We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 - 23:00
Review Highlights
Well worth a visit , friendly staff

Popped in at opening time ( 12) there was about 20 other waiting for the doors to open as well... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2023
Antonyd1977
via mobile
Cracking little boozer. Oozes character.

Just a quick stop for a couple of pints. Bar staff friendly and informative about the range of... read more

Reviewed 2 October 2023
woodersonw
Read all 126 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Manchester
from £26.00
More Info
from £15.00
More Info
from £59.00
More Info
from £69.99
More Info
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
73
41
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
73
41
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old fashioned pub worth a visit old trafford my partner bar room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2018

Early Saturday evening visit and the place was rammed. We bought drinks and retreated to the tables outside in the bracing Manchester breeze! This gave an opportunity to look at the tiling on the outer walls. Really is a proper Victorian boozer and stands out against the modern neighbours such as the Bridgewater Hall. Highly recommended...more visits are planned.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Ste W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2018

If you like old school pubs, full of history and character, then do not skip this place by.

Intriguing little rooms with wonderful aged decor.

Combine the above with friendly, warm and welcoming staff & a great selection of real ales.

Highly, Highly recommend

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank promisedland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

Beautiful old pub with lots of historic features. The tile work on the outside is stunning. Friendly atmosphere inside with separate snugs surrounding an island bar. Pint of Mancunian was lush. Proper gem.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Lauren-Ann-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2018

This was my third attempt to actually get inside this Manchester institution having been thwarted by the pubs erratic weekend opening hours on previous visits and have had to satisfy myself with just enjoying the classic green exterior tiling. I understand they have relaxed the weekend opening in recent years but this time I was taking no chances and had it as the penultimate evening stop on the recent Pubs Galore crawl of Manchester.
Internally it did not disappoint in a couple of ways. Firstly, the wonderful preserved period multi room interior is classic and I did take the advice I had received to take a good look at all separate rooms and the interesting drinking corridor all served from the island bar and parked myself in the side snug with the historic bell pushes and Victorian fireplace. Secondly the beer choice did not disappoint and any pub that has Titanic Plum Porter and TT Landlord as house beers is OK by me. And these were complemented by Millstone Tiger Rut and Brightside The Mancunian for our recent visit.
This is an iconic pub and they don’t make them like this anymore..

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Steve_of_N21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Such a nice traditional pub, it would be sad if we'd have come to Manchester and not had a pint here. We had one of the quaint little rooms to ourselves for a chat after a long day of working away from home, it was like having our own cozy little living room.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank HiggyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews