurant. Salad good fresh ingredients and Mushroom stroganoff, delicious bottle of wine. All served well. In attractive surroundings. Will return. 

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2018 via mobile

Really great complex with multiple things to do and see ...all different. It’s absolutely Huge! Great for a rainy day.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank StephenCr0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed an afternoon and evening spent at Home. My friends and I had coffee and delicious cake while watching the ice skating outside where a young man proposed to his girlfriend much to the surprise of onlookers. So romantic and he had planned it well with the rink staff bringing the champagne and filming it for them. The Capsid exhibition was on. This represented how viruses such as HIV replicate in the body through film, animation, drawing, print, painting, sculpture, installation and costume. it was thought provoking and a lot to take in. Unusual and interesting. We went to see an interactive play called The Maids by Jean Genet. Men playing the parts of women. Luke Mullins, Jake Fairbrother and Danny Lee Wynter captivated us all and thier acting was superb. The play was dramatic, intense and on the verge of erotic at points. The line between imagination and reality when the maids dress in their mistress's clothes while she is out had me transfixed. The aim was to murder her and I would watch this well acted quirky play all over again. I must add that the chips in the restaurant were the tastiest I've had in Manchester too. Cakes delicous! A clean and peaceful venue with helpful staff. I'll be back regularly now I've checked it out.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Rosetta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews